ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

What You Can Write Product Reviews About If You Are Not Much Of A Consumer

Updated on March 3, 2016
Hazy question marks of confusion
Hazy question marks of confusion | Source

What type of products can people who aren't all that materialistic review online?

Short reviews seem to be quite popular with the large and growing demographics of people who shop for entertainment and people who collect things. Some publishing platforms are now encouraging user-generated advertisements in the form of personal reviews rather than adhering to a more traditional model of selling advertisement space on user-generated content intended to inform or entertain. Of course, I'm thankful HubPages isn't one of them, but I've had to write reviews to keep privileges earned on other writing sites when this trend hit.

This popular consumer-driven product review model probably works out well for writers who buy a lot of things and for writers who like to shop. It gives them an instant, practical expertise in being the owner of a particular product which people intending to purchase that product may find useful. Choosing products to review may be a bit more challenging for folks who aren't all that into buying things or who don't have the funds to buy things they don't need.

You can still write product reviews if you aren't very materialistic and don't own a lot of stuff. Read on to get some ideas of what sorts of products you can review without having to buy stuff you don't need.


image by Dorota Kasia, freeimages.com
image by Dorota Kasia, freeimages.com

Food And Drink

Yep, food. Everybody eats, even minimalists. While you may not eat much pre-packaged food, some of the things you eat may be available in a pre-packaged form available for sale online at shops like Amazon. If you eat out, you can review a restaurant and pair the review with a link to buy a gift certificate to that restaurant.

The same applies to beverages. If you love your morning cup of coffee or a nice Earl Grey tea they can be reviewed, too.

photo by Sigurd Decroos, freeimages.com
photo by Sigurd Decroos, freeimages.com

Types Of Cookware And Kitchen Tools Or Gadgets

Even if you only have a few pots and pans and your silverware came from a thrift store you can review types of kitchen products such as cast iron skillets, Teflon coated frying pans, potato slicers, or other kitchen gadgets. You don't need to own the exact brand of cookware or the exact brand and type of kitchen tool to give your opinion.

If you have a marble rolling pin you absolutely love, you can review marble rolling pins and tie your review in with a similar marble rolling pin that's offered for sale at the store you have to write a review to promote. If you love your metal box-style cheese grater you can do the same even if it came from Goodwill ten years ago rather than from Amazon last week.

Some kitchen products are ideal for review purposes because some popular brands of them haven't changed substantially in decades. Corning Ware and Pyrex are two brands that come to mind immediately.

photo by Ramasamy Chidambaram, freeimages.com
photo by Ramasamy Chidambaram, freeimages.com

Types And Styles Of Clothing

I'm assuming you don't live in a nudist colony in a tropical zone here, but I think it's a fair assumption to make that you own or at least wear some clothes. If you love your fingerless gloves, your v-neck t-shirts, your all-cotton pajamas, or some other items of clothing by all means talk about them and tie in a similar product.

Most people own quite a few things even if they don’t shop for entertainment. Go ahead and review things you own or use including practical items you use at work or in your home.

Medical Supplies, Devices, Or Appliances

Do you have diabetes, an ostomy, a bum knee, or other medical condition which requires you to use some kind of medical device, appliance, or medical supplies regularly? Review those suckers! If you have some medical product you regularly use you likely have a brand you prefer for whatever reason.

OneTouch UltraSoft Lancets 100 Each
OneTouch UltraSoft Lancets 100 Each

You could review these. I couldn't because I don't use lancets for anything but people with diabetes often do. Any product such as this can be reviewed. Also, don't buy them through this link. They are cheaper elsewhere, but I was having a hard time finding a photo of a box of lancets to illustrate this piece.

 

Movies Or Television Shows

Many libraries also check out movies. Friends may let you borrow DVDs. You can also review shows or movies you watch on television. I’ve reviewed movies and TV shows my roommates watch on NetFlix and Hulu.

You can review an entire television series or just a single season of it and offer that series or season of that show for sale.

Types Of Bedding

If you are fortunate enough to sleep on a bed, sofa or cot you could review types of sheets (flannel, cotton, satin, etc.), kinds of pillows, or any other kind of bedding you may have and enjoy.

MamPrint
MamPrint

Library Books

You don't have to buy a novel to read it so why not write a review of the next book you check out of the library or borrow from a friend?

What Product Review Ideas Do You Have For People Who Don't Buy A Lot Of Stuff?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Grant's World profile image

      Grant Handford 

      21 months ago from Canada

      These are some great tips for what to review. I never even thought to look around my house. I could even write a review on the designer of the shirt I am wearing right now. So simple yet not so obvious to some of us.

      Have a great 2017.

    • randomproducts profile image

      Randy 

      3 years ago from United States

      Good post. I need more info on writing reviews. I try to give good advice so I need to look around more. Thanks though for sharing this.

    • sallybea profile image

      Sally Gulbrandsen 

      4 years ago from Norfolk

      Kylyssa

      I don't buy many products so this hub really attracted my attention. I might be tempted to try a few more product reviews after reading this. Thanks for sharing.

    • profile image

      NC Shepherd 

      4 years ago

      Great ideas! I had that problem, as well, because I just don't spend money on anything I don't absolutely need.

    • Lynda Makara profile image

      Lynda Makara 

      4 years ago from California

      These are some good suggestions.

    • Titia profile image

      Titia Geertman 

      4 years ago from Waterlandkerkje - The Netherlands

      I had trouble finding products too, but like fanfreluche says,stuff you owned in the past. I never order stuff from amazon because the costs are just too high.

    • TerriCarr profile image

      TerriCarr 

      4 years ago

      I also get stuff from the library, especially videos. But you can also pick up stuff you might want to review very inexpensively at thrift shops. Depends on your area, but many thrift shops have a great selection of books, DVD's, games, kitchen gadgets, etc. All is not lost!

    • FanfrelucheHubs profile image

      Nathalie Roy 

      4 years ago from France (Canadian expat)

      Vintage stuff, things you have owned in the past (it can be toys, some have been on the market for years and haven't change at all)

    • jolou profile image

      jolou 

      4 years ago

      Thank you. You have given me several ideas I can use to write reviews about.

    • psiloveyou1 profile image

      psiloveyou1 

      4 years ago

      Great suggestions. Like you, I'm not a big shopper.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)