ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Chronicles of Narnia

Updated on March 8, 2008

I have read the Chronicles of Narnia more times in my life than I can even count. They are truly fabulous stories that engage young readers, but also entertain older readers. C.S. Lewis was known for writing theological books, and decided to write a series of children’s books that would teach the story of Christianity.

However, this does not mean that children will only leave about the Christian religion by reading these books. Unless you specifically use these books as a Christian learning tool for your children, they will simply be entertaining stories that teach values related to Christianity, not defined by Christianity.

C.S. Lewis did not write the books in chronological, story fashion, but you have the freedom to read them either chronologically, or in the order they were published.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

This is the story of how Aslan, a noble lion, frees the land of Narnia from the spell of the evil White Witch with the help of four young children from our world.

Prince Caspian

This is an exciting tale about how Prince Caspian and his army of talking animals conquer the wicked Telmarines with the help of Aslan and the four children from our world.

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

Three children from our world end up on a ship with King Caspian on adventure to sail through the magic waters to the End of the World.

The Silver Chair

King Caspian’s son, Prince Rilian, must escape from the Emerald Witch’s underground kingdom where he is being kept captive and under a dark spell, with the help of children from our world.

The Horse and His Boy

This is story about how a boy and his talking horse save Narnia from Telmarine invasion, and how a Prince is reunited with his family.

The Magician’s Nephew

Learn how Aslan created the land of Narnia and blessed its animals with the gift of speech. The first King and Queen of Narnia are revealed, as well as the events that shaped the future from other books.

The Last Battle

An evil comes to Narnia, and Aslan must lead his people to a glorious, new paradise. But will the Narnians believe in him?

You might be interested in reading The Golden Compass books, which were written in response to C.S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia. Even if you don’t want to teach your children about the Christian religion, the Narnia books are still wonderful stories for kids.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • cceerpp profile image

      cceerpp 6 years ago from Ghana

      You've inspired me to write a Hub on The Chronicles of Narnia. Thanks a lot.


      PS: Voted Up and Useful

    • In The Doghouse profile image

      In The Doghouse 9 years ago from California


      Having read the Chronicles of Narnia many times I can see the great teachings of Christianity deeply rooted in them all over. C.S. Lewis is a wonderful author with an abiding testimony of Jesus Christ. Thank you for including him in the religious HUB series.

    • Lissie profile image

      Elisabeth Sowerbutts 9 years ago from New Zealand

      I really enjoyed all the Narnia series - must have been 8 or 9 when I read them -I didnt realise that they were religious at the time though I read about that as an adult

    • Isabella Snow profile image

      Isabella Snow 9 years ago

      I remember reading the first one, and then being really upset by it, for some reason. I tried to read the second, and never finished. I was probably 10 or so at the time. No idea why I reacted that way, but I had the same thing happen when seeing the movie version. I think the books were very well written... I just found them incredibly depressing for some reason.