ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Hunger Games Trilogy: A Book Review

Updated on May 6, 2013
The Hunger Games can take place in all sorts of environments, starting with the forest in the first book of the series.
The Hunger Games can take place in all sorts of environments, starting with the forest in the first book of the series. | Source

Where Can I Find the Hunger Games Book?

What The Hunger Games is About

It can be a little difficult to summarize in just a few words what Suzanne Collins novel, The Hunger Games, is all about. Basically, it's a story set in a post-apocalyptic world where The Capitol rules over each District under the strict demands of an overly indulgent upper class and a totalitarian President Snow. In the midst of the least important District 12, where coal miners work to the bone and the population faces starvation and death on a daily basis, stands Katniss Everdeen, the girl who stepped forward when her baby sister, Prim, was called to partake in the Hunger Games.

The Hunger Games is about more than just an arena full of children gladiators brought out of the ranks of each district. Each pair of girl and boy from the dozen divisions are representative of the power The Capitol has over their hometowns. No matter how much they desire to live in peace since the long-dead District 13 rebelled and perished, they will always be reminded of their misstep in obedience with the yearly sacrifice of their own children. Only one can survive the games.

When the annual event arrives yet again and the names are chosen, the last person Katniss expects to be called is Prim. Shocked, her first instinct as protective older sister is to take Prim's place and join the games, risking her life and the welfare of her family that depend upon her ability to hunt in order to survive.

Her journey brings her into a tangle of lies, deceptions, politics, love, and violence. The novel holds a grip on the reader as it takes you through the games and into a life that becomes much more complicated that Katniss could have imagined. When the novel ends, it seems a fitting final scene for the novel, and you could not expect there to be more to the story, until you delve into Catching Fire.

As the story continues, Katniss Everdeen becomes a part of something bigger than The Hunger Games.
As the story continues, Katniss Everdeen becomes a part of something bigger than The Hunger Games. | Source

Have you finished the trilogy already?

Did you like the ending?

See results

About Catching Fire

At the beginning of The Hunger Games, when Katniss makes one of her first real big public appearances in The Capitol, she appears as the girl who caught fire, alight in an outfit that seems to be aflame. Little did she realize the importance of this outfit as she learns that her actions in the arena have set a spark to the ideals of revolution in the districts. Eventually, Katniss' actions are about more than just participating in the Hunger Games, and more about being a symbol people can look to for hope.

Although Katniss is still torn between her love for Gale and for Peeta, she is forced into an engagement with Peeta in order to maintain appearances and save face for her actions. Otherwise, all that she loves will be killed. The loss of control over her life seems to have reached the breaking point until she finds out that she will be sent to the arena yet again.

Unlike the first time, this next visit to the Hunger Games is totally different, not only because of the change of scenery and competitors, but also in its outcome. If you thought you raced through the first book in this trilogy, you will be surprised how fast you turn the pages for this second addition to the story as Catching Fire becomes more of a novel about survival than its predecessor.

The End of the Hunger Games Trilogy

Did you like the ending?

See results

What is Mockingjay About?

Mockingjay is about the final fight between our hero, Katniss Everdeen, and the forces working against her and all that she cares about. Now that the Hunger Games are over, the real revolution begins. Katniss has grown from the girl who caught fire to the mockingjay, a symbol of the revolution and inspiration for those who have lost hope. As everything around her seems to crumble to dust and stone, Katniss is faced with the challenge of keeping a strong demeanor and raising her voice against President Snow despite her desire to curl up and cry.

Full of just as much action as the first two novels, this third one is another page-turner but is full of much more emotional conflict as Katniss has to decide who she loves and what matters to her most. Everything has been building up to this novel and so it becomes more intense as the pressure builds. Mockingjay may surprise you as it is about more of an internal struggle for our hero, Katniss, with an ending that you will either love or hate.

More to Come

Of course, if you've already read these novels, the next thing to be really excited for are the movie adaptations. I'd been told to read these novels for months and I finally gave in once I saw the preview for the first film, The Hunger Games (released March 23, 2012), and realized that they were more than just another overrated romance like Twilight.

Unlike those novels, which I didn't dislike until the movie adaptations came out and were overly fawned upon, The Hunger Games is much more in depth into complications beyond love and acceptance, although it covers those too. Amongst other things, the trilogy also brings up questions about governmental control and the possibility of a future limited for generations to come because of the actions of today.

The trilogy is an easy read for those of us who read quite a bit but it still tells a great story that will keep you hooked from beginning to end. As much as people liken it to Twilight, it is nothing like that series so, if you're a twilighter, don't get your hopes up, and, if you're not, then maybe you're in luck.

Let me know what you think once you finally get your hands on Suzanne Collins' amazing trilogy!

© 2012 Lisa

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Jean Bakula profile image

      Jean Bakula 

      5 years ago from New Jersey

      I just read the books and think you made a great summary. I was really disappointed with the ending. I wanted Katniss to end up with Gale, because the whole thing with Peeta was faked. Or at least it began that way, and in the end we aren't sure if they really care for each other or are so damaged they stay together because they understand each other.

    • ShandiLemoine profile image

      ShandiLemoine 

      6 years ago from texas

      Very well done summary of each book and movie. I read the first book the same day i went see the movie. I made it through a great majority of the book before actually seeing the movie. Unlike when I saw the Twilight movies I was very impressed with how closely they kept the movie to the book. I am really looking forward to the DVD release and the next 2 movies. The ending of book 3 was a bit of a disappointment because I really wanted to see a little more happen with Katniss and Peeta than what the author actually did. However, all in all it was a very good series and I'm extremely happy I took the time to read it.

    • profile image

      asdf 

      6 years ago

      I wish they kept the prep team in the movie though. I really miss them! :(

    • profile image

      Julian 

      7 years ago

      I liked the books and the movie they were both awesome and epic i want to read the books again :)

    • profile image

      tracie 

      7 years ago

      i agree, the ending of the 3rd book was very disappointing. i kept waiting for that reconnection between katniss and peeta and it just didn't happen! the author's just like "oh yeah by the way we got back together and were happy, the end." wtf?

    • profile image

      Cyrus 

      7 years ago

      The first two books were very entertaining to read, the third was not. The ending was horrible in my opinion and I was very disappointed as the first two books did a great job of drawing me in, i believe the hardest part of any story if knowing where to end, out almost seems like the book was meant to end halfway in yet it continued simply because it wasn't long enough to be considered a full book

    • profile image

      Samantha 

      7 years ago

      I hated the 3rd book! Very disappointed.

    • profile image

      regina 

      7 years ago

      After reading this I think I will read the books.

    • ThePracticalMommy profile image

      Marissa 

      7 years ago from United States

      Okay, now I really want to read this trilogy! I like that you gave basic summaries without giving too much away, yet you have explained those basics much better than anything else I've read about the books.

      Voted up and useful!

    • LisaKoski profile imageAUTHOR

      Lisa 

      7 years ago from WA

      I liked the movie. I always try not to compare books with the movie versions because they're never going to be the same but I think they made some good changes to the storyline overall, even though I wish they kept some of it the way it was in the book.

    • twinstimes2 profile image

      Karen Lackey 

      7 years ago from Ohio

      Good summary! Curious what you thought of the movie compared to the first book...assuming you have read it?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)