ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Debt Free For Life by David Bach: A Book Review

Updated on January 29, 2019
Karen Hellier profile image

Karen Hellier is a freelance writer and eBay entrepreneur. She lives happily in the mountains of North Georgia with her husband and her dog.

Source

Great Book for Those Needing Money Advice


If a person is having trouble with money, or would just like to get some tips on how to deal with bills and financial responsibilities, "Debt Free For Life" is a great book to read. I picked this book up in the library on a vacation after reading all the material I had brought with me. I figured I could probably pick up a few financial tips from it. I was quite surprised to find this book a fascinating read for anyone who wants to find more money, either to pay off bills or to save for the future.

The chapters are laid out in such a way that you can skip around and only read the ones that you actually need. Not only is this book full of great ideas on how to find more money for your budget, but it's also loaded with websites to help you as well.

Of course, if you know anything about David Bach (and I did not before reading this book) you know he is a great self-promoter so that many of the websites or links he gives will lead you to his website or more of his books. But this fact is forgivable because the information he shares is quite valuable to the average person.

One of the most interesting pieces of information I learned from this book is his 12 step action plan to improve a credit score. Improving your credit score helps secure loans and mortgages and the like in the future. I enjoy reading stories about actual people who have had an experience and what they did to improve their situation. This book has many examples of people's financial troubles and how they got themselves out of trouble by using tips from the author. I think reading stories like these gives other people hope that they too can improve their finances.

Some of the tips I gleaned from this book that are the most helpful to me include:

- To get a free credit report, go to www.annualcreditreport.com. Every consumer is entitled to one free credit report each year.

- Google interest rates for your particular credit cards. Then call credit card companies to see if they can lower your interest rate. Tell them you know what they are offering new customers, and since you have been a loyal customer for ____ years, you would hope they could do something similar for you.

- If when calling a credit card company and they refuse to lower your interest rate, go one step farther and ask to speak with their supervisor. Often the supervisor has more power to lower credit card interest rate, and most people don't bother going that extra step when refused by the first person they reach.

- There is a statute of limitations on debts. ( You'll have to read the book to get more information on that)

- Having your credit cards paid automatically each month by allowing credit card companies to withdraw a certain amount out of your checking account on a certain day of the month will ensure you won't have late fees. You just need to make sure you have enough money in your checking account to cover that amount.

- To help pay off bills quicker and become more organized, have a folder for each outstanding bill you owe. Write the name of the credit card or company you owe back money to on the front of the folder in big black marker. Then also write the amount that you owe. Each month, as you pay down each bill, cross out the previous amount and write what you currently owe. Keep all statements and bills in the folder. Once you are done paying the bill in total, write paid in full across the front of the folder. Just the act of doing that will help you feel better about your financial situation.

I found this book extremely helpful to my financial situation. I think anyone who has had financial issues in the past, or the present, or would just like tips on how to take better control of their money and pay down debt quickly will also find it full of valuable information.

Debt Free For Life Poll

Do you think this book will be helpful to you?

See results

If you think this would be a good one for you, you can buy it here...

© 2013 Karen Hellier

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • shiningirisheyes profile image

      Shining Irish Eyes 

      6 years ago from Upstate, New York

      Karen - Outstanding source for so many during this sluggish economy. Although I have no debt, I do believe many will find this review helpful. I do own a credit card but only to keep a credit history for myself.

      I feel for the millions whoa re currently struggling with unbelievable debt.

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      6 years ago from Georgia

      Hawaiianodysseus,

      You are right...anything I do becomes hub fodder to me now. I met someone on Hub Pages who said she can't think of anything more to write about for Hub Pages. She has written 77 hubs. Whoa...definite dry spell for her. I hope I never hit that. Or at least no before I write a minimum of 500 hubs!!! Since I have written about 152, I have many more to go. As Buzz Lightyear would say, the number of hubs I feel I can write is, "To infinity and beyond!"

    • wetnosedogs profile image

      wetnosedogs 

      6 years ago from Alabama

      Great review on a very important book. I need to look for this and keep it handy. Thanks.

    • hawaiianodysseus profile image

      Hawaiian Odysseus 

      6 years ago from Southeast Washington state

      @Karen Hellier

      I hope you will have time to read some of David Bach's earlier personal finance books. Great stuff in all of them!

      Thank you for the great job you did in reviewing this one about debt. I had borrowed a copy of it from a library in Seattle a couple of years ago but never made time to read it. Your book review, then, was motivation enough to go borrow it again and, this time, read it.

      While I always learn something new and terrific from reading your hubs, what I also learned this time around was that hub ideas exist virtually everywhere we go and in everything we do or encounter in our daily schedule. It's clear to me that what you've gleaned from your successful HubPages experience is this virtual 24/7 Hub Radar where free-floating hub ideas can never fly too low to escape your constant hub vigil. : ) I want some of that stuff to rub off onto me. Thanks for sharing and for inspiring, Karen!

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      6 years ago from Georgia

      stephanieb27,

      You are welcome. I like to read about it too. No such thing as too much information on how to save money or pay off debt! Thanks for stopping and commenting.

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      6 years ago from Georgia

      Good idea on the library. A great way to save money rather than buying it full price. I am not sure if Mr. Bach would agree! If they don't have it at your library, maybe Amazon or half.com has it?

    • Karen Hellier profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Hellier 

      6 years ago from Georgia

      Faith reaper,

      I have never heard of that radio program but it sounds quite useful. Maybe you can write a hub about it? Thanks for stopping by.

    • stephanieb27 profile image

      stephanieb27 

      6 years ago from United States

      Thanks for the review! I love reading about ways to pay off debt!!!

    • donnah75 profile image

      Donna Hilbrandt 

      6 years ago from Upstate New York

      As a country, we can use all the good financial advice we can get. I'll see if my local library has this book and I will check it out. Thanks for sharing.

    • Faith Reaper profile image

      Faith Reaper 

      6 years ago from southern USA

      Who doesn't need advice about staying debt free for life. Sounds like an excellent book for all to read, especially in these economic times. When we are debt free, we are truly free from those chains and are able to serve Him for freely. I listen to Faith Radio here, and they have a program such as this book describes, "Crown Money Matters," and it also has great suggestions, if we only put them into practice.

      Voted up +++ and sharing

      God bless you. In His Love, Faith Reaper

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)