ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Pennies for Your Thoughts: Making Money with Reviews at Epinions

Updated on January 12, 2012
Source

Seen any good movies lately? Read any good books? Or maybe you’ve just used a product that just doesn’t work, so you want to warn everyone about it. Epinions is a website that lets you post your reviews to an Internet audience. And get paid for doing it. It is open to both U.S. and non-U.S. residents.

© 2012 by Aurelio Locsin.

Source

Basics

The site’s tag line is Unbiased Reviews by Real People, so it stakes its reputation on opinions written by ordinary people rather than professional reviewers. And the first rule of the review is you must have used the product. Categories include cars, books, movies, music, computers and software, electronics, gifts, home and garden, office supplies, sports and travel.

  • You can search for a particular product or select one from among the tens of thousands listed.
  • You can drill down through subcategories or sort selections by price range, brand and features.
  • Clicking a product reveals the ratings bestowed by other reviewers, ranging from one star to the highest five stars.
  • You can read individual reviews, compare prices and view details of your selection.

If you want to review a product that is not in the database, you can request that ia category lead add it.

Writing

To compose your opinion, click Write a Review to display the review fields. You can type directly into the fields but risk losing your words if your system goes down. It’s best to use an external word processor to write and save the review. You can then copy and paste your words into the site fields. Reviews must contain at least 20 words, though 100 words or more are preferred. Most reviews are in the 400-500 word range.

Source

Community

You can then post your review to the site. You may return to your writing and edit it at any time, for example, if you want to update any information. The community of reviewers can vote on your review by assigning Not Helpful, Somehwat Helpful, Helpful and Very Helpful. Category leads can further dub your effort Most Helpful, if it’s the best one of all the reviews. All members can also write comments. These in-house ratings and comments are only visible to members and not to consumers. As with many such sites, Epinions has a forum where you can read and write about your experiences.

Source

Earnings

Your earnings come from the number of times your review is read and whether anyone buys a product from it. Your reviews display Adsense ads, but you have no control over their placement and subjects. The money earned by all the reviews of a product is split between Epinions and the pool of reviewers. The number of visits your reviews generate is updated continuously. However, the amount of money you earn is not revealed until after the end of the month.

The site often runs special promotions. For example, on some months, the first review for a product automatically earns $1 aside from standard royalties. Your earnings also go up if you get promoted to a Top Reviewer, Adviser or Category Lead.

When your total earnings reach $10 for U.S. residents or $100 for non-U.S. residents, you can request a check, which takes a frustratingly long two-to-six weeks to arrive.

Earnings range from nothing to a few cents to a few dollars per month per review. Obviously, the more reviews you write, the higher your income. The money keeps coming in every month without you having to do anything else. The most income goes to popular products, particularly electronics and technology items. Consumers can read your reviews by searching for them on Google or through Shopping.com, with which Epinions is affiliated.

Thoughts

You’re not going to get rich at the site. But the writing is easy, the members are friendly and the money rolls in month after month. I’ve been a member for about six years and invite you to check out my Epinions reviews.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      5 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      I've never heard of this site so I'll be checking it out. Thanks for sharing this info and voted up.

    • MarleneB profile image

      Marlene Bertrand 

      5 years ago from USA

      I like this idea. I like writing reviews, so I may just check them out. I think a lot of people will like this, too so I'm pinning and sharing with my readers.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Look me up there, THEHug5. Same usercode of alocsin.

    • profile image

      iamaudraleigh 

      6 years ago

      Interesting :) Voted up!

    • THEHuG5 profile image

      THEHuG5 

      6 years ago

      Wow I had no idea that this site existed! Thanks for sharing alocsin I'm gonna check it out :)

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 

      6 years ago from Peru, South America

      Sure thing!

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Let me know if you decide to join. I'm still on there under the same usercode as here.

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 

      6 years ago from Peru, South America

      This caught my eye because I often go to epinions to read reviews. I had no idea you can get paid to write them! Thanks, as always, for such informative hubs.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Only about $20 last month, but I only wrote about 10 reviews. And the money keeps rolling in every month. I have reviews that are many years old that are still paying.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Well, if any of your try this out, let me know. My username their is the same as here.

    • peoplepower73 profile image

      Mike Russo 

      6 years ago from Placentia California

      Thansk alocsin for the information. You say it pays via adsense. It there anything that has to be setup in adsense to make a connection?

    • cclitgirl profile image

      Cynthia Calhoun 

      6 years ago from Western NC

      Wow, alocsin. You must do all this stuff full time - HubPages, epinions, etc. Way to go - you've inspired me. Voted up and awesome.

    • Kris Heeter profile image

      Kris Heeter 

      6 years ago from Indiana

      Very interesting - I wasn't familiar with this website. Looking forward to checking it and your reviews out!

    • Brett.Tesol profile image

      Brett Caulton 

      6 years ago from Thailand

      Another new site for earning, nice find Alocsin. How much are you earning there now?

      Will SHARE this, as I am sure a few others would like some extra $$$s

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile image

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      it'd another stream of income, and it all adds up. I'll have to check this out...

    • Naima Manal profile image

      Naima Manal 

      6 years ago from NY

      Thank you for sharing. I did not know about this site, but I intend to sign up. It's true, every penny does count.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Maybe I'll run into you there.

    • thelyricwriter profile image

      Richard Ricky Hale 

      6 years ago from West Virginia

      Voted up and useful. Very well written. I have been at the site for a few months now. I have only written a few reviews and write a few per month. Every penny counts. As usual, it takes time but in the end, it is worth it.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      I do write articles regularly for them, so can vouch for them.

    • J.S.Matthew profile image

      JS Matthew 

      6 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      I want to check this out! Thanks for posting. Voting up.

      JSMatthew~

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the information. It is a good site to look up.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      I hop3e you do cardelean. Let me know if you end up signing up.

    • cardelean profile image

      cardelean 

      6 years ago from Michigan

      Thanks for the information. I've never heard of the site before but just might check it out.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Thank you all for responding. Please let me know how it works out for you if you decide to try it.

    • livelovelaugh5 profile image

      livelovelaugh5 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for sharing! Haven't heard of this site. Voted up!

    • profile image

      FutureDrKate 

      6 years ago

      That's pretty sweet!

    • healthywholefoods profile image

      healthywholefoods 

      6 years ago

      sounds like a pretty good deal. If you have some extra time and like to give your opinion, it sounds like a great gig. If nothing else, you could write 100 reviews, and see what you get for it.

    • tammyswallow profile image

      Tammy 

      6 years ago from North Carolina

      Thank you for sharing that. I never knew if those surveys were ligit! Voted up and tweeted.

    • Loi-Renee profile image

      Loi-Renee 

      6 years ago from Jamaica

      I've never heard of this site before. Off to check it out. Voted up and interesting.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Well, unfortunately, you won't be making much per review individually, but aggregated together you can make money. This month (January), they have the $1 per new review promotion, so reviews will at least get that. But it's small, I admit.

    • kikalina profile image

      kikalina 

      6 years ago from Europe

      I havent had much luck with epinions. Maybe I should look again!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)