ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Nora Roberts Book Reviews

Updated on March 13, 2012

Nora Roberts, Historical Romance Writer

Nora Roberts is one of my most favorite historical romance writers. I love reading her books they keep you on your toes trying to figure out who did what. You usually don't figure out who did it and why until you get to to the end of the book. She is the bestselling American author of over 209 romance novels under the names of J. D. Robb, Jill Marsh and Nora Roberts. I didn't know about the Jill Marsh until I read the Wikipedia article on her. She also published in the UK under the pseudonym of Sarah Hardesty. She was the first writer to be inducted into the "Romance Writers of America" Hall of Fame.

In this lens, I will be writing book reviews of the books that I have read that she has written. This should be great fun. As I read a new book, I will write the review for that book on this lens.

Check Out The Books - Nora Roberts Has To Offer

Devine Evil - By Nora Roberts

Divine Evil: A Novel
Divine Evil: A Novel

This book was really suspenseful. Clare Kimball, a sculptor, is depressed and having nightmares. She returns to her home town hoping to solve the nightmares and the depression. There she starts creating some of her best work ever. Weird things start happening and, of course, there is love in the air. See if you can figure out who did what. I would guess as I went along as to who was doing the weird stuff but my guesses were always wrong. You won't find out who until the very, very end of the book.

I give this book a definite thumbs up.

 

Key Trilogy - by Nora Roberts

Key of light / Key of Knowledge / Key of Valor (Key Trilogy)
Key of light / Key of Knowledge / Key of Valor (Key Trilogy)

I read this set of books a long time ago. I had originally only bought the first book and was very upset to find that didn't have the whole story. Each book is a standalone story but all together they are great. Three different women are brought together for a dinner party. They do not know each other and each comes from a different type of life. Each one of these women had one thing in common...they had fallen on hard times. They are offered $25,000 each to search for the keys to save a mystical world and if they find all 3 keys will receive a million dollars. Each book follows one of the women on their search for the keys.

Again, I give this series of books a thumbs up. I loved following the plot as each of them looked for their key and found romance as well.

 

Angels Fall - By Nora Roberts

Angels Fall
Angels Fall

This book takes place after Reece Gilmore, an aspiring chef, has had a traumatic two years. She is trying to put her life back together and stops in a little town in Wyoming for a little while to get her car fixed and earn some more funds so that she can continue her trip. She is trying to find herself and redefine her life. While in this town, she finds a job as a cook in a local diner, falls in love and goes through a series of incidences that could put her in the mental hospital again. By the way, there is a murder in this story. Of course, you won't find out who it is until the very end of the book.

I love the way this books goes through and gives her a friend and lover that supports her no matter what happens. This is what every woman needs whether they have been through traumas or not.

 

Tribute - By Nora Roberts

Tribute
Tribute

Cilla McGowan, a restorer of houses, was once a child star. She buys her grandma's house from her mother who was letting it go to ruin. She moves into the house with no furniture and sets about fixing up the house. Some of the work is restoring what was but she is also putting her imprint on the house. The house sounds really cool as she is fixing it up. I would have really loved to have seen pictures of the house as it was being fixed up as the word pictures are so vivid. Her grandmother was supposed to have committed suicide and she can't come to terms with that. Throughout the book, you will get little glimpses from the past of her grandmother, her mother and her. There is a love angle, of course, in this book; otherwise, it wouldn't be a romance novel. Again, unexplained incidences start happening that the local police cannot seem to pinpoint the cause. See if you can figure out who was doing all the damage in the story.

Great book. I would recommend it to anyone who loves romance novels, historical novels or even just novels by Nora Roberts.

 

Vision in White - by Nora Roberts

Vision in White (Bride (Nora Roberts) Series)
Vision in White (Bride (Nora Roberts) Series)

I am just now reading this book but will give you a review once I have read it.

UPDATE Feb 12, 2012: I finished the book. I sat and read it almost straight through. I could not put the book down.

This book is about a company that is formed by four friends that grew up together. They called the company VOWS. They run a bridal company. Each friend runs a different type of company needed for brides (photography, catering, flowers and running the whole thing).

At the end of the book, she gives you chapter one of the next book. I have already read that and can't wait to find that book now. This is a series of 4 books. From the looks of it, each book talks about each of the members of the VOWS team much like Keys did.

 

Irish Born - By Nora Roberts

Irish Born (Irish Born Trilogy)
Irish Born (Irish Born Trilogy)

This book is about 2 Irish sisters that grew up together and 1 sister that they find out about. Each has their own fantastic abilities and it show how they learn to share these abilities with the world through a man who owns a wonderful art gallery. These books are so great that I could not put the book down. Even if you have to read each of the books separately, they are a must read.

 

Videos About And By Nora Roberts - Check out these videos

As I was going through Youtube looking for videos about Nora Roberts' books, I came across some interviews and videos by Nora Roberts herself. Of course, I had to add these to the mix. What better than to hear from the author herself about her writing.

Last Honest Woman - By Nora Roberts

The Last Honest Woman
The Last Honest Woman

I read this book a while back but had forgotten that I had read it. When I was listing the books that I had read in my GoodReads account, I saw that and it keep saying I had read it. I looked up the description and found out that I had. It was a very good book. The writer wants to write the biography of the main character's dead race car driver husband. The woman really doesn't want the book written because she doesn't want to tell all for the writer. She wants everyone to remember her husband as they thought he was. Does she tell all? You need to read the story to find out.

 

I love getting comments from my readers either good or bad. It shows me that someone is stopping by and reading my articles. If it is bad, then I will correct the fault.

Do You Love Nora Roberts Books? - Let me know why you do or do not love her books

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      5 years ago

      @SandyMertens: Thank you for your comment. Just got TV again after many years. Maybe I can find some of those to watch.

    • SandyMertens profile image

      Sandy Mertens 

      5 years ago from Frozen Tundra

      I don't read romance novels like I use to. But I have read a couple of Nora Robert's books. Mostly I have watched many of the made for TV movies on Lifetime.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @gloryhotelhoian: I hope to be adding some more pretty soon. I am reading a trilogy now but can't find the last book. I know I have it here somewhere. LOL

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @ncomputingvietnam: Thank you.

    • profile image

      ncomputingvietnam 

      6 years ago

      Very well. Thank

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @anonymous: I just read my first book written as JB Robb, "Divided in Death". I loved it. I will be getting more of them. I will be writing a review about this in the near future.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @accfuller: You are welcome. There are more reviews to come

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      6 years ago

      I especially like all her books about Dallas Eve that she writes under the name JB Robb.

    • accfuller profile image

      accfuller 

      6 years ago

      I've read some Nora Roberts, and I do like her. Thanks for the reviews!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @StaCslns: You are most welcome. Reading the Irish Born right now. Finished first book and working on second.

    • profile image

      StaCslns 

      6 years ago

      My mother got me hooked on Nora Roberts! I just love the way she writes! Thanks for this lens, it made me think of her... (heart shaped emoticon here)

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @music226: Thank you for the compliment to my lens.

    • profile image

      music226 

      6 years ago

      Awesome lens!

      I'm new to Squidoo, and I just published my first lens! I would really help me out if you checked it out. It is:

      http://www.squidoo.com/feel-the-beat

      Thanks, I would really appreciate some views. :)

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @MoonMaa: Thank you, Moon. Hope to be adding more to it soon.

    • MoonMaa profile image

      MoonMaa 

      6 years ago

      Very nice lens!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @Jillynn: Thank you, Jillynn. And, you are welcome. Hope to have more to come.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @LewesDE: Thank you.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @LewesDE: Thank you. If you have any problems, don't be afraid to ask me for some help.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @peachplanet: Yes, she is a great writer. Thank you for the compliment, peach.

    • Jillynn profile image

      Jillynn 

      6 years ago

      Great lens. Thanks.

    • LewesDE profile image

      LewesDE 

      6 years ago

      Awesome lens!

    • LewesDE profile image

      LewesDE 

      6 years ago

      I hope to make my first lens as good as this one!

    • peachplanet profile image

      peachplanet 

      6 years ago

      great writer! job well done on this lens!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @curious0927: Thank you for your lovely comment and the blessing, curious. I think I am going to add a voting module onto this article also so that we can see which book the readers love the most.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @bead at home mom: Thank you, Teriann. I think people love to hear how you liked the books you read. I am going to do more of these reviews for the authors that I love. May as well pass on the love of book reading to others.

    • profile image

      dealnation 

      6 years ago

      Keep up the good work!

    • curious0927 profile image

      curious0927 

      6 years ago

      An avid reader all my life, I needed to be reminded about Nora. She is one of the best female Author's who writes page turners that are not sappy or the same thing over and over like some other's I've read! Great Lens! Blessed!

    • bead at home mom profile image

      Teri Hansen 

      6 years ago

      Hey congrats on making the front page today of Squidoo with this lens! Great reviews, I may have to give a try.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @dealnation: Thank you

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @resabi: You are welcome for the reviews. I need to see if I can find some more of her books under her other names so that I can review them, too.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @waterlily78: I still need to get the other 3 books in the series. My MIL just finished reading Vision in White and is awaiting my getting the other books, too.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @Dmarieinspires: Thank you. I love reading and sharing what I read. I have to look at the list of books under JD Robb and see if I have read any of those.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @flicker lm: Thank you for the compliment. As I told Jean, I plan to write more reviews on other authors and their books to share my love of reading.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @JeanJohnson LM: Great to hear, Jean. I plan to do the same thing with some of the other authors I read.

    • profile image

      resabi 

      6 years ago

      I'm a fan of Nora Roberts. Have read quite a few of them, over time. I pretty much automatically preorder the next one, now. Thanks for the reviews and the lens. She's a good read. Very fond of the J.D. Robb books also. Like you, I didn't know about Jill Marsh, so thanks for that also.

    • waterlily78 profile image

      waterlily78 

      6 years ago

      I'm reading Vision in White right now... already read it once, but now that I have all four of the Bride Quartet, I'm starting over and reading in sequence. :)

    • Dmarieinspires profile image

      Dana Marie 

      6 years ago from St. Peters, MO

      Love her and aka JD Robb - great writing! thanks for sharing

    • flicker lm profile image

      flicker lm 

      6 years ago

      I haven't read any of Nora Roberts books, but enjoyed reading your reviews. Congrats on being on the Squidoo front page!

    • JeanJohnson LM profile image

      JeanJohnson LM 

      6 years ago

      Nora Roberts is in my "to read" list. I have a couple of her books and look forward to starting them soon. thank you.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @elaolaru: Glad your MIL gave you the books to read. I love to read them to get away from everyday life.

    • elaolaru profile image

      elaolaru 

      6 years ago

      My mother-in-law gave to me 3 of her books, as a present, and they are soo candid and sweet and they go right to the heart. I'll be reading more of her books, for sure!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @anonymous: Thank you, Tipi. I didn't even realize it had reached there.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      6 years ago

      How exciting to have your Nora Roberts Book Reviews featured on Squidoo's front page, congratulations!

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @dahlia369: I'm working on Nora Roberts. Just have to get the books. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.

    • dahlia369 profile image

      dahlia369 

      6 years ago

      I'm like that, too. After discovering an author that resonates with me, I like to read all of their books! :)

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @anonymous: I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      6 years ago

      Enjoyed my visit this morning and reading this.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @Edutopia: Wow! That is great. I have quite a few but can't find them right now as we moved so am only able to read the ones from our public library. They don't seem to have the full sets though.

    • profile image

      Edutopia 

      6 years ago

      Nora Roberts is a favorite of my mom. She has a bookshelf pretty much dedicated at this point to Robert's books.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @getmoreinfo: Oh, I love having a book that keeps me guessing as to who did what. Nora Roberts definitely does that. I love a book that I don't have to force myself to finish reading.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @LeopoldBlatt: You are very welcome. I just happened to think just recently that others might like to know about the type of books and authors I read and what I thought about them. This way they could get a glimpse of how the author wrote.

    • profile image

      getmoreinfo 

      6 years ago

      I have read several of nora roberts books and like you mentioned I like the storyline and if it is hard to figure out it keeps my attention and motivates me to finish reading the book.

    • LeopoldBlatt profile image

      LeopoldBlatt 

      6 years ago

      Nice lens, I have to confess that I had not heard of Nora Roberts before reading your piece, but I will look out for one of her books now. Thank you.

    • Grandma-Marilyn profile imageAUTHOR

      Grandma-Marilyn 

      6 years ago

      @OhMe: You are welcome. I have my MIL reading them, too. She needs a book to read at the Long Term Acute Care Facility and that is what I have available. LOL

    • OhMe profile image

      Nancy Tate Hellams 

      6 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      I used to read Nora Roberts but haven't in awhile. You reminded me that I enjoyed reading her books. Thanks.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)