ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Book Review Of The Writer's Market

Updated on September 25, 2013

A Cornucopia of Information

I have been singing the praises of this book for so long now that I felt it was time for me to tell you about it in detail.

If you have not purchased your copy of Writer’s Market yet, and you are a writer, then what in the heck is the matter with you? You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make that sonofagun drink, right?

Listen, if you have no desire to sell your writings and be published then fine, ignore this book review and enjoy yourself as you write for the sheer joy of writing. I can respect that.

However, if you have any desire at all to one day be published, then you really need to buy this book. This is, for lack of a better term, the Bible for writers. It is published every year and, in fact, there are niche books for different genres such as Children’s Writers, Christian Writers, Novel Writers and even Cartoon Writers.

The book we will discuss today is the 2012 Writer’s Market. Yes, the 2013 is available now, and yes, I will purchase it, but until funds are available this is the book I will have to review for your pleasure and knowledge.

Shall we begin? The book is divided into the sections you see below.

Writer's Digest
Writer's Digest | Source

FINDING WORK

Here you will find some wonderful tutorials to get you on the road to success. Included in this section are the following:

  • How to write successful query and cover letters
  • How to write a synopsis
  • How to write a book proposal
  • Manuscript formats
  • How to write the perfect pitch
  • How to build a platform
  • Recent changes in publishing
  • Self-publishing checklist
  • Finding work on the internet
  • Writing for content providers

And much, much more, including samples of query letters for both magazine editors and book publishers and agents.

MANAGING WORK

Here we learn how to handle your writing business as a business. Included in this chapter are:

  • Finding clients
  • Developing a website
  • Signing contracts
  • Tax deductions for writers
  • Contract negotiations
  • Business accounting primer
  • Record keeping and pricing
  • What qualifies as a business expense
  • Keeping a submission tracker
  • How to protect your work
  • Time management
  • A writing calendar
  • How to launch a freelance business
  • Going rates for all types of writing

PROMOTING WORK

Now it’s time to promote, promote and promote some more. I know, I know, nobody enjoys this part of the writing business, but unless you enjoy poverty then you need to learn how to promote your brand, and that brand is you. Included in this chapter are:

  • Detailed instructions on building your own platform
  • How to write press releases
  • How to promote a book tour
  • How to release book trailers
  • How to plan events
  • How to use a blog for promotion
  • How to use Twitter, Facebook and Linkedin

Is that enough or do you want more? Well more you will get….read on!

Source
Source
Source
Source

RESOURCES

Here we have a lengthy list of professional organizations that you will find useful, as well as a glossary of writing terms. The professional organizations include agent’s organizations, writer’s organizations and industry organizations.

LITERARY AGENTS

Twenty-four pages of literary agents are listed here. Included for each agent are contact information, terms and genres they are currently looking for. You can see a sample of one of the pages below.

BOOK PUBLISHERS

One hundred and seventy-six pages of book publishers are listed in this section. Again, contact information is given as well as types of books they are looking for, submission guidelines and tips for each publisher. You can see a sample page below.

CONSUMER MAGAZINES

318 pages listing every consumer magazine in the United States. Contact information, submission guidelines, what they are looking for and tips.

This section is divided by magazine type, so if you want animal magazines you can easily find them, or if you want travel or astrology magazines you can easily find them as well.

TRADE JOURNALS

Most people trying to break into the magazine industry will submit to one of the magazines you find on newsstands and in bookstores. There is a whole other world out there for those who want to try writing for trade journals. Trade journals are publications that focus on a particular occupation or industry.

There are 114 pages of trade journal listings for you to peruse and again, all pertinent information is listed for you as well as the listings being in alphabetical order by industry.

NEWSPAPERS

Thirteen pages of the highest circulating newspapers in the United States. Contact information and submission guidelines are included.

A word to the wise: if you are interested in breaking into the newspaper industry, start small. Go local and build your credits and resume before you tackle one of the big boys.

SCREENWRITING

A small section with thirteen companies looking for scripts from experienced and novice screenwriters. All information you need is included.

PLAYWRITING

Twenty pages of companies that are always looking for new or experienced playwriters.

GREETING CARDS

Nineteen companies interested in freelancers to write for them. Freelancers make as low as $5 per card and as high as $300 per card.

CONTESTS

Eighty-five pages of writing contests and writing awards in the United States. Trust me when I tell you that there are many more contests available, but the ones listed are the more established and prestigious contests.

Did you find this review worthwhile?

4.9 out of 5 stars from 13 ratings of Writer's Digest

Now There Is Only One Thing Left for You to Do

Need I say more? If you are considering submitting work for publication, this book is a must. I don’t know any other way to say it to convince you, so there you have it. This book carries the Bill Holland Seal of Approval and believe me, that is a coveted ranking.

Buy it new…buy it used….just buy it!

2013 William D. Holland (aka billybuc)

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • hawaiianodysseus profile image

      Hawaiian Odysseus 4 years ago from Southeast Washington state

      Good morning, Bill!

      Wow! Great review, my friend! I like how you broke this huge book into bite-size chunks. Your wit gave this article a warmhearted ambience as well, and I always appreciate that reader-friendliness about your writing.

      I was surprised to see that I could also get this book at a really cheap price on Amazon, too! Wonderful!

      So much work to do this morning...and since it's raining, I'll be able to devote more of my time to HubPages today! Thanks for the great information, buddy! Have a wonderful day, and I'll come back and visit you via HP later on today! Aloha!

      Joe

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Joe, you da man! Used copies of this book are cheap on your favorite site ebay, so get to shopping since I know you are already working that site this morning.

      Stay dry my friend and I'll see you down the road. Thank you for your kind words.

      Aloha!

      bill

    • Suzie HQ profile image

      Suzanne Ridgeway 4 years ago from Dublin, Ireland

      Hi Bill,

      Awesome look at this book which is a wealth of information. If I am not mistaken there is a UK one ? I must check this out as I would keen to get a European one covering different countries as it would be mighty useful when we move. Appreciate your review, I had no idea quite HOW MUCH info it had and what a resource we should all have! When funds allow, I will be purchasing so many thanks my friend!

      P.S please note how I don't slag off your work to bits like some "writer's" you may know do!! LOL only joking! Have a great day oh wise one!

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Suzie, there is one for the UK and I knew the name of it a week ago, but alas, it is gone. Sorry about that...I mentioned it in one of my earlier hubs but have no idea which one. :)

      Thank you my friend and you can slag ??? anytime you want on my site.

      Enjoy your day as well dear lady!

      bill

    • profile image

      mjkearn 4 years ago

      Hi Sir Bill

      So as someone I know would say "what the heck am I doing here"?

      Well as you know it's for the love, the free knowledge, the expert pointers, the insiders track and tips and of course and most importantly to say hi to a friend.

      It's sad that this episode only qualifies on the last point so "hello friend", LOL.

      Now what's the story? What's Cornu-Cornu- What's it? I thought in shock and horror is Sir Bill about to launch a recipe and I won't lie and say that suddenly I was interested because as you know I only visit the kitchen to find where I left my spanners. Which more often than not is at my ass which is also handy as that's not that far from the ground.

      Another thing as you would say to someone I know "what use is this to me"? It might be if I ever decide to read or God forbid "attempt writing". Are you allowed to mention God when you think he or she is a complete waste of space or does that get some folk hot under the collar. Ooops oh deary me.

      $5 dollars a card for saying "hello nice person, how are you and have a nice day". Where do I sign up.

      Couldn't you just skip the review Sir Bill and tell me the a-b-c of what to do. I mean fair's fair, I tell you how to fix your house, your car and your motorcycle and the fact that you may or may not have these is not my fault. I give free, quality, high tech, BS and am now getting better at ignoring the law suits.

      So is there anywhere in this booky thing that says someone, somewhere will pay me not to write. I'd jump at that one and for only $10 a day I'd do it.

      I think that would be a fair legacy and gift from me to all mankind. I would say womankind, as that appeals to me more, but I'm not allowed to as Suzie is looking over my shoulder. Ouch!

      I'm going to wait until you offer the 2013 editi0n of this book as a prize in one of your writing contests. I would have said first prize but unless you'd be prepared to cook the books I'd have no chance of that though I have experience of cooking the books but the nice man in the white wig said I shouldn't do that anymore. Well actually he said that I shouldn't do that and many other things but I forget. I'm pretty sure that it is published and on record somewhere should anybody want a copy.

      Actually does that mean I qualify for saying I have been published, LOL.

      So enough for today. Another great article from a great man and I think I shall share this in the hopes that someone else will tell me how good it is.

      Have a good day Bill and a better tomorrow. I saw that on G+ so I stole it. Well you know that I'm not that good.

      MJ.

    • Janine Huldie profile image

      Janine Huldie 4 years ago from New York, New York

      Pinned this one, because truly need to try to buy this book soon and you really gave some wonderful information and insight on it. I thank you as always for that and have voted and shared, as always. And hope you are having a wonderful day now, too!!

    • bravewarrior profile image

      Shauna L Bowling 4 years ago from Central Florida

      As you know, I've already purchased my 2013 edition of the Writer's Market. Wow! They really want us to succeed, don't they? What an awesome tool and no need to bookmark several different websites. Everything you need is right there in one location for easy access. Don't you just love real books with pages you can turn with your fingers??

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thank you Janine! It really is an important book to own, and buying a used, year old one is perfectly fine. :)

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Isaac Weithers 4 years ago from The Caribbean

      Billybuc, I have bought a few copies of Writers Market. It is indeed very helpful. However, about three years ago I wrote to a publisher on the list, and they turned out to be nothing like the information listed about them. They shouldn't even have been in the book; they must have lied about themselves. Eventually they said that they were undergoing major changes. Just a word of caution. I still believe in Writers Market.

    • Faith Reaper profile image

      Faith Reaper 4 years ago from southern USA

      Dear Bill,

      Great book review here of a really great book no doubt!

      I must get this one.

      Thanks for always sharing these gems you find with us all. You're the best!

      Hugs and blessings, Faith Reaper

    • JayeWisdom profile image

      Jaye Denman 4 years ago from Deep South, USA

      Bill: My update's already pre-ordered on Amazon. It's too bad this reference book isn't available as a computer download to save tons of paper since so much of the information (other than articles) is obsolete after a year. (Be sure and recycle your old copies!)

      Voted Up++

      Jaye

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Sha, I do love real books and I especially love this book. I can't imagine writing without it. :)

      Thanks dear friend.

      love,

      bill

    • BNadyn profile image

      Bernadyn 4 years ago from Jacksonville, Florida

      I had purchased the Children's Writer one before but now am definitely going to pick this one up. Thanks for sharing!

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Dora, thanks for that...I think that's true of any reference book. There are bound to be a few glitches in 1000 pages. :)

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      My pleasure, Faith. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Jaye, there is no argument from me on that point.....actually, I usually use a book that is two or three years old to save money, but with over 1000 pages your point is well taken.

    • tillsontitan profile image

      Mary Craig 4 years ago from New York

      Another smashing hub! Not just any book review, but one so very helpful to all of us. I like the way you broke things down in bite size chunks for those of us a little slower on the uptake ;) Seriously good hub Bill. Have a great day.

      Voted up, useful, and interesting.

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      MJ, I don't even know where to begin with you. I always feel I'm not writing enough of a response after you spent so much time and effort on your bs. LOL

      Good God, man, do I have to do everything for you? Next thing you'll want me writing your hubs for you and giving you credit....oh, wait, that's what I do for customers all the time. There are hundreds of business owners out there who look brilliant because of my posts for them...heck, buddy, I could do the same for you. Slip me ten bucks in my PayPal account and I'll write hubs for you. What a great deal for both of us. You could be a best-selling author and I could be semi-rich, at least until the Tax Man figures out my scheme at which time you could write to me at the state Pen.

      Have a great day my friend and always remember to know where Suzie is at all time...she might douse you with some smelly stuff.

      bill

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      BNadyn, it is worth the purchase if you are going to submit for money...thanks for stopping by.

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thanks Mary! I stand behind this review...in fact, it is the only book review I have written here at HP...I feel that strongly about it.

    • profile image

      DJ Anderson 4 years ago

      Great review, Bill.

      Sounds like a "must have" book. I suppose you are going to expect me to READ IT, as well.

      Since I am now out of the HP pokey, guess I will have some time to

      read.

      I did meet some interesting individuals though....there was Helga, who had more tats than the law should allow....then, there was Linny,

      who used to be Lenard. She was a big teddy bear of a sweet heart....

      about 6'4", 350. A little too touchy feely for my liking. But, she did make a good fluffy pillow for the night.

      I am making a mental note...must order book and stay out of the pokey.

      Done! And, thanks for making my bail.

      DJ.

    • xstatic profile image

      Jim Higgins 4 years ago from Eugene, Oregon

      Good review, Bill, and great recommendation for a book all writers need to have on hand,

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thanks Jim! I believe in this book as a must have for writers.

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      DJ, as bails go, yours was pretty inexpensive. Now as for the rest of my family....I'm going broke keeping them out of jail. :)

      Glad you are back my friend. Say hello to Lenard for me....I think I know his/her cousin. :)

      bill

    • vkwok profile image

      Victor W. Kwok 4 years ago from Hawaii

      That book will definitely be on my shopping list. Thanks!

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thank you, vkwok...you won't be disappointed.

    • livingsta profile image

      livingsta 4 years ago from United Kingdom

      Thank you for this Bill. You have neatly summarised and given an outline of what the contents and benefits of the book are. Thank you for sharing this with us. I think I should get one :-)

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Dahlia, I think you should get one soon too. There is also one for the UK, but I forget the name of it. :)

    • b. Malin profile image

      b. Malin 4 years ago

      I've missed coming by for your Good Common Sense Bill. I had heard of the "Writer's Market Books" in the past. You've once again done your homework and given an Excellent Review. Thanks for sharing.

    • Kathryn Stratford profile image

      Kathryn 4 years ago from Manchester, Connecticut

      I am putting this on my list of things to buy soon. I have had these guides in the past, and I would love to own a copy again. It would give me some good information, and motivate me to try my hand at trying to get pieces published.

      Thanks for reviewing this for us. A "Bill Holland Seal of Approval" is more trusted to me than any other seal!

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thanks Barbara, and it's good to have you back. I just finished reading your hub...we passed like two ships in the night. :)

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Kathryn, you are a doll, and thank you. I don't think you will be disappointed if you buy it.

      Have a great evening my friend.

    • LaThing profile image

      LaThing 4 years ago from From a World Within, USA

      I am going, I am going..... Have to get that book!! LOL, your review is so good that I have to rush out and get a copy...... Seriously though, you did a great job on that review and you are a great salesmen! Very interesting read, will be passing this on. Thanks Billy..... You are always looking out for us :)

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Lizzie, this is the only book review I have written....so obviously I believe in this book. :)

      Thanks as always my friend. It's good to hear from you.

    • Abby Campbell profile image

      Abby Campbell 4 years ago from Charlotte, North Carolina

      Hi Bill. I have this book, and it is the greatest reference book for writers. I'm glad you wrote this because it reminds me to take it off my bookshelf and start using it again. :-)

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thanks Abby! It's important that the readers hear from someone other than me how great this book is. :)

    • bdegiulio profile image

      Bill De Giulio 4 years ago from Massachusetts

      Hi Bill. Great review. I'll have to get myself a copy of this. It sounds like a great reference for anyone looking to write. Thanks for sharing this with us. I do remember you mentioning this in a previous hub, maybe this time it will sink in :)

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Bill, if you forget you can bet I'll be suggesting it in another hub.

      Thanks for always being here, buddy! I hope you are having a wonderful evening.

    • Curiad profile image

      Mark G Weller 4 years ago from Lake Charles, LA.

      This is a great review Bill, and done in your "right there" style!

      Thanks for sharing this with the world.

      Mark

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      My pleasure, Mark. Thank you my friend. I hope you are well.

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 4 years ago from San Francisco

      Thank you for this great book review. Sadly I do not have the attention span to finish a book, let alone the time.

    • Darrylmdavis profile image

      Darrylmdavis 4 years ago from Brussels, Belgium

      Interesting hub. I must say, though, that my experiences with Poet's Market (similar but, granted, not the same) have been less than spectacular. It's not that it isn't all laid out well with an easy-to-follow system and loads of info. Rather, the shelf life of what's in there (particularly for journals) is extremely limited. I think the last time I bothered to part with coin for a copy was in 2011 and I ceased buying subsequent editions because at least half of what was in there was already out of date two months after publication. While I think it could be worth while for someone starting out, I believe there was better, more accurate and free sources of this info available online.

    • Vellur profile image

      Nithya Venkat 4 years ago from Dubai

      A great review and a valuable information for people who want to publish. Thanks for sharing.

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Martin, I appreciate you stopping by. Thank you!

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thanks for your opinion, Darryl. I have not found that to be true, but oh well. :)

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thank you Vellur! It's always nice to see you.

    • carol7777 profile image

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      This is the Bible for all writers. You did a great job in breaking it all down ..Voting up and pinning.

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thanks Carol! I obviously like this book. LOL

    • Radcliff profile image

      Liz Davis 4 years ago from Hudson, FL

      What the heck is the matter with me? Are you prepared for the answer to that question? I didn't think so . . .

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Lizzy, yes I am prepared...there is nothing the matter with you. You are perfect just the way you are....a perfect Lizzy.

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 4 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

      Thank you very much for the review and the push to read this book, Bill. The last time that I looked at a copy was before it had information about writing on the Internet, which shows how badly I need to get the book!

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Alicia, I hope you enjoy this book as much as I do....I have found it to be my greatest asset when writing.

    • aviannovice profile image

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      I haven't done it yet, Billy, as I forgot. I should have ordered it with my new Peterson's Bird Guide, but I didn't think about it....

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Deb, I'm pretty sure they will still have a copy of the book when you get around to ordering.

    • drbj profile image

      drbj and sherry 4 years ago from south Florida

      Writers Market is an excellent tool, Bill, but sometimes the info goes out of date rather rapidly - then again, that's life. It's still worthwhile to purchase because of the general writers' info.

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I agree drbj....it's funny, but I rarely come across information that is out of date, but I have heard from others who echo what you wrote. Anyway, I love the book and it more than pays for itself.

      Thank you as always and have a great Sunday.

    • Michael-Milec profile image

      Michael-Milec 4 years ago

      Good afternoon billybuc .

      Inspirational. Yet another confirmation of working principle in this orbit,'" give , and it will be given to you... the measure you use, it will be measured to you, " you're proof as I'm finding in your writings.

      Sharing things one needs , while not knowing is available, means blessing for those who know what blessing is. You're doing both.

      Great information my friend, many commentators said already in much better wocabulary, exceeding of mine. I'll be just following from a distance , until suitable moment to " explode" as so many of you heralds already do.

      What a privilege to know a group of people not laughing at one admitting not knowing awhile ago what I've learn now.

      Thank you William D. God bless you.

      Voting up, up and useful.

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Michael, my friend, you will always be welcome at my site. I greatly appreciate your attitude, your support and your willingness to learn. Thank you sincerely and I hope the coming week is a good one for you.

      blessings always

      bill

    • phoenix2327 profile image

      Zulma Burgos-Dudgeon 4 years ago from United Kingdom

      I have the UK version, ' The Writers' and Artists' Yearbook.' that includes the information you speak of here. It is a brilliant investment.

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Thank you Phoenix and I agree with you completely.

    • Natashalh profile image

      Natasha 4 years ago from Hawaii

      I almost bought the then current edition years ago, but then I stopped writing for a long time. After I accomplish my student teaching in the fall I should pick up the 2014 edition. Not before then, though...I don't think I'll have much time for anything besides student teaching and driving to the next county each day because that's where I was placed. Grr...

    • billybuc profile image
      Author

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Natasha, without a doubt, student teaching will take care of your spare time. Best of luck with it and thanks for stopping by. I hope you are having a nice summer.

    Click to Rate This Article