ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

Revenge of the Vegetarian Review

Updated on April 13, 2015

Hilarious Book That Even a Meat Eater Can Enjoy

Revenge of the Vegetarian Book

The Revenge of the Vegetarian by Jim Tilberry with Patricia Van Winkle is a hilarious tongue in cheek book. This book is only 70 pages long, but ideal for short attention spans. Every page is worth its weight in veggies.

To make it clear, this is a review and my payment is a wonderful book that I could not put down. As a meat eater, I could not stop laughing. Even though he called people like me a "soulless Neanderthal."

Tilberry has a weird and wacky style of writing and makes fun of everyone. Vegetarians, vegans, meat eaters, republicans, democrats and vegocrats, alike are poked fun at with his off the wall sense of humor.

Photo Credit: From the Revenge of the Vegetarian book cover and available on Amazon.

Mock Duck

Fiction, Truth and Informative

Try Some Vegetarian Mock Duck made with Seitan

Revenge of the Vegetarian fits right up there with my own oddball sense of humor. It is a lighthearted book of fiction, but it also has a lot of truth to what it is like being a vegetarian. How people misunderstand the vegetarian food pyramid as being bland. Wait a minute...it is bland! Read the book yourself and see the drawing of the food pyramid.

Within the book is a list of 10 great reasons to become a vegetarian. One of my favorites from that list is "4. Show off your vocabulary." Impress a meat eater to show how smart you are with big words like "monounsaturated," "phytochemicals," and "isoflavones" and being able to pronoun them, even though you may not know their meanings. Personally, I know the meanings of these words, but with my thick tongue (maybe because it lacks exercise), trips on words like those. Other words like "tempeh" and "seitan" requires looking up.

Tempeh: This product made from whole soybeans that go through a fermentation process that binds the beans together in a cake form, used mainly in meat substitute dishes and has the firmness of vegetarian burgers.

Seitan: This is an impressive vegetarian word for wheat gluten, also called wheat meat or just gluten. This is the main protein of wheat, made by washing the wheat flour dough in water until it becomes an elastic type texture, and cooked before eating. Seitan is another meat substitute for vegetarian variety.

Photo Credit: Wikimedia Commons (Vegetarian Mock Duck looks yummy!)

My Own Experience with Vegetarianism

I Know a Vegetarian T-Shirt
I Know a Vegetarian T-Shirt

My Experience as a Lacto Vegetarian

Personally, I have gone a month to several months without eating any type of meat, though I love my dairy products and will never give those up. It was not that hard (except for those Papa Burger dreams) and I can see myself going back to just eating food from the ground, plus dairy products. This would make me a Lacto Vegetarian.

Truthfully having a meat meal one or two times a week for me is quite common. I have made main course meals of steam vegetables and salads. Therefore, when I was on the Akins plan, I still did not eat a lot of red meat. However, after a while, I did not want to see another can of tuna fish or avocados. Even now, according to Tilberry's book, I am a Pesco Pollo Vegetarian with an occasional fall off to something that moos, but cooked very well done!

I have met many vegetarians and vegans. Many social network friends of mine have gone "V". My daughter has friends that are both of these. Therefore, that would qualify me as an expert on the veggie people.

Photo Credit: I Know a Vegetarian T-Shirt - Available on Zazzle here

Embrace Your Psychic

Patricia Van Winkle - Sidekick

Because Jim Tilberry is hard of hearing, he thought he hired a sidekick to collaborate on his book. Instead, he hired, Patricia Van Winkle who is a physic. She takes on an amusing part in this book with interviews of famous dead vegetarians, animals who swear off meat and a vegetarian horoscope.

This book is full of information from definitions, what you can eat, Q&A and towards the back of the book it has 20 questions to test your veggie knowledge with this educational quiz.

Revenge of the Vegetarian is now available on Amazon.com as a Kindle eBook and paperback.

More Vegetarian Books

Writer for Hire

I have been writing articles since 2008. If you enjoyed this article my services are available to write for you. Please contact me for more information. sandy@sandyspider.com

© 2012 Sandy Mertens

Read the Book and Tell Me What You Think - Thanks for your comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • ReviewsfromSandy profile image
      Author

      Sandy Mertens 3 years ago from Wisconsin

      LPerry60 LOL "Marco Polo".

    • LPerry60 profile image

      LPerry60 3 years ago from East Coast United States

      Pesco Pollo LOL Gosh, that reminds me of the swimming pool game I used to play as a kid :)

    • ReviewsfromSandy profile image
      Author

      Sandy Mertens 3 years ago from Wisconsin

      Thank you DzyMsLizzy for the vote up. I love my dairy products too much as well.

    • DzyMsLizzy profile image

      Liz Elias 3 years ago from Oakley, CA

      Very humorous. Personally, I'm a lacto-ovo vegetarian, but I would prefer to get off all animal products. It's tough; I like cheese too much! LOL

      Voted up+++

    • ReviewsfromSandy profile image
      Author

      Sandy Mertens 4 years ago from Wisconsin

      @David Stone1: According to the many descriptions of vegetarians, I see that I am one of them in this book.

    • David Stone1 profile image

      David Stone 4 years ago from New York City

      It's nice to see someone had some fun with these hotly debated issues, brings it down to earth when you can take a lighter look.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      sure have peaked my curiosity! I think I will :0)

    • Kumar P S profile image

      Kumar P S 5 years ago

      Interesting ! Thanks for sharing.

    • profile image

      milky-way-35977 5 years ago

      great vegie things, long live vegie

    • profile image

      Ruthi 5 years ago

      Great review of a hilarious vegetarian view! I just received Revenge of the Vegetarian for review too!

    • PaulWinter profile image

      PaulWinter 5 years ago

      So there are vegetarians who have a sense of humour after all! ;0)

    • Michey LM profile image

      Michey LM 5 years ago

      Funny lens Thanks

    • OhMe profile image

      Nancy Tate Hellams 5 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      Great book review of Revenge of the Vegetarian. It sounds so funny. Thanks for sharing.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)