ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Two Copper Coins: A Book Review

Updated on December 17, 2014
PDXKaraokeGuy profile image

Justin W. Price, AKA PDXKaraokeGuy, is a freelance writer, blogger, and award-nominated author based out of Juneau, Alaska.

my uncle Dale and Aunt Ruby on their wedding day
my uncle Dale and Aunt Ruby on their wedding day
Last Time I saw my uncle
Last Time I saw my uncle | Source

Dale Price was a full bird colonel in the military, he was executive director of Canyonview Camp and Bible College in Silverton, Oregon. He was a pastor, a husband (he was married to Ruby for 41 years), a father, a grandfather and, most importantly, a follower and emulator of Jesus.

He was also my uncle.

When he was diagnosed with terminal lung cancer on August 20, 2008, our family was shocked and devastated. He was a lifelong non smoker and a health nut. How could he get cancer? How would he react. His first book, Two Copper Coins , tells that story.

The title of the book comes from the biblical story of the widow who gave the last of her money to the church, two copper coins and refers to giving everything to Jesus. That's how he lived his life.

The book is a collection of journal entries from his CaringBridge online journal and consist of theology, narratives of his cancer journey and inspirational quotes. After his cancer diagnosis, he traveled to Russia three times to speak at a Christian conference. He made the last trip just four months before his death on April 16, 2011.

Dale did not feel sorry himself. One of my favorite quotes from the book is " As crazy as it may seem, I pray for the heat. not that I desire a reversal of my present good reports. I just pray for the sense of complete dependency that comes when God turns on His Refiner's fire. " Like everything else in his life, Dale used his situation to further the gospel and bring encouragement to others. He began to live his life in "high definition", using what time he had left to share what God had done in his life. No matter what your belief system is, you can find inspiration and encouragement in this easy to read book.

I saw my uncle for the last time just thirteen short days before he passed away. I knew he was near death and I wanted my girlfriend (now wife) to meet him. He was so very skinny and tired. We didn't know it at the time, but he had hundreds of tumors ravagaing his brain and lungs. He didn't once talk about it or the nausea and excruciating pain he was surely in. Instead, he spoke with my girlfriend very quietly and asked about her and her family. She left in tears, grieving for a great man.

There were over 1,000 people at his memorial service, from all walks of life.

This book helps me remember him as the vibrant, powerful, godly, kind, selfless and loving man he was. it is my sincere hope that you read the book and leave with the same impression.

His passing was a tremendous loss to our family and the world but he lives on through this wonderful book.

My Poetry Collection

hanks for Reading

A FREELANCE WRITER, HONORS STUDENT AND GOVER PRIZE FINALIST, JUSTIN W. PRICE (AKA, PDXKARAOKEGUY)IS A POET, SHORT STORY, BIOGRAPHY AND HUMOR WRITER. HIS POETRY COLLECTION,DIGGING TO CHINA, WAS RELEASED FEBRUARY 2ND, 2013 BY SWEATSHOPPE PUBLICATIONS AND IS AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.COM, BARNES AND NOBLE AND THROUGH YOUR LOCAL BOOKSELLER.

HIS WORK IS ALSO FEATURED INBEST NEW FICTION (2014 EDITION), AND HAS APPEARED PREVIOUSLY INTHE RUSTY NAIL, EFICTION, THE CRISIS CHRONICLES, THE HELLROARING REVIEW, BURNINGWORD, SEE SPOT RUN AND THE BELLWETHER REVIEW. HE PREVIOUSLY SERVED AS MANAGING EDITOR OFEPOETRY MAGAZINEAND THE BRIDGEONLINE NEWSPAPER.

HE WORKS IN A MEAT AND SEAFOOD DEPARTMENT FOR A HEALTH FOOD GROCERY STORE. HE ALSO WORKS AS FREELANCE WRITER, EDITOR, AND GHOSTWRITER, AND IS WORKING TOWARDS HIS PH.D. HE LIVES IN A SUBURB OF PORTLAND, OREGON WITH HIS WIFE, ANDREA, THEIR LABRADOODLE, BELLA, AND A NAMED SHPOO, SAUVEE.

PLEASE VISIT HISPROFILE FOR MORE INFORMATION. THANKS!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Joyfulcrown profile image

      Joyfulcrown 2 years ago

      Your uncle Dale was a Man of God. You were really blessed to have him in your live. Thank you for sharing this with us.

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 2 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Thanks for this. Sharing on my Alzheimer's website.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks Rajan. He was a fighter til the very end. I hope you are inspired by his book!

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks, Dancilla. I hope you get a chance to check it out!

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 5 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      This write up, review and the poem is very touching and I appreciate your love for your uncle. I can see he had a very strong spirit in a frail body.

      Peace be with you.

      Thanks for sharing.

    • Dancilla profile image

      Priscilla 5 years ago from El Paso

      Very good book review

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks, R9139

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks Thomas. He was very inspiring. I hope you check out the book!

    • R9139 profile image

      R9139 5 years ago

      Great read, very powerful

    • ThoughtSandwiches profile image

      ThoughtSandwiches 5 years ago from Reno, Nevada

      Justin...

      I'm sorry for your loss, however, It seems as if you took all the good things Dale had to offer. Thank you for sharing this!

      Thomas

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Debby, I certainly have been blessed. Thanks for reading and commenting and I hope you get a chance to check out the book.

    • Debby Bruck profile image

      Debby Bruck 5 years ago

      Dear Justin ~ You've been surrounded by miraculous models of humanity throughout your life. Blessings, Debby

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Stessily, "inspirational" is the best word to describe my uncle. Thanks for taking the time to read and I hope you check the book out!

    • profile image

      stessily 5 years ago

      PDX, This review and your poem "Free Spirit" are lovely tributes to your uncle. The widow with her copper coins is a biblical tale which has always intrigued me. Your uncle's partiality for that passage and how he expressed it in his life are inspirational and reveal the power of spirituality to shape exemplary lives.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thank you. he was the real deal. He was very genuine. It was interesting, when he passed, they tried to find someone who knew him that wasn't a Christian to write something about him and they couldn't find anyone because everyone who knew him wanted to be like him and be a Christian. He's inspiring to me even in my times of searching and wandering. Thanks for commenting and voting!

    • pmccray profile image

      pmccray 5 years ago from Utah

      We are bombarded, daily, with the idiocy of pseudo Christians, this man walked the walk and lived his life for God. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on his book, and his life. Voted up, marked useful, beautiful and interesting.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image
      Author

      Justin W Price 5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks, Gypsy. We all do! I hope you pick up the book and are blessed by it!

    • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

      Gypsy Rose Lee 5 years ago from Riga, Latvia

      Truly inspirational and voted up! I admire your uncle's courage.God bless.