ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Water for Elephants Summary Review

Updated on September 29, 2010

Water for Elephants Book Cover

Water for Elephants Author Sara Gruen Accolades

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen is one of the better books I've read in awhile. It deals with unusual subject material written in a creative voice. Water for Elephants is a love story, mystery, drama, comedy and historical novel all rolled into one.

Water for Elephants is winner of the 2007 BookBrowse Diamond Award for Most Popular Book. It was nominated for two Quill Awards- General Fiction and Book of the Year. Water for Elephants hit the #1 spot on the New York Times Best-Seller list in the summer of 2007. Sara Gruen is also the author of the best-seller, "Riding Lessons".

Research for Water for Elephants

Sara did extensive research about the circus life during the Great Depression before writing "Water for Elephants", and it shows. Some of the events in the novel were inspired by true stories that Sara uncovered while doing her research on circuses and elephants.

Another Sara Gruen Novel

Water for Elephants Storyline

Read about Jacob, a 90-something-year old that is now in a retirement home. He recounts his youth and tells about how he joined the circus during the Great Depression era. Jacob meets the beautiful horse trainer, Marlena. He befriends Walter the midget. And one of Jacob's best friends is Rosie, an abused elephant.

Water for Elephants reveals what circus life and the Depression may have been like. It is filled with some memorable characters. Who can ever forget Walter and his beloved dog? Or Rosie the stubborn, but heroic elephant?

Circus Elephant

Animal Lovers, Beware Before Reading Water for Elephants

Be warned that this book deals with circuses from the past before there were any regulations to protect animals. There are many scenes dealing with animal abuse. Some of them are quite graphic and disturbing.

Water for Elephants Summary

Water for Elephants does require a bit of suspension of disbelief. There are some plot points that are hard to accept. The book also has a somewhat fairytale ending. Don't let that stop you from appreciating this book. Just go with the fantasy and enjoy it.

Water for Elephants Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • wannabwestern profile image

      Carolyn Augustine 

      10 years ago from Iowa

      Hi Angela,

      I enjoyed your review of this book. It has been a little while since I read it and your synopsis reminded me of some of the more salient points I had forgotten! I agree that some of the plot points stretched beyond what is believable, but the story has such a fantastic element that it is ok to throw disbelief to the wind and just enjoy the author's great storytelling. I recently learned a Ringling Bros. museum is down in Florida. I'm hoping to get there some time to see it! Cheers!

    • sdorrian profile image

      sdorrian 

      10 years ago from Chicago

      This books has been on my list of books to read for a while. I'll get to it next! Thanks for the review!

    • Angela Harris profile imageAUTHOR

      Angela Harris 

      10 years ago from Around the USA

      Of course you are welcome, Patty. I meant to visit that refuge when I was in Arkansas. I have regretted it many times that I never got around to it. I will look for the PBS special and see if I can rent it. Thanks!

    • Patty Inglish, MS profile image

      Patty Inglish MS 

      10 years ago from USA. Member of Asgardia, the first space nation, since October 2016

      I was supposed to do a professional review of this book, but it never arrived.

      Yes, Arkansas; I'd forgotten the state. There was a PBS special and it perhaps was aalso shown on network TV.

      Thanks very much for this Hub!

    • Angela Harris profile imageAUTHOR

      Angela Harris 

      10 years ago from Around the USA

      Steph, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. My daughter read it as well and she also liked it a lot. Don't skip the end of the book where Sara talks about her research for the novel. It has some fascinating stuff in it.

      Thanks so much, Rhym! Maybe after this goshdang contest is over, I will have time to read some more. (Just joking, Hubpages. Well, kind of.) I'm hoping to get to the library soon or get some new books for my birthday.

      Patty, I'm not sure, have you read the book? If not, it would be a really special read for you with your father's history, I would think. Thanks so much for the story.

      Do you mean the refuge in Arkansas? It is the only one in the USA that I know. I would so much enjoy working somewhere like that.

    • Patty Inglish, MS profile image

      Patty Inglish MS 

      10 years ago from USA. Member of Asgardia, the first space nation, since October 2016

      OMG, this is about circuses when my father as a child and his freinds and the farm hands would meet the train at the end of the line and help set up the tents and care for the animals.

      My father always took care of the elephants and was very kind to them.

      I like the elephant refuge in the US wehere old elephant friends met again, rememeberd each other and spent the rest of their days happy.

    • Rhym O'Reison profile image

      Rhym O'Reison 

      10 years ago from Crowley, Tx

      I also really enjoyed this book....and your description is very accurate. I'd like to hear more reviews from you.

    • stephhicks68 profile image

      Stephanie Hicks 

      10 years ago from Bend, Oregon

      I am halfway through reading this book (due to the contest)! I think it is beautifully written and I can't wait to get to the end! Thanks for the review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)