ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Writing a Book Review - Choosing Keywords

Updated on April 22, 2012

Step 1. The Easy and Obvious first

Clearly there are some really obvious keywords your pretty much obligated to use if you want to attract traffic to your book review. Let's list them here to make sure you've got most of them locked down:

  • Book Title
  • Book Author (and any co-authors)
  • Book Illustrator (and any co-illistrators)
  • Book Publisher
  • Book editor (if one is listed)
  • the Edition of the book you're reviewing
  • If the book is part of a Series, include that too
  • Names of the Main Characters
  • Genre/Industry
  • Niche, Sub-Genre or Specialty
  • Date the book was published

Step 2. Less Obvious Keywords

Some of these keywords and keyphrases might be obvious to some, while they may be complete surprises to others. Either way, I've found them generally useful for increasing traffic.

  • Chapter names
  • Quotes from main characters
  • Inspirational quotes from inspirational characters
  • Quotes from the author (usually for non-fiction books)
  • "How to's" (If the book you reviewed teaches something, then the keyphrase would be "how to do house painting", or "how to build a birdhouse", etc...)
  • "How do you's" (the theory is the same as the "how to's" keyphrases)
  • "Where can I find..." ("books about business"...)
  • "Did you know..." ("that painting can be easier if you..")

Step 3. Reach Further

You'll want to be careful about not using too many keywords and keyphrases, though if you have the room for a few more keywords or keyphrase's, you can reach further out to a wider audience and help create that evergreen review that helps keep a book relevant.

Try creating some extra tags out of:

  • Similar Genre's
  • Similar Subjects or Industries
  • Tie it into educational subjects that people might seek out later for research
  • Connect the book to any cliche's, rationalizations or stereotypes that are relevant
  • Research the main demographic of people that have abundantly purchased the book you reviewed or books in similar genres/categories and use targeted keywords and keyphrases that they commonly use when searching for information
  • List the price range and direct price of the book you review, as well as using keyphrases like "books for less than $xx" or "books about xxxx xxxx for less than $xx".

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • BizGenGirl profile imageAUTHOR

    CapriCookie 

    6 years ago from Lake Stevens

    Awww! you are so sweet Millionaire Tips! Thanks for the HubLOVE =)

  • suzzycue profile image

    Susan Britton 

    6 years ago from Ontario, Canada

    Bizgengirl thanks for taking the time to write about keyword phrases. I had no idea that we could group words together for keywords. Yes I am still green around the edges but I am learning through Hubpages and hubbers like you. Thanks again. Keep writing I appreciate the help.

  • Cyndi10 profile image

    Cynthia B Turner 

    6 years ago from Georgia

    Hello Bizgengirl, I read your article after seeing the suggestion for reading in Millionaire Tips' article. He was right. This is great information to consider when writing a review. I thought I had the keywords covered, but you gave me suggestions for drilling down even further. Well done!

  • Millionaire Tips profile image

    Shasta Matova 

    6 years ago from USA

    I really appreciate that you took the time to explain keywords for me. There was a lot I was missing. I have included this hub in the list of my favorite hubs for the month.

    https://hubpages.com/community/My-Favorite-Hubs-Th...

  • Millionaire Tips profile image

    Shasta Matova 

    6 years ago from USA

    Wow, I am so glad I asked. I was missing the date on my newer books, but much more importantly, you have helped me figure out how to use keywords. People say to use them, but this concrete example really helps me know how to use them. Voted up and bookmarking.

  • Silwen profile image

    Silwen 

    6 years ago from Europe

    Thank you. Very useful tips. At the moment I am planing to write a review on 1984 by George Orwell in one of my blogs, so your tips came strictly in time.

  • elnavann profile image

    elnavann 

    6 years ago from South Africa

    Thanks - this was interesting. I intend to do some book reviews and would probably just have jumped in and started and your article made me think a little more about how to reach the audience

  • Gladys Familaran profile image

    Gladys Familaran 

    6 years ago

    Bizgengirl, this is very useful. Thanks for posting this. I was planning to write a book review but didn't know where to start. Now I have an idea. Thanks to you. :)

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)