ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Aprilynne Pike's Wings Series - A Review

Updated on February 3, 2014

Ok, so I'm writing a review about the whole Wings series, and I'm a guy. Now before you start raising eyebrows at me, just note that I don't like romance novels, and is definitely not the reason I liked this book by Aprilynne Pike. While I do believe this book was written more for a female audience, it had just enough action and suspense that I appreciated it also.

The story starts out with Laurel just beginning her first day at a public school. Being homeschooled all her life up to this point, Laurel understandably would rather not go. However she meets David and they quickly become great friends, and school begins to feel a little easier to bear. Throughout the first half of the book, it is obvious that Laurel is something different from the subtle hints the author shares. For example, she doesn't get hungry very often, and when she does eat, it's usually some fruit or vegetable accompanied sometimes with a sprite. Also, she doesn't feel comfortable inside, and prefers to sit by the windows where natural light comes through.

Then she starts getting a strange bump on her back, which in a few days turns into a beautiful flower. Of course, Laurel is horrified and hides it from everyone, however she soon feels the need to tell somebody and so finally tell her boyfriend David. Afterward, when she returns to the land where she grew up, she is approached by another of her kind (Tamini) who tells her what she really is, a fairy.

What are these fairies?

I won't go into details about them so I won't destroy the excitement of discovering the world this author has created, but just to avoid some disappointments, I will tell you that the fairies in Aprilynne's books aren't really like the fairies we see in the movies and common folklore.

For instance Laurel can't fly like tinkerbell, nor is she quite as small either. In fact, the "wings" behind her back is really a flower, which is how they reproduce, and they can live quite normally around humans without arousing any suspicions. However, like tinkerbell, the fairies can still do some magic. But enough told, you'll have to discover the rest for yourself. Hope you have a happy time reading!

This book reminds me of...

This series reminds me very much of the Twilight series. No, they don't have vampires and werewolves. And Laurel isn't this normal lady (like Bella) who falls in love with a supernatural being (she herself isn't human, and falls in love with a human). But the whole series follows a very similar plotline as Twilight, and I think anyone who read both series will agree with me.

Wings is also like Twilight in one other way I deem important, Wings a book that I think both genders will love. Like I said before, it has enough action, (especially the last book, Destined) to keep guys enthused also, especially if their book worms like me! With that being said, I don't think I liked the book quite a much as my sister. She read the whole series in four days, but it took me 4 weeks to complete the series myself!

Here are the other four books of the series...

This is the section where you can write either your own review of the Wings Series or just write down your thought about this book and article. Just so you know, I've allowed html in the comment section, so you can bold or italicize or link to a relevant page of your own. However, please don't abuse this, because I do approve comments before they appear and will remove html if it becomes to much of a problem, Thanks for your understanding!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Arachnea profile image

      Tanya Jones 

      4 years ago from Texas USA

      It speaks well of the author that readers outside of their target audience enjoy the book. Saw your book review post in the forum. Thought I'd stop by. Great review of the book.

    • WriterJanis2 profile image

      WriterJanis2 

      4 years ago

      This sounds like a series my daughter would enjoy.

    • takkhisa profile image

      Takkhis 

      4 years ago

      It is an interesting review! I would like to read this series.

    • profile image

      GrammieOlivia 

      4 years ago

      I haven't heard of this series either, am I living under a rock? I will have to check it out and let you know how I like it! Thanks for the review.

    • profile image

      sabaz 

      4 years ago

      It's totally new to me,i wish i can start reading right now.

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      Well done lens. I'd never heard of this one, but I'll check it out now that i've read your review.

    • Zeross4 profile image

      Renee Dixon 

      4 years ago from Kentucky

      I've never heard of this series but it looks great! I'll have to check and see if our library has it -will be going there later :) Thanks!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)