ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Earn Money Online Through Writing Book Reviews

Updated on April 23, 2013
Photo by Morgan Lane Photography
Photo by Morgan Lane Photography

Enthusiastic readers have an opportunity to make money online by putting pen to paper (or more specifically fingers to keyboard) by writing book reviews. It is a credible pathway to earn some extra cash, and there are additional benefits that a book reviewer can experience.

If you want to write book reviews, then you will need an online platform to have your reviews seen and read. A number of options are available to you, and you are not at all limited to one. Options include:

  • posting your book reviews on your independent website.

  • publishing your book reviews on an article-based website.

  • submitting your book reviews to article directories.

  • submitting your book reviews to publishers.

The option of approaching Publishers to write book reviews for them will be relevant only if you can provide evidence of the quality of your work. This is why it is recommended that you already have a healthy reputation as a book reviewer, with a reasonable amount of reviews and a good following.

How to Get Paid

You can earn directly and indirectly from your book reviews. Direct ways of earning from your book reviews include three (3) basic payment models that depends on the particular organization:

  1. pay per article/book review

  2. pay per view

  3. pay per word

Indirect ways of earning from your book reviews include advertisement revenue such as google adsense, Kontera, Chitika and Linksworth. These are revenue earning media that you can exploit if you have your own website or through revenue sharing sites (e.g. Hubpages, Xomba and Infobarrel).

Another way to earn through book reviews is affiliateship. This is probably the most aggressively pursued medium, and understandably so. By being an affiliate of a Network, you can earn commissions from every referred sale. The percentage commission may vary amongst Advertisers and Networks. A few noted programs are:

  • Amazon Associates

  • Barnes & Noble through the Google Affiliate Network

  • National Geographic through Commission Junction

  • ebay Partner Network

Basic Guidelines:

  1. Select books that you desire to review. Your collection of books is a good place to start. Consider borrowing books from your friends and the library. If you want to save money on buying books, you could consider buying used books.
  2. Write reviews using proper structure. If you are not sure how to write book reviews, there are numerous resources on how to write them. Note that writing reviews for fictional books is a bit different than for non fictional books.
  3. Use your desired platform(s) to have your book reviews visible on the internet. To get a jump start for the popularity of your book reviews, a revenue sharing site is a sensible option.
  4. Promote your book reviews.

Beyond getting paid for writing book reviews either directly or indirectly, you have an opportunity to receive free books from Publishers as an established reviewer, gain a good following and even gain more opportunities for writing.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • wooleywriter profile image

      Katarina Radford 

      5 years ago from Southern United States

      Thanks a lot. I'm publishing my first book review hub today. Please check it out. I am open to constructive feedback.

    • theblackedition profile imageAUTHOR

      Shane Brown-Daniels 

      5 years ago from USA

      @vox vocis -- Go for it! You have the first step locked -- you read a lot.

      @wooleywriter -- I ended up writing more film reviews on a former blog of mine. I earned commissions from Amazon sales. If you're just starting out, you could use a platform like Hubpages. You'd get a lot of hits, and earn commissions from book sales. I've earned most of my Hubpages-Amazon earnings via articles in which I refer to to specific books which I've read. Though they are not really book reviews, that still gives an indication of the potentials. If having a byline on a popular print publication is important to you, I'd recommend sending queries to local newspapers. But I think one of the best platforms is to develop a niche book review blog, and gain your own authority. I've seen several bloggers successfully do this. They've even started their own book reading community.

    • wooleywriter profile image

      Katarina Radford 

      5 years ago from Southern United States

      Hi. Are you currently writing book reviews? If so, which platform do you use to promote your reviews

    • vox vocis profile image

      Jasmine 

      6 years ago

      It seems it's been a long time since the last comment here was posted, which is strange because the hub offers some interesting information about writing book reviews for online income and it's an easy read. I'm a book eater, and lately, I'm thinking about writing book reviews. Constantly stuck with topics and keyword research, I simply don't write. However, writing book reviews would make me write more frequently; I'm just wondering whether it would pay off. Trying won't hurt, I guess, and if the plan doesn't work that way, at least there will be people who may find the articles useful.

    • theblackedition profile imageAUTHOR

      Shane Brown-Daniels 

      8 years ago from USA

      Hey Pamela, thanks :) I think that if you feel as if it is a chore to write, probably it isn't for you. If you haven't already, you may consider experimenting with other forms of writing other than book reviews, and articles that are commonly here on hubpages.

    • theboxmeister profile image

      theboxmeister 

      8 years ago

      Everything that we do to get some income is actually work but, if you like what you do, it can be fun. Book reviews are one string of income that you can generate.

    • Pamela Kinnaird W profile image

      Pamela Dapples 

      8 years ago from Just Arizona Now

      Thank you for a good article. Lots of good stuff to think about here on HubPages. I've never really liked writing if it feels like work -- and I'm starting to question that about myself. Maybe I'm off track. Book reviewing sounds like work, but not bad if one can choose their own titles to review. Thanks.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)