ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Personal Finance»
  • Income & Making Money

OpinionWorld Review

Updated on April 12, 2015

Introduction

OpinionWorld, also known as Opinion World is an online paid survey site.  This page aims to give my balanced opinion of the site, as a relatively experienced user who has completed well in excess of 30 surveys. 

Signing up

I found signing up to OpinionWorld to be very simple.  It took me about 10 minutes to sign up.  Once this had been completed there were a number of surveys which can be taken either at the time, or at a later date.  These give the company a bit more information about yourself to allow the surveys to be more relevant. 

Completing surveys

Once a member has signed up to OpinionWorld, emails start to be sent to the address used when registering. Along with a link to the survey, these emails also contain a rough guideline of how long the survey should take to complete, along with an idea of the reward available. All surveys have the option of entering a sweepstake at the end of the survey, as well as the option of supporting a charity with a small donation. In addition some surveys have the added bonus of a guaranteed financial rewards paid into a PayPal acocunt. In my experience this has always been £1 per survey, although I believe some surveys have a higher level of payment.

After clicking upon the link in the email, the user is taken through to another page. On this page, there is another link which can be clicked, and doing this opens a new window in which the survey is completed. I am unsure about the reason for the need to open two successive windows, as most other online survey sites avoid it - this is one of biggest faults I have with the OpinionWorld system.  The second window opens a survey, and sometimes it is still within the OpinionWorld system and sometimes it is in the sites of partners.  The surveys are in the normal format of selecting answers to questions on a given topic.  Whilst most survey sites can have very repetitive questions, repetition occurs relatively rarely on OpinionWorld in my experience. 

Once the survey has been completed there is the option of providing feedback on the survey about any mistakes noticed etc.  After this has been done, there is the option to support a charity, along with entering the sweepstakes.  The entering of the sweepstakes relies on taking part in what I can only describe as a virtual scratchcard, and this determines the number of entries into a prize draw to win a big prize although unfortunately I haven't won it yet!

Supporting charities

As has already been mentioned, there is the option of supporting a charity.  This is something which I believe is rather unique to the OpinionWorld site, and something which is quite good.  Upon completion of every survey, there is the option of selecting which one of three surveys you wish OpinionWorld to make a donation to on your behalf.  These are charities which are nominated by OpinionWorld users, and once the target amount for a particular charity has been raised, a new charity replaces it.  Charities to have benefited from this system in 2008 include RNLI, WWF, Oxfam and War Child.  Overall, in 2008, over £70,000 was donated to charities in this way by OpinionWorld.

Payment

Many people say that such paid survey sites are a scam. However, whilst some may be, in my experience OpinionWorld is not a scam as I have been paid many times. This is done through PayPal and generally payment takes about 1 month from when the survey is first completed although payment can sometimes be quicker or longer. So far, I have never had a problem with not being paid by OpinionWorld. In addition, there is a further benefit to OpinionWorld. Due to the fact that payment for each survey is paid individually there is no need to wait excessively long for money to build up, and as some survey sites have payout limits of £50 this is a big bonus.  One word of warning - the money is paid into a PayPal account with the same email address associated with it as that used to register on the OpinionWorld website.  

However, OpinionWorld is now also starting to reward in the form of points which can be exchanged for money once the amount reaches a certain point.  Whilst the amount paid per survey is still the same, there is the need to reach a certain level of points before getting the money through PayPal, and whilst it is still a relatively low level at £10, it is annoyign none-the-less.  

OpinionWorld proof of payment.
OpinionWorld proof of payment.

Conclusions

I would definitely recommend OpinionWorld to people who have some spare time and an internet connection. It seems to be a reputable company, who pay the people who complete surveys relatively promptly, whilst also donating a significant amount to charities. Whilst I don't think it would ever be possible to earn a living wage out of completing surveys on OpinionWorld, it is possible to earn some additional money doing so.

If you aren't a member:

Has this page made you more or less likely to sign up?

See results

If you are a member:

Are your views of OpinionWorld mostly positive or negative?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      hi 5 years ago

      joined 1 week ago and haven't received any paid survey yet. What a waste of time.

    • profile image

      keelytm 6 years ago

      Thanks for the review. It sounds a lot like other companies that do paid surveys. Which is a good thing, since I've had pretty good success with those. But I am looking to increase my cash flow, so I need to sign up with more sites. I'll give this one a shot. I did notice, though, that it does pay in pounds. Does this mean I have to a resident of the UK to sign up?

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 6 years ago from Bristol

      Jane Manby. It would appear that you do have a point, however cynical it may seem! I have received paid surveys though from OpinionWorld though so I can't complain.

    • profile image

      jane manby 7 years ago

      I have never been sent to a paid survey and never won a draw. Think of this if you pay people a fee to fill in the surveys then you pay for the size of a survey.

      If you put people into a draw then no matter how many people or surveys they do you still pay out the same. It is a rubbish survey company which is a shame because there are some out there that do pay and play fair.

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 7 years ago from Bristol

      nehpets81 I agree that there has been a reduction in the earnings potential from OpinionWorld. However I suppose it could be argued 50p is better than nothing!

    • nehpets81 profile image

      nehpets81 7 years ago from London

      Most surveys for Opinion World tend to be 50p these days sadly...

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 7 years ago from Bristol

      Cassandra thanks for taking the time to comment - it is good to know that there is a Canadian version of Opinionworld which also works!

    • profile image

      Cassandra 7 years ago

      I tried OpinionWorld.ca and it has worked for me. Takes a bit of time to get enough to get the reward I had wanted but it seemed to work out well when I did

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 8 years ago from Bristol

      I recommend you do give Opinionworld a go vox vocis - I have found it to be very useful!

    • vox vocis profile image

      Jasmine 8 years ago

      I´ll bookmark this page. I may try it!

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 8 years ago from Bristol

      Thanks for taking the time to comment and add your views of OpinionWorld on this OpinionWorld review Johno and jamie. It is a shame you experienced issues with the site.

    • profile image

      jamie 8 years ago

      every time i do a survey and compleate it i get a server down page and no way to see my account.

    • profile image

      Johno 8 years ago

      Be warned, you could be wasting time and getting little in return!

      I tried it, got half way through the first survey only to be told I want suitable and of course would not be receiving payment for my time. Having answered a number of questions at sign-up, I do feel they should have a system that targets suitable individuals rather than take the lazy option and blanket email everyone. To make matters worse, I unsubscribed from their service over two months ago and am still receiving emails, this despite having sent a number of follow-up emails.

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 8 years ago from Bristol

      Thanks for taking the time to comment Anandhan and I hope this Opinionworld review was useful for yourself. I wish you luck with using Opinionworld.

    • profile image

      anandhan 8 years ago

      thanks for your information,and

      i am live in india i can partcipate this program

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 8 years ago from Bristol

      Thanks for taking the time to comment jayb23 and Maiasaur. I cannot comment specifically on opinionworld.biz as I have only ever used opinionworld.co.uk which I have personally found to be very useful and I have never received any spam, but maybe opinionworld-biz (I assume this is what you are referring to) is not as good.

    • profile image

      Maiasaur 8 years ago

      Opinionworld.biz misrepresents itself through Craigslist. They advertise for focus group participants and then send you a link to their survey page and try to get you to sign up for spam. There's not even a "No thanks" box.

    • jayb23 profile image

      jayb23 9 years ago from India

      I will definitely try this out

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 9 years ago from Bristol

      Yes I agree Brian the main problem with such systems is finding the time. However, being a student I may have times when I am really busy and times when I am not. By doing these surveys it allows me to get a little more money, whilst still having flexibility.

    • BrianS profile image

      Brian Stephens 9 years ago from Castelnaudary, France

      Sounds as though it is worth a go, just need some spare time.

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 9 years ago from Bristol

      Surveys can vary, some are a few minutes and others longer. Personally on several occasions I have received £1 for completing surveys of less than 5 minutes in length. I am not sure whether members get banned - I never have been though and I answer faster than advised in the initial email. However, there are sometimes questions which say things like 'Select option 3' to test whether you really are doing the survey or just clicking responses correctly. Hope this helps!

    • 2patricias profile image

      2patricias 9 years ago from Sussex by the Sea

      Approximately how long does it take to complete a survey? Do you know if members are banned if they work too quickly?

      Interesting hub - thanks.

    • BristolBoy profile image
      Author

      BristolBoy 9 years ago from Bristol

      I definitely recommend that you do!

    • shamelabboush profile image

      shamelabboush 9 years ago

      I should try it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)