ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

The Morland Dynasty- Historical Fiction At It's Best

Updated on March 4, 2015
Joanna14 profile image

Christine, a wife, mother and homemaker for over 30 years, has an NVQ3 in Childcare & Education & loves cooking, music, health & nutrition.

The Morland Dynasty

The author not only provides a valuable source of information, but a riveting must-read account of a fictional family who experience not only everyday family life drama, but also survive the major events in English history. In so doing, the reader learns how people would have lived in those times, spanning from Medieval England right up to the beginning of World War 2.

I never really enjoyed the history I learned at school, but have to admit to being very inquisitive about how people lived before my time. I loved these historical fiction books because they gave me a broad insight into what they wore, what they ate, how they traveled, how they interacted with their servants and much more. It includes their reactions to important historical landmarks that leave us wondering how we would have reacted if we had been there. Well, the author so draws you in with her compelling details, that you feel as if you were there and are left wanting more. I cried many a tear as I read and for some time there was always the next book, when I wanted to find out what happened next and she still keeps them coming.

The original plan was only for 12 books, but due to their popularity, she kept including more and more material, until it turned into this large series of 35 books ( and who knows how many more)!

The Founding is the first, set in Medieval England around 1434 and includes details of the famous War Of The Roses and the reign of King Richard lll. It is full of ambition, romance and intrigue.
The second book is The Dark Rose, that begins in 1501 and includes the Morland family's involvement in the courts of King Henry Vlll.
The third book, The Princeling, begins in 1558 and the story takes place around the reign of Elizabeth 1st and Mary Queen Of Scots.

And so the longest family saga in literature continues, through wars, scandals and inventions.

What an exciting way to be transported through 500 years! Get the whole set if you can, for if you reach the end before Cynthia Harrod-Eagles writes more, you will be longing to revisit them!

Book 2 Of The Morland Dynasty

The Dark Rose: The Morland Dynasty, Book 2 by Harrod-Eagles, Cynthia New Edition (1981)
The Dark Rose: The Morland Dynasty, Book 2 by Harrod-Eagles, Cynthia New Edition (1981)

Visit the court of King Henry Vlll where Nanette is maid-in-waiting to Anne Boleyn, whilst Paul, her uncle, has inherited Morland Place.


Have I inspired you to read these historical fiction books?

See results

Thank you for visiting my book review page. Please leave your comments here, I love to read them!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lady Lorelei profile image

      Lorelei Cohen 2 years ago from Canada

      I had not heard of this book series which is surprising considering the number of volumes.

    • topclimb lm profile image

      topclimb lm 3 years ago

      and I thought Tolstoy's War and Peace was long..! I think, though, I am going to have to try book one of this series... Nice lens!

    • David3142 profile image

      David3142 3 years ago

      These sound like a really great series and a very original idea. Thanks for sharing.

    • profile image

      ChocolateLily 3 years ago

      Seems like an interesting series. I may look into it sometime. I like historical novels, depending on their story type. Thanks for sharing!

    • profile image

      Ibidii 3 years ago

      I have been here before and I believe I have the first book in my queue! Great review!

    • profile image

      Ibidii 3 years ago

      I love History! Looks good!