ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing

Hunger Games Trilogy

Updated on December 2, 2015

Trilogy of Hunger Games

Hunger Games Trilogy is a young adult adventure series written by Suzanne Collins. The three titled books in this set are Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay. These books can be bought in a series, separately either paperback or hardcover or as eBooks for a Kindle or Nook.

I didn't read this until March of this year 2012 when the movie was coming out. I was about 4 chapters into the first book when I ended up going to the Hunger Games movie. This wasn't a normal read for me but I wanted to try something new and I'd heard so much about this series. After seeing the movie I was even more enthused to finish reading the Hunger Games book because I knew there would be even more details to the story. The plot is tense, suspenseful, provoking, imaginative and heartwarming. I couldn't put it down till it was finished. I couldn't wait to start reading the second book Catching Fire and then the last book Mockingjay. I read all three of these book on my Kindle Fire and they were totally awesome. Don't miss out!

Photo by In Lost Lands

Hunger Games Trilogy - They are stunning, gripping, and powerful!


Suzanne Collins, Author

Hunger Games Trilogy

Suzanne Collins writes sci-fi fantasy for middle school age kids. She explores the effects of the war and violence of those coming of age in her novels. Her recent bestselling trilogy Hunger Games has been a big hit; even the first book in the series has been made into a movie. Her first series she wrote was the Under land Chronicles which was a huge success as well. It has 5 books in that series. She has won #1 debuts with several different magazine publishers for her bestselling series.

Hunger Games

Published September 2008

Hunger Games is the first in the series.

The first book is where the Hunger Game events start. A hunger game is a televised event. It is the 74th annual event where one boy and one girl who are between the ages of 12-18 years old are chosen to represent there district to fight the death battle. This event is ordered by the Capital's President Snow. There are 13 districts in all but only 12 districts participate.

When Prim who is 12 years old is chosen by lottery; her sister Katniss Everdeen volunteer's in her place to save her. Katniss and Peeta Mellark the boy who is selected are both 16. They will represent District 12 where they live in the nation of Panem. There is much concern for being in the end of civilization because of a nuclear catastrophe that is taking place due to the capitals political control. Katniss and Peeta take their place on the stage. The Hunger Game events begin. This is where it begins for Katniss who becomes the girl on fire and for Peeta where he demonstrates the love he has for Katniss.

Rue's Lullaby

Catching Fire

Published September 2009

Catching Fire is the second in the series.

Catching Fire continues the story of the first book in this series. Not only did one tribute survive but two did; both from District 12. Just when Katniss and Peeta thought they'd won the survival of the game they are both ordered back to the arena for round two. President Snow has doubts there love is truly real which saved them the first time around. Now both must show they are totally lost in each others love to survive more of the horrific events they experienced from the first survival of the game.

Will they be able to show there undying love is real for each other to survive again?

Catching Fire Book - Book 2

Catching Fire Quotes


Published August 2010

Mockingjay is the third and final book in the series.

In the final book the Mockingjay, the story continues where Katniss Everdeen who has survived both Hunger Game events is now a refugee of District 13. A district to be believed that no longer existed that has the power of nuclear weapons. Peeta is thought to not have survived. Katniss is injured by the experiences she went through with both hunger game events. She is appalled by the turning events of the existence of District 13. In the end she agrees to help lead the new rebels into an uprising between the Capital and President Snow.

How successful will the outcome be for Katniss in the end?

Mockingjay Book - Book 3

Mockingjay Book Review

May The Odds Be In Your Favor!

~Hunger Games~

Hunger Games Trilogy Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Jerzimom profile image

      Cheryl Fay Mikesell 4 years ago from Ladysmith, WI

      @Rodaussie: It is a awesome trilogy. The movie is great. Can't wait for next one to come out this Fall. Enjoy the books if you read them. Thanks for the blessings.

    • Rodaussie profile image

      Rodaussie 4 years ago

      I've never read the book or watch the movie but this lens make me feel like reading it... Thanks for sharing... blessed!!!