ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Teen Friendships, Crushes, and Delightful Teen Romance in Engaging New Book for Fans of Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

Updated on January 5, 2019
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

Delightfully Funny and Poignant Read for Teens and PreTeens

Fun read for ages 10+.
Fun read for ages 10+. | Source

Teen Romance, Celebrity Crush, and First Kiss Are All Elements for a Delightful Read

Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison are back with their third book for their fans. Never Evers is a delightful read for teens, preteens, and even some older readers who want to remember their first romance, a crush on a celebrity, or their first kiss. Everyone remembers their first crush on a big celebrity from their teen years. Everyone remembers their first kiss. Never Evers will bring readers back to these memories and young readers will want to relate to these events that are inevitable during the teen years.

Mouse is thirteen years old and really believes that disaster has struck when she is kicked out of ballet school. She is also about to go on a ski field trip sponsored by her new school, and she does not know even one person. Jack is also about to go on the ski field trip and all he can think about is girls. Getting his first kiss is Jack's goal for the trip. Jack and Mouse are in for their first experience with romance. However, Jack encounters some competition with a celebrity star who also is attracted to Mouse. Young readers will find Never Evers to be a page turner to find out how romance begins or ends.

Ellen and Ivison write creatively by alternating Mouse's story and Jack's story. Their expert knowledge of teen dialogue makes their new book both hilarious and sweet. Never Evers was published by Delacorte Press, a division of Random House Children's Books and is recommended for ages 10+. It has an ISBN of 978-1-5247-0182-6.

Delightful Read Alternates Between Mouse and Jack

Source
Source

Bring Never Evers Into Your Language Arts and Reading Classroom

Teachers who teach language arts and reading classes for ages 10+ will find Never Evers to be a fun book to add to the class reading projects. It is sometimes difficult to find easy books to engage young readers and teens in reading. Never Evers easily engages this group of readers with the typical teen dialogue that will have young readers laughing through the story.

*Read Never Evers in a group reading session through several weeks. Chapter books make reading together an engaging activity.

*Call attention to the fact that Mouse was kicked out of ballet school. Engage students in conversation about a time when they were rejected.

*Engage students in a conversation about their experience in attending a new school and encountering the "cool kids". Some cool girls are part of Mouse's experience and she must learn to navigate this part of attending a new school. Brainstorm with students ideas about what makes these kinds of new friendships difficult.

*Take a class poll of students who have a celebrity who they would like to meet.

*The character of Roland is the celebrity who is also a guest on the ski field trip. Assign a creative writing project for students to write their own story of how they would like to meet their favorite celebrity.

*Assign a creative writing project for students to write their own story of their first romance.

*How do Mouse and Jack relate to each other? Take a class poll of students who find it difficult to begin a friendship with the opposite sex.

*The title of the book offers an opportunity for another creative writing assignment. Brainstorm with students about things or events in their life that they consider to be something that would "never ever" happen and the event actually happened. Allow students to write their own story about a "never ever" in their own life.

*How does the ski trip offer the characters the opportunity to get to know each other? Brainstorm with students about ideas for meeting new kids and forming friendships through the teen years. Have students ever been in a social situation in which they did not know one person? How did they handle the situation?

*Divide the class into boy-girl groups and have then role-play some of the conversations that Mouse and Jack have with each other. This offers a good opportunity for social interaction in which students can get to know each other while playing the part of Mouse and Jack.

© 2019 Cindy Hewitt

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)