ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Titus Alone Book Review - Lunchtime Lit With Mel Carriere

Updated on November 29, 2019
Mel Carriere profile image

Reviewer Mel Carriere is a mailman, not a neurologist, but he will offer his misinformed opinions on neurology when prompted, or when not.

The 77th Earl of Groan abandons his kingdom and reemerges in a strange, steampunk world.
The 77th Earl of Groan abandons his kingdom and reemerges in a strange, steampunk world. | Source

When Secrets Are Stranded On An Author's Desert Island

How many ideas have been stranded on an unreachable desert island in an author's mind, due to some irreversible tragedy? Coleridge never completed his epic poem about Kubla Khan because he was interrupted by "A Person from Porlock" knocking on his door, making him forget his dream, leaving us to guess the ending. Heretofore, the name Xanadu will be remembered as the bad 1980 big hair movie that inspired the Golden Raspberry awards. Leonardo da Vinci left The Adoration of the Magi unfinished because he ran off to curry favor with the Duke of Milan, and now we have only a rough draft in dull sepia tones to show for it.

Even more serious, and I suppose more final, is when authors die before they can complete their pièce de résistance. Some authors like David Foster Wallace of The Pale King carefully collate their working manuscripts before immolating themselves, giving their posthumous publishers - salivating at the opportunity to make extra bucks off of tragedy, something tangible to work with. But most artistes who kick the bucket offer us no or very few clues about their swan song performance, either because they didn't know they were about to buy the farm, give up the ghost, bite the dust, cash in the chips, take a dirt nap - or else they were spiraling into a state of sickness, perhaps madness, that rendered them incapable of fulfilling the artistic mission.

The latter was the case for author/illustrator/designer/painter/poet Mervyn Peake, the creator of the latest subject of Lunchtime Lit, Titus Alone. Just recently I reviewed the eponymous volume of the Gormenghast series here, to which this book belongs, with the promise to take up the untimely death of its author in the discussion of the third and final volume.

Titus Alone was not intended to be the third and final volume. Unfortunately, Mervyn Peake departed from this world with the secret of how many installments remained, and what was going to be the ultimate fate of his hero, the wayward Earl Titus Groan. Would Titus's flight from his hated duties as the ruler of Gormenghast continue, or would he grow weary of wandering and return home to take up his dreary responsibilities? We have hints, we have clues, but Peake only piqued our interest with the last book of Gormenghast actually written by him. The enigma lies buried in his worm-riddled brain.

Mervyn Peake departed from civilization with the secret of how many Gormenghast installments remained, and what was going to be the ultimate fate of his hero, the wayward Earl Titus Groan
Mervyn Peake departed from civilization with the secret of how many Gormenghast installments remained, and what was going to be the ultimate fate of his hero, the wayward Earl Titus Groan | Source

Lunchtime Lit Rules

Lunchtime Lit is a desert island itself, a lonely atoll surrounded by a shark infested lagoon. In this desolate locale reviewed books are stranded until they waste away, just like many of the authors that have written them. Lunchtime Lit books can be read only on Mel's half hour postal lunch break, they can never signal a passing ship to be steamed off for sneak reads in more favorable climes.

Lunchtime Lit Year To Date Recap

Book
Pages
Word Count
Date Started
Date FInished
Lunchtimes Consumed
Infinite Jest
1079
577,608
10/16/2017
4/3/2018
102
Wuthering Heights
340
107,945
4/4/2018
5/15/2018
21
Red Sorghum
347
136,990
5/16/2018
6/23/2018
22
Gormenghast
409
181,690
6/26/2018
8/6/2018
29
Moby Dick
643
206,050
8/8/2018
10/23/2018
45
Jude The Obscure
397
149,670
10/27/2018
12/10/2018
28
Titus Alone
224
95,120
12/11/2018
1/5/2019
18

*Seventeen other titles, with a total estimated word count of 3,649,830 and 502 lunchtimes consumed, have been reviewed under the guidelines of this series.

**Word counts are estimated by hand-counting a statistically significant 23 pages, then extrapolating this average page count across the entire book. When the book is available on a word count website, I rely on that total, for better or for worse.

***This is the last Lunchtime Lit book read during my "blue period," when I disappeared from Hub Pages for a prolonged sabbatical. Two other "stale" reviews follow to bring me up to date, but they are already written.

The enigma of the outcome of the Gormenghast saga lies buried in Mervyn Peake's worm-riddled brain
The enigma of the outcome of the Gormenghast saga lies buried in Mervyn Peake's worm-riddled brain | Source

Steampunk Standard

Titus Alone takes place in a very different setting than its two predecessors, Titus Groan and Gormenghast. The ancient, crumbling castle of Gormenghast and its archaic technology have been replaced with a more modernistic, "steampunk" world of steam powered cars, sleek polished buildings of chic design, and insidious doomsday devices engineered by evil scientists. Beneath this place lies a dark, dripping cavern, where those who refuse to conform to the hive mind of the above ground city have sentenced themselves to gloomy, hopeless exile.

Peake does not adequately explain what form of interdimensional time travel brought Titus to this radically altered landscape in the gulf between books, but here he finds himself after his battle with Steerpike is won, and his flight from his birthplace is not a word, but a deed.

One certainty is that Titus has certainly grown up. His hormones have blossomed, turning him into a regular horn-dog, basically wanting to hump the leg of any attractive female nearby. First he shacks up with a wealthy cougar who takes him into her home, where Titus eventually grows bored of an abundance of sex and departs, as is always his peripatetic modus operandi. Then he incurs the wrath of the fetching daughter of an evil scientist, who desires a meaningful relationship with Titus, but is provoked into vengeance when she discovers the wandering Earl only wishes to use her sexually. The outraged daughter uses the vast powers at her father's disposal in a plot to bring Titus into submission.

Despite accumulating enemies through his aloof attitude, the wayward Earl also gains friends along the way, even a fan base in the fetid, dripping cavern beneath the river - a loyal crew of subterranean, non-conforming misfits who fight to keep Titus from harm. As such, our wandering hero escapes for further adventures, but who is to say what these adventures were intended to be?

Peake paints Titus Alone in verbal brushstrokes as precise as those he used to illustrate the works of other writers, to adorn the stages of dramatic performances, and to document the dying inmates of Bergen-Belsen deathcamp, where he was sent as a correspondent at the end of World War II. The reader's mind is transformed into a canvas that is swallowed in the oppressive gloom of the cavern beneath the river, where the maddening drip of water seeping down upon the inhabitants is made tangible in our heads, a form of literary water boarding. Few writers illustrate a setting with finely crafted prose as effectively as Mervyn Peake can, and this may spring from his early career as a visual artist, a vocation in which he was equally brilliant.

Mervyn Peake's highly visual imagination has had a significant impact on art forms since his brief but powerful flicker of light burned out. Titus Alone is considered by those who define and codify such things as the progenitor of the steampunk movement. Oxford University Press define Steampunk as "a subgenre of science fiction or science fantasy that incorporates technology and aesthetic designs inspired by 19th-century industrial steam-powered machinery."

Titus Alone does indeed take Gormenghast out of Gothic, playing out its plot against a backdrop that more closely resembles our modern Era, but substituting fossil fuels for steam. Without really trying the book has influenced cinematic works like Brazil, Hellboy, The League of Extraordinary Gentleman, and The Wild Wild West. If you ask me, His Dark Materials (The Golden Compass), also looks a little steampunkish. The genre has also worked its way into art, architecture and fashion, as folks reach into impossible dreamscape realms for a non-conformist identity, a persona typified by the restless young Earl - the ruggedest of rugged individuals, an angry young man who refused to be pigeon-holed into oblivion.

Eventually author Mervyn Peake succumbed to the dunce-cap demons that tormented his embattled brain.
Eventually author Mervyn Peake succumbed to the dunce-cap demons that tormented his embattled brain. | Source

Dewy Body Dunce Cap Demons

The answer to the ultimate fate of orphaned Earl Titus Groan lies buried in the folds of Mervyn Peake's corrupted gray matter. This multi-talented genius did not have his muse shielded from the plagues that enfeeble the brains of all classes of men prematurely, whether they be rickshaw pullers or mighty creative behemoths.

After the 1957 failure of his play A Wit to Woo, Peake was admitted to a hospital for nervous breakdown, an episode that signaled his slow slide into insanity. Over the course of the next twelve years, the Gormenghast creator increasingly succumbed to dementia. His prolonged illness has now been attributed to Dementia with Lewy bodies. Because the current knowledge of this disability was lacking at that time, efforts to treat his symptoms with techniques such as electroconvulsive therapy did not meet with success.

In the June, 2003 issue of JAMA Neurology, Dr. Demetrios J. Sahlas made a case for Lewy Body Dementia being the cause of Mervyn Peake's decline and ultimate fall. Lewy bodies, named after German neurologist Friederich Lewy, are abnormal deposits of alpha-synuclein protein in the brain. When the substance is produced to excess it forms clumps in neurons, causing them to degenerate and die. This neural decay results in distinctive symptoms that Dr. Sahlas, drawing from the recollections of those who attended to Mervyn Peake in his tormented final years, was able to identify.

The earliest such symptoms manifested during the author's fifth decade, when Peake demonstrated the tell-tale shaking of Parkinson's disease in his hands. He also began to show signs of cognitive decline, which some critics claim are present in the writing style of Titus Alone. But if this novel is Peake at his deranged worst, I wouldn't mind eating a slice of that crazy pie.

Peake then suffered bouts of depression and his behavior became increasingly erratic, marked by confusion and hallucinations. His attention span decreased to the point where he could not focus on the stories he was commissioned to illustrate. Eventually, the only artwork he produced was of strange, dunce-cap demons that haunted his secret visions. In the lucid moments of his roller coaster ride in and out of sanity, Peake penned strange poems about the floating shapes that tormented him down there in the well of madness, a delusional world produced by microscopic lumps of protein mush that were suffocating his neurons.

Eventually Mervyn Peake succumbed to his affliction, passing on in a care home on 17 November, 1968, just a tad over 51 years ago.

Despite advances in medicine since Peake's death, Lewy Body Dementia still plagues us. Proof of this is demonstrated in the death of another talented and beloved victim of this wretched disease, actor/comedian Robin Williams, whose similar affliction has been postulated as a catalyst of his 2014 suicide.

Eventually Mervyn Peake succumbed to the dunce cap demons, passing on in a care home on 17 November, 1968, just a tad over 51 years ago.
Eventually Mervyn Peake succumbed to the dunce cap demons, passing on in a care home on 17 November, 1968, just a tad over 51 years ago. | Source

Message In A Bottle?

Despite the fact that the future installments of Gormenghast were stranded forever on the desert island of his afflicted mind, Mervyn Peake did leave us a clue, a sort of meager, scribbled strand, a message in a bottle he set afloat shortly before disappearing with his protagonist Titus Groan into the ether.

With his magnificent mind slowly rotting away in a mental hospital, Mervyn Peake managed to scrawl a few mostly incoherent snippets for the further adventures of the 77th Earl of Gormenghast. These fragments were rescued by his widow, Maeve Gilmore, who used them to compose a fourth volume in the Gormenghast series, entitled Titus Awakes. It is unclear how much of this book conforms to the envisioned plot lines of Mervyn Peake's imagination, and how much of it was therapy on the part of an aggrieved wife, trying to cope with the premature death of her spouse. In either case, Peake's widow never had it published. The manuscript lay hidden beneath a box of baby clothes in the attic until after her death in 1983, when a granddaughter accidentally discovered it.

Titus Awakes seems to paint a more idyllic portrait of the last of the Groans, one in which he eventually really does settle down upon an island and lives happily ever after, an ending that seems unlikely for the restless royal waif. Are we to believe that this is the intended outcome for our nomadic, footloose young Earl, or does the answer lie forever buried, sealed in the crypt that contains the now consumed contents of a skull which was once the vibrant, living canvas where the marvelous fictional world of Gormenghast sparked to life.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Mel Carriere profile imageAUTHOR

      Mel Carriere 

      10 days ago from San Diego California

      Thank you Devika. I learned a lot about Mervyn Peake myself through this review. I appreciate you dropping in.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 

      11 days ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Hi Mel you have great choices of book reviews. I have learned about the author's state of mind and of Titus Alone from you. and sounds intriguing

    • Mel Carriere profile imageAUTHOR

      Mel Carriere 

      12 days ago from San Diego California

      Thank you Linda, it is indeed sad when such a magnificent mind passes. Thank you for dropping in.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      12 days ago from British Columbia, Canada

      This is a very interesting review, Mel, even though the fate of the author is sad. There are so many books that I want to read, including the one that you've reviewed.

    • Mel Carriere profile imageAUTHOR

      Mel Carriere 

      13 days ago from San Diego California

      Mills I have actually reviewed three by Haruki Murakami but perhaps with longer gaps between. I'm thinking about reading the Gormenghast book written by Peake's wife but I haven't made up my mind yet. Thanks for dropping in.

    • profile image

      Pat Mills 

      13 days ago from East Chicago, Indiana

      I don't recall you reviewing two works by the same author in such a short span. I guess that Peake has piqued your interest. Thanks as always for sharing.

    • Mel Carriere profile imageAUTHOR

      Mel Carriere 

      2 weeks ago from San Diego California

      Imogen I didn't know anything about Mervyn Peake at all until a Wikipedia article about Sting, of all people, piqued my interest in Peake. I always am willing to tackle new books by relatively unknown authors because there is so much hidden treasure out there. Thanks for dropping in!

    • Imogen French profile image

      Imogen French 

      2 weeks ago from Southwest England

      I read the trilogy many years ago when I was a teenager. While I loved the first two, and they left a deep impression on my mind, I can barely remember anything about Titus Alone. I may have to revisit after reading your insights. I didn't know anything about Mervyn Peake's mental health problems - very sad.

    • Mel Carriere profile imageAUTHOR

      Mel Carriere 

      2 weeks ago from San Diego California

      Thank you Road Monkey. None of us knows our hour, I guess. I have been intending to print my novels out. That way maybe a grandchild digging through the attic might find one one day. I appreciate you dropping in!

    • Mel Carriere profile imageAUTHOR

      Mel Carriere 

      2 weeks ago from San Diego California

      Jodah it is a sad thought that these marvelous worlds and people we weave in our heads will never be let out. Lately I have been publishing my novels on a blog, free of charge. It's not setting the world on fire but if one person gets it then I feel I have changed the world in a small way. Thanks for dropping in!

    • Mel Carriere profile imageAUTHOR

      Mel Carriere 

      2 weeks ago from San Diego California

      DreamerMeg you seem to have a lot of great literature under your belt for someone who doesn't read anything literary. It is satisfying to share impressions with someone who has read the book, because reading is a dying art. It could be that Titus Alone was unfinished, or perhaps rushed. I still think that Peake on a bad day is better than most at their, well, peak.

      I really appreciate you dropping in.

    • Mel Carriere profile imageAUTHOR

      Mel Carriere 

      2 weeks ago from San Diego California

      So many books Bill, so little time. I have dozens of stories trapped inside me too. Problem is my mind keeps making up stories but the hand are too busy to write them down. Thanks for dropping in!

    • Mel Carriere profile imageAUTHOR

      Mel Carriere 

      2 weeks ago from San Diego California

      Thank you Pamela. I like adjectives, though I try to stay away from adverbs. I am pleased you liked the review, thanks for dropping in!

    • RoadMonkey profile image

      RoadMonkey 

      2 weeks ago

      I have fragments of stories typed out and also saved on the computer, depending on whether computers were available or not, which shows how old some of them are. My published stuff is mostly factual, the other stuff and plot lines will likely die with me now.

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      2 weeks ago from Queensland Australia

      Another excellent and detailed review, Mel. I find the history that you share about the author equally as interesting as the actual story review. I seem to read a lot of books written posthumously by other writers after the original author has past away. The Bourne and Covert One books by Robert Ludlum (now Eric Lustvarder), The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo series by Stieg Larson (continued by David Lagercrantz) etc. I guess we never know when our time will come or if we will leave major works unfinished.

    • DreamerMeg profile image

      DreamerMeg 

      2 weeks ago from Northern Ireland

      I am amazed. I read Titus Alone some years ago but didn't enjoy it very much. It just seemed unfinished to me. Now I see why and possibly also the reason it seemed different from the earlier books. I am a prolific reader but don't generally read "literary" writing. I can see that other people can gain a lot more from these books than me. Great review and history. Until I read about the dementia with Lewy bodies, I wondered whether being in a concentration camp with the survivors at the end of the war had affected him.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      2 weeks ago from Olympia, WA

      Fascinating history about the author. I worry about that, the number of books I still have in me which may never make it to print...I best get busy! :)

      Hope you had a very Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      2 weeks ago from Sunny Florida

      Mervyn Peake is certainly an interesting author, and it is always sad when someone deteriorates mentally in that fashion. You wrote a very interesting article explaining the book and the lack of an end to the series. I enjoy reading your writing as you use interesting descriptive adjectives. I don't think Titus Awakens sounds like a book I would enjoy, but I did enjoy your article.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)