ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Gothic Romance The Cougar

Updated on December 3, 2014

The Cougar is a Gothic romance novel in the tradition of Mary Shelley or Edgar Allen Poe. I wrote it myself and recently published it on kindle for the first time. It is also available in paperback and I hope one day to see it in stores. Normally I write on musical subjects and I also love to write poetry, so the world of fiction is a new thing for me.

What I wanted to do here was to share my love and enthusiasm for British Columbia and its beautiful scenery in the context of a fun book. It is a novel for adults because of its subject matter, it is not pornographic but it is sexually explicit in places. These scenes are essential to the story in a way that the scenes in Lady Chatterley's Lover are but they are not the be all and end all of the tale.

When I wrote this, it was in the context of four decades or reading horror fiction and watching horror movies and my vampires are different. They are not evil killers, nor do they have to kill to survive, but there are some scenes of violence obviously. What I wanted to do here was to tell a different story, to pose some moral questions in a lighthearted way and though I hope this is a tale that can be enjoyed without deep thought or struggling with deep concepts it does ask some questions about self-acceptance.

For instance, coming out is always hard. As Ash Beckham so eloquently says, there is no harder - there is only hard - and the closet is no place to live. Whether the closet is telling someone you love that you are gay, bankrupt, pregnant, suffering from cancer or even - as in Raffaelo's case - that you are a vampire you are still better out than in. In this novel the characters all have their own closet. Owen can't commit to one woman and doesn't want children, Angela is bisexual and Owen's abuse brings her out of denial, Berenice is over five hundred years old and still in mourning for her dead husband, Ingrid is a transexual woman on the rebound from an unhappy break-up with her ex, Raffaelo is a vampire pretending to be a normal man and these secrets hang heavily between the characters as the story flits from Renaissance Italy to modern British Columbia.

Finally, as a poet I wanted to describe some of the things I know and find beautiful in this world. My hope is to have written a story that is certainly dark but is not sickeningly horrific. One that has an ending that will leave more questions in your mind. A tale that adults can enjoy however they identify.... A big ask? Only the reader can tell me.

It is available to borrow free if you are an Amazon Prime member and with the new subscription service, Kindle Unlimited, or to buy if you prefer.

More vampire stories!

I would be lying if I didn't admit these stories had some influence on my writing.

The Hunger
The Hunger

I love this film. I admit to having mentally cast Catherine Deneuve in my head as Berenice. If only she were eternally young!

 
Twilight Forever: The Complete Saga [DVD + Digital]
Twilight Forever: The Complete Saga [DVD + Digital]

My vampires are not the first to be "goodies" Twilight got there first! I love this series too.

 

There are scenes in my book involving bears. In one case which is loosely based on my own experience, Berenice and Angela are canoeing on Lake Alouette, the bear is simply heard "woofing" in the undergrowth and there is no interaction. There is also a bear attack in my story. Now black bear attacks are actually pretty rare, but they do occur and I did a fair bit of research on predatory bear attacks on government websites as well as checking some videos out. The consensus is that black bear attacks are in the main defensive and "bluff charges" - but not always! An offensive attack can occur and hikers and campers should always be "bear aware".

Video trailer for The Cougar

This is NOT a ferocious bear attack. This is a defensive charge. The men sneak onto his territory to hunt deer. No attack was meant and there was no need for any action. I am just grateful they didn't shoot the bear!

This is a documentary involving a predatory attack. The bear chooses the weaker target and sneaks up on her. There is no charge or vocalisation.

These people are watching the bear from (I think) up a tree. This is not generally a safe thing to do. The bear paws the ground and woofs, he makes several bluff charges, but this is not an offensive attack.

A study of black bear fatalities by the University of Calgary. The bears to watch out for are the quiet ones that follow you, not the ones that warn you with noise and displays. Basically about two people a year are killed by black bears, this study is intended to help people understand what is going on and how to avoid attacks.

Watch how fast this 500 pound bear climbs a tree! If you are the victim of a predatory attack, climbing a tree will not work.

Well, basically if you enjoy a good adventure yarn tinged with history, some action, a lot of imagination, a little violence and you don't mind reading love scenes that are explicit you might well enjoy my book. If you don't approve of LGBT issues, then I would steer clear of it. Ultimately, it is your choice whether or not to buy, but you can borrow it for free if you have Amazon Prime. (I do, and it not only allows me to borrow books for free, but saves me a lot of shipping charges!)

© 2013 Lisa Marie Gabriel

Like what you have seen so far? I hope so, and I hope you will enjoy my novel too! Thank you for visiting!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • LisaMarieGabriel profile image
      Author

      Lisa Marie Gabriel 3 years ago from United Kingdom

      @paulahite: Thank you Paula, which one is that? I will go check the others, but mine is public.

    • paulahite profile image

      Paula Hite 3 years ago from Virginia

      FYI, your video is listed as private and cannot be accessed...

    • Arachnea profile image

      Tanya Jones 3 years ago from Texas USA

      Congrats on the new release. I checked it out on BN for the pub date and to see if it's available in a Nook version. I hope to get it in trad binding at some future date as it looks like an interesting read.

    • Richard-H profile image

      Richard 4 years ago from Surrey, United Kingdom

      Wishing you every success with the novel!

    • ayannavenus profile image

      ayannavenus 4 years ago

      Congratulations wow! Will be downloading on kindle ;)

    • MelanieKaren profile image

      Melanie Wilcox 4 years ago from Pennsylvania, USA

      This all sounds so fantastic! My goodness, congratulations :) :) I've bookmarked this page so I can come back to it. I'd like to get your book.

    • LisaMarieGabriel profile image
      Author

      Lisa Marie Gabriel 4 years ago from United Kingdom

      @ecogranny: Thank you. :) I love that word chutzpah too!

    • LisaMarieGabriel profile image
      Author

      Lisa Marie Gabriel 4 years ago from United Kingdom

      @tonyleather: That's fine Tony. We are not all the same and tastes are bound to be different in books :)

    • profile image

      tonyleather 4 years ago

      Not my type of book I'm afraid!

    • ecogranny profile image

      Kathryn Grace 4 years ago from San Francisco

      I'm not generally a vampire story lover or gothic story lover, but I'm intrigued by your book because of the social issues you tackled and because you are a sister Squid with such courage and chutzpah. Thank you for sharing this and I will add it to my reading list. Good luck with your paperback publication!