ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Fiction

Book Review: The Twentieth Wife

Updated on June 19, 2013
The Twentieth Wife by Indu Sundaresan - a beautiful narrative about the Mughal emperor and his lady-love.
The Twentieth Wife by Indu Sundaresan - a beautiful narrative about the Mughal emperor and his lady-love. | Source

About the book (My first hub)

The Twentieth Wife By Indu Sundaresan is my all-time favourite novel! This mesmerizing magnum opus takes readers on a roller coaster ride back to the 16th-17th century India at its height of Mughal monumental magnificence! The author had fashioned this melodramatic recital of clandestine and ardent romance between the dashing Mughal prince Salim, who went down the history lane as one of the most prominent Mughal emperors titled Jahangir, and the gorgeous woman named Mehrunnisa, who embarked upon an odyssey from a court-official's daughter to one of India's most powerful empresses, later known as Nurjahan; and their steady passion being entangled into a web of fate, manipulation, greed, and deceit; and their undying desires to reunite with each other, form the crux of this exotic story. This encyclopedia of intertwined facts and fiction gives readers a peep not only into the grandeur and opulence of the Mughal courts but also the spectacle of Indian culture, the richness of Mughal history and the conglomeration of politics and power.

This rollicking novel is a commanding read for historical-romance fiction aficionados!

My experience as a reader of The Twentieth Wife

A few years ago, while browsing through books in a book-store, the unusual title of this book caught my attention and I eagerly checked out its back-cover. To my excitement, I discovered that its plot is about Mughal romance in late-medieval India. I quickly purchased The Twentieth Wife and started reading it. For the next three days I was totally engrossed in this book. I relished every page of this book and read it five times! The way the author portrayed the characters, venues, emotions, events and consequences are so immaculate and realistic that it is like I am witnessing the real-life drama before me! The author has managed to lift up my imagination by executing this enchanting story in a strongly dramatic and film style. This book is not only entertaining but also taught me a great deal about how the Mughals ruled, their empire, their achievements, their traditions and customs; picturization of India in 16th-17th century; the Indian society's views and status of women in Mughal India. I am still fascinated with Mehrunnisa/Nur Jahan, the main protagonist of this story - she was a strong woman with a modern outlook and managed to break the barriers of rigid Mughal culture; and though her intentions were veiled, it became obvious that she achieved her goal of becoming an empress of India due to her consistent patience and sheer determination! The only one thing that turned me off is the Mughal political issues described in detail in this book - politics is not my cup of tea. But nevertheless, The Twentieth Wife tops the list of my most favourite novels. I recommended this book to my friends and relatives. On my recommendation, they either bought the book or borrowed this book from me and they enjoyed and cherished this priceless book as much as I did!


Indu Sundaresan - the author of the Twentieth Wife
Indu Sundaresan - the author of the Twentieth Wife | Source

About the author

Indu Sunderesan is a prolific Indian-American author whose literary work has been well received by both readers and literary critics alike. Apart from her brilliant debut novel, The Twentieth Wife, she also wrote The Feast of Roses, the much awaited and equally-well acclaimed sequel to the Twentieth Wife; The Splendour of Silence, In The Convent of Little Flowers and more recently, Shadow Princess to complete the Taj Mahal Trilogy (along with The Twentieth Wife and The Feast of Rose).

To know more of this author and her work, visit her site: www.indusundaresan.com

Source

Cast your vote in this poll

After reading this review, would you like to read this book?

See results

Awards and accolades

This debut novel earned several rave reviews from fans and literary critics alike. This novel was hailed by many prestigious publishing houses, renowned authors and the well-known press as one of the most captivating novels ever written by a debutante author. This book by Indu Sundersan won the Washington State award in 2003.

For more related information, visit indusundaresan.com

Copyrights © 2011 By Ishwaryaa Dhandapani

Other books by Indu Sundaresan

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 4 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ radhikasree: Hi, thank you for the visit & engaging comments. Please let me know after you purchased this novel. Happy Hubbing! Take care

  • radhikasree profile image

    Radhika Sreekanth 4 years ago from Mumbai,India

    Yesterday only, I saw the Bollywood movie Mughal-e-Azam that features the love story of Salim and Anarkali. Your hub on the book Twentieth Wife seems to be another melodramatic recital of Mughal period romance. I've to read this novel anyhow.

    Voted up, beautiful and interesting. Shared too.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 4 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Indian Chef: Hi, thank you for the visit and very engaging comments. Here Nurjahan may be Jahangir's last wife but she remained his most favorite wife ever! Please let me know after you read this interesting novel. Happy Hubbing! Take care

  • Indian Chef profile image

    Indian Chef 4 years ago from New Delhi India

    Beautiful review. From the title of the Hub I was thinking about wow this guy must be crazy. For most people even it is difficult to keep one wife happy, how this guy can keep 20 females happy. Jahangir was not only famous lover but also was very famous for his justice. Voting up , awesome, interesting and sharing on twitter.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 4 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Thelma Alberts: Hi, thank you for the visit & sharing your enthusiasm to read this book. This book is really riveting from the start till the end. If you are unable to find this book in book-stores, you can find it on Amazon. Please let me know after reading this book. Happy Hubbing!

  • Thelma Alberts profile image

    Thelma Alberts 4 years ago from Germany

    This is a fantastic review. This book ignites my interest. This kind of book is my cup of tea. I would love to read this in the near future. I hope I can find it in our book stores. Thanks for SHARING.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 4 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ vespawoolf: Hi, thank you not only for the visit & engaging comments but also sharing your enthusiasm to read this interesting book. Please do let me know after you read this book. Happy hubbing! Take care

  • vespawoolf profile image

    vespawoolf 4 years ago from Peru, South America

    Somehow I had missed reading your first hub! Your enthusiasm for "The Twentieth Wife" really shows. I'm going to see if it's available on the Kindle. I'm intrigued! : )

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ 2patricias: Thank you for the read and sharing your enthusiasm to read this book. This book is a page-turner and keep historical fans engrossed with its dramatic-style narration. Please let me know after you read this book. Take care

  • 2patricias profile image

    2patricias 5 years ago from Sussex by the Sea

    I've never heard of this book, and it sounds very interesting.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ rajan jolly: Hi, thank you for the visit and sharing your enthusiasm to read this book, which is a big favorite of mine. Hope you enjoy this book as much as I did. Please let me know after you read this book. Happy hubbing! Take care

  • rajan jolly profile image

    Rajan Singh Jolly 5 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

    Ishwaryaa, i haven't read this book but your fine review says it all. I'll try grabbing this book soon to get a first hand feel of the writing.

    Thanks for sharing this review.

    Voting up and interesting. Sharing it too.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ ElleBee: Thank you for the read and sharing your enthusiasm to read this book. This book is one of my top favorite books. Please let me know after you read this book. Happy hubbing! Take care

  • profile image

    ElleBee 5 years ago

    I had never heard of this book before, and it looks great! I may have to add it to my Kindle queue. I love that you wrote a good thorough review without spoilers!

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Mike Robbers: Hi, I enjoyed this novel as it kept me engrossed from the start till the end! Please let me know after you read this book. Happy hubbing! Take care

  • Mike Robbers profile image

    Mike Robbers 5 years ago from London

    Great hub! I learned something new today, thanks.

    Voted up and shared.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Mama Kim 8: Hi, thank you not only for the visit and for your encouraging comments but also sharing your enthusiasm to read this book. This book is indeed a page-turner and is still on the top of my favorite books-list. Please let me know after you read this book. Happy hubbing! Take care

  • Mama Kim 8 profile image

    Sasha Kim 5 years ago

    I've never heard of this book before but now I can't wait to read it! This sounds like a great book and I just love period pieces. Thank you for bringing this great sounding book to my attention ^_^ voting your hub a bunch and sharing.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ ITcoach: Hi, thank you for the read and for your engaging comments. This book is a real page-turner. Hope you enjoy this book like I did. Take care

  • ITcoach profile image

    ITcoach 5 years ago from United States

    ishwaryaa22

    A nice hub topic you picked, The romantic life by the mughal Emperor always inspired me more and more about the stuff to read about them. I will feel happy to see this type of more stuff.

    voted and liked your stuff.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ remaniki: Hi, thank you for the visit & for your encouraging comments. This book is indeed a page-turner! Hope you enjoy this book as much as I did! Take care

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ tammyswallow: Hi, thank you for the visit & for your encouraging comments. Please let me know after you read this book. Take care

  • remaniki profile image

    Rema T V 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    Hi Ishwaryaa,

    Great review. Looks like a very interesting read. Hope to read it sometime in the future though not immediately. Thanks. Cheers, Rema.

  • tammyswallow profile image

    Tammy 5 years ago from North Carolina

    This is a great review. I would love to read this book. I find your culture fascinating. This is great for a first hub!

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ unknown spy: Hi, thank you for the read and for your encouraging comments. Please let me know after you read this book. I am sure that you enjoy reading this book as much as I did. Take care

  • unknown spy profile image

    IAmForbidden 5 years ago from Neverland - where children never grow up.

    i love how you write this review..makes a reader want to read this book! the title is very clever!

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Dolores Monet: Hi, thank you for the read and for your encouraging comments. This book is a real page-turner! If you are interested in historical fiction, then this book is highly recommended. Please let me know after you read this book. Take care

  • Dolores Monet profile image

    Dolores Monet 5 years ago from East Coast, United States

    I love to read hubber's book reviews. Usually, if I like a hubber, what their interests are, how they write, I feel as if I will enjoy the book. Thanks for the review!

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Sally's Trove: Hi, nice to know that you love historical fiction as much as I did. This book is wonderfully-written and keeps the reader enchanted by the precise description of Mughal culture and its crisp narrative. A real page-turner! Thank you for the read and sharing your enthusiasm for purchasing this book online immediately. Please let me know after you read this book. Take care

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Vinaya Ghimire: Hi, good to know that you read and enjoyed this book like I did. Thank you for sharing your positive opinion of this book. Take care

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Sunshine625: Hi, thank you for the visit. Your comments always encourage me. I enjoyed this captivating book very much. Hope you like this book as much as I did. Please let me know after you read this book. Take care

  • Sally's Trove profile image

    Sherri 5 years ago from Southeastern Pennsylvania

    Your review prompted me to go right over to Amazon and take a look with the "Look Inside this Book" feature. I read as much as that feature allowed, and found that I wanted more! So the book's on order. I'm looking forward to learning more about India through a genre I love - historical fiction.

  • Vinaya Ghimire profile image

    Vinaya Ghimire 5 years ago from Nepal

    After reading your review, I went to read the book. Not only is the story intriguing,but the author's use of language is very beautiful.

  • Sunshine625 profile image

    Linda Bilyeu 5 years ago from Orlando, FL

    Superb review Ish. You have quite a gift of convincing your readers to read a book that you reviewed. Well done.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ snowdrops: Hi, thank you for the read & for your encouraging comments. Take care

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ rebeccamealey: Hi, nice to know that you enjoy reading historical romance as much as I did! This book is highly recommended for historical romance fans like you! Please let me know once you finish reading this book. Take care

  • snowdrops profile image

    snowdrops 5 years ago from The Second Star to the Right

    Excellent review of the movie. Very well written.

  • rebeccamealey profile image

    Rebecca Mealey 5 years ago from Northeastern Georgia, USA

    This sounds fascinating. Historical romance is one of my favorite genres. I will keep this in mind for my Summer reading.Thanks. Voted interesting and SHARED

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ molometer: Hi, this book is really captivating and keep its readers engrossed till the last page! The other books by the author are worth mentioning. This author has the unique style of writing historical stories in a lively manner. Thank you for the visit and sharing your insightful views. Take care.

  • molometer profile image

    molometer 5 years ago from United Kingdom

    These sound like a wonderful group of books to introduce us to the events of the period. It is rare for an author to have received good reviews by both readers and literary critics alike.

    That you read it 5 times is a testament to great writing.

    Thanks for sharing these novels with us.

    Awesome interesting and useful SHARING

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ barbergirl28: Hi, this is a real page-turner that you find yourself continuously reading this engrossing book till the last page! I enjoyed reading this book 5 times! My few relatives and friends liked this book a lot! Please let me know after you bought and read this book. Take care.

  • barbergirl28 profile image

    Stacy Harris 5 years ago from Hemet, Ca

    This sounds like a great book... and I love books that totally engross you to the point that you can read them over and over and still enjoy them. Glad you found a book like this that you love so much. I will definately have to check this book out! :) Thanks for the recommendation!

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ pongogirl2: Thank you for the visit and your encouraging comments. It is a crisply written and racy page turner! Hope you enjoy this book. Take care.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Neetaur: Hi. Thank you for visiting again and your encouraging comments. Hope you enjoy this book as much as I did! Take care.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Docmo: Hi. Nice to hear that you are interested in reading books. This author wrote engaging historical novels. This book is enrapturing and dramatically entertaining! Hope you enjoy this book. Please let me know after you are done with this book. I have heard of Jhumpa Lahiri and her established work, esp The Namesake. Thank you for the visit and sharing your interesting views. Take care.

  • pongogirl2 profile image

    Jasmine Pena 5 years ago from California, USA

    Sounds like a great book:) now i'm eager and courious to read it:)

  • Neetuar profile image

    Neetuar 5 years ago from India

    Nice hub...after reading your hub, now I surely want to read this book. Thanks for sharing! :)

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Nell Rose: Hi. Look like we shared similiar tastes in books. This book is a real page-turner. Full of romance, intrigue and drama! Hope you like this book. Once you finish reading this book, please let me know. Take care.

  • Docmo profile image

    Mohan Kumar 5 years ago from UK

    This is great ishwaryaa, I'm always looking to discover new authors. this is someone I haven't come across before and the book sounds interesting and highly readable. Thanks. Another Indo-american author I truly love is Jhumpa lahiri. She is sensational.

  • Nell Rose profile image

    Nell Rose 5 years ago from England

    Hi, This sounds like a wonderful book, and its also the type that I like. I am definitely going to give it a read, thanks for Sharing! votes, and shared, nell

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Global-Chica: Hi. Nice to hear that you had visited Rajasthan and liked Mughal influence on India. I too visited it and it was wonderful. I have not read Salman Rushdie's Enchantress of Flourence. I honestly admit that I like light and racy books and The Twentieth Wife falls in this category. Thank you so much for reading and sharing your engaging views and your story about your Indian trip. Once you finish the Twentieth Wife, please let me know. Take care.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Peggy W: Hi, thank you for the visit and encouraging comments. I loved this book and decided to share my views regarding this enchanting novel with many fellow-hubbers. Hope you enjoy this book as much as I did! Take care.

  • Global-Chica profile image

    Anna 5 years ago from New York, NY

    Oooh I want to read this book! Ever since I visited Rajasthan two years ago, I've been mesmerized by the Mughal influence on India. I read Salman Rushdie's Enchantress of Florence right after I came back from India. I loved that book! Have you read it?

  • Peggy W profile image

    Peggy Woods 5 years ago from Houston, Texas

    I am impressed that this was your very first hub. Well done! You have made this book titled The Twentieth Wife intriguing and I am sure more sales have been and will be generated because of your review. I'll add it to my reading list. Voted up, interesting and will SHARE.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ thumbi7: Thank you for visiting & encouraging comments.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ thumbi7: This is an amazing book that brought back alive the Mughal era thanks to this author's inimitable story-telling.

  • thumbi7 profile image

    JR Krishna 5 years ago from India

    Both the author of the book and the back cover are stunningly beautiful.

    Must find this book to read

    Thanks for SHARING

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @Ruchira: Thank u for reading this review. Hope this review is helpful to you.

  • Ruchira profile image

    Ruchira 5 years ago from United States

    the review looks good...ishwaryaa22. thanks for enlightening me!

    gotta check out this book...thanks!

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Millionaire Tips: Thank u for visiting. Yes, i read the Feast of Roses and The Shadow Princess in the Taj Mahal Trilogy. They are quite good yet the Twentieth Wife is the best of this trio. Glad this review is helpful to u.

  • Millionaire Tips profile image

    Shasta Matova 5 years ago from USA

    It is an intriguing title, and after reading your review, I must be sure to find this book and red it. Have you read the other books in the trilogy?

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ tarajeyaram: Thank u so much. I am honoured by your encouraging comments. I am sure you enjoy this interesting book as much as I did! Happy Reading and Hubbing!

  • tarajeyaram profile image

    tarajeyaram 5 years ago from Wonderland

    Ishwaryaa22 - I have to read the book after reading your book review. I got this book as a birthday gift. Thank you for writing such a good review. I have posted this hub on My Favorite Hubs for the Week - Jan 22. Keep writing excellent hubs.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @quildon: Thank u. Good to know that this review is informative to u!

  • quildon profile image

    Angela Joseph 5 years ago from Florida

    The title of the book really grabbed me. I'd never heard of this book before. Your review has made me want to read it. Nice job!

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Vinaya Ghimire: Thank u. As you are a reader of Mughal historical fiction, this book will add more to your knowledge of Mughal india and also peak up ur interest with its dramatic storyline and political intrigue. Glad to know that this review is helpful to u.

  • Vinaya Ghimire profile image

    Vinaya Ghimire 5 years ago from Nepal

    I have read some fascinating historical fictions about Mughal Empire. But I have not read this book. I hope to read this in near future.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Claudia Tello: Thank u. Glad my review is useful to u.

  • Claudia Tello profile image

    Claudia Tello 5 years ago from Mexico

    Sounds interesting, I will add the Twentieth Wife to my book list.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ Deborah Brooks: Thank u

  • Deborah Brooks profile image

    Deborah Brooks Langford 5 years ago from Brownsville,TX

    This is awesome thank you for sharing.. I cant wait to read it. You really did a excellent job with this..

    Merry Christmas

    I voted up and awesome

  • thesingernurse profile image

    thesingernurse 5 years ago from Rizal, Philippines

    Thanks ishwaryaa22. I still have a lot to learn. Am just a writer wannabee. Hahaha! Am definitely gonna find that book! Thanks for introducing such lovely piece of artwork to all of us!

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ the singernurse: This Book is written in English. This book is a pageturner and i am sure you'll enjoy this book! Thank u and i am confident that u will be an inspiring & commanding writer! You Already Proved your mettle in your hub 'A walk to Remember'! Way to Go!.

  • thesingernurse profile image

    thesingernurse 5 years ago from Rizal, Philippines

    I was intrigued with the title myself. And I don't actually have to research on the plot because I am confident that Indian literature is one-of-a-kind. Is it written in your native language? I hope I can come across such book if it happens to be written in English. Nice hub. You should be a periodic book or literature reviewer and critic!

    Am not much of the bookworm but recently, I decided to do book reviews my own way because I would like to document each novel that I finish reading. If you have the time, you could check out my book review blog THE PAPERBACK REVIEWER http://www.thepaperbackreviewer.blogspot.com/ along with its first entry. :)

    Keep up the great job!

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @dinkan53: thank u.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @dinkan53: thank u.

  • dinkan53 profile image

    dinkan53 5 years ago from India

    Never heard about this author and about Twentieth Wife, thanks for introducing the book and the author. Got interested on this book and will try to get it. You got nice writing style and will wait for your future publications. Welcome to Hubpages community, good start, keep going and good luck.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ premsingh: thank u.

  • premsingh profile image

    premsingh 5 years ago

    I am very impressed with your writing skills and talent. I rate your debut hub as a good quality hub.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ glassvisage & wheelinallover: thank u.

  • glassvisage profile image

    glassvisage 5 years ago from Northern California

    Welcome to HubPages! Great information and thank you for sharing your review as well as information about the author. I always think that adds some positive insight for a review.

  • wheelinallover profile image

    Dennis Thorgesen 5 years ago from Central United States

    ishwaryaa22 now I feel I know you. This is what it is about. I also saw that you used keywords and phrases which tied to the subject matter of the book. In my estimation you are going to be a great asset to hub pages. Now I am really looking forward to seeing more of your work.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ mathira: Thank u

  • mathira profile image

    mathira 5 years ago from chennai

    Good hub and made me want to read the novel.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ wheelinallover: Now i understood your point. Once again thank u for ur helpful tips.

  • wheelinallover profile image

    Dennis Thorgesen 5 years ago from Central United States

    Adding the authors biography was a great touch. My question now is where are you? I still see nothing about you as a person. How do you feel about this book? What point did the author make that touched you as a person? Do you want people following the author or you?

    Although I am not a college graduate I have been mentoring college students for years. Every published article, blog, and enzine article let the reader see a little of me as a person or me as a corporate Ceo. People follow me because they feel they know me. This is something you should consider. This is even recommended for business communication which is one of the college courses I mentor.

    I like your work. I still would like to see your feelings about what you read.

  • ishwaryaa22 profile image
    Author

    Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 5 years ago from Chennai, India

    @ wheelinallover: Thank u for your valuable advice!

  • wheelinallover profile image

    Dennis Thorgesen 5 years ago from Central United States

    Very well written, a little on the short side. If you take a little while to flesh is out with your feelings on the book this will both make it longer and give the readers a little insight as to how you feel about what you read. It has been my experience that "people follow people." What you want the for reader to connect with you as a human being.

    I own a corporation, we found that using my photograph and personal information about me as a human being worked better than corporate branding, at least when we started.

    Looking forward to seeing more of your work.