jump to last post 1-4 of 4 discussions (7 posts)

How does a writer keep his/her materials in order?

1. Sparklea profile image75
    Sparkleaposted 4 years ago

How does a writer keep his/her materials in order?

What does a writer do with all the paperwork, journals, folders and notes he/she has accumulated over the years when trying to declutter?

2. profile image0
    sheilamyersposted 4 years ago

I have one file drawer for all of the paperwork such as tax forms, ledgers, and copyright papers. I have one notebook with all of the general information about my novels and ideas for plots, etc. Since I don't do all of my rough drafts on the computer, I have notebooks with all of my manuscripts and put them on a shelf. As a writer, I'm so afraid I'll throw away a scrap of paper I had ideas written on and then wish I still had them later so I keep almost everything. My suggestion for a way to declutter without throwing things away is to get a couple of good file cabinets and organize everything in that smaller space. If you're not as paranoid as me about the computer dying and losing everything, most files can be scanned and saved there.

Sparkleaposted 4 years agoin reply to this

sheilamyers; I SO appreciate your suggestions, and I also worry about throwing away good ideas.  I will revamp my 2 file cabinets...a lot in them I do not need!  I welcome any and all suggestions!  Blessings, Sparklea ;0

3. profile image0
    delleaposted 4 years ago