ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Personal Finance»
  • Income & Making Money

Penny Auction Site Reviews: Stealing Deals, Weeding Shills

Updated on January 5, 2012

With eBay losing the faith  and internet auction hunters turning to sites like Bonanzle instead, many bargain hunters are discovering penny auctions as another good way to go.  There are some genuinely amazing finds to be had with penny auctions for a very small investment (where else can you pick up an iPod for just a few cents?), but there are also quite a few scam sites out there as well.  How do you tell the scams from the legit sites?  By learning how these sites work, where the potential pitfalls are, and picking up on a few rules of thumb.  In this site you'll not only learn the basics of what these penny auctions sites are and how they work, you'll find out how scam sites do what they do, and learn to tell the gems from the scams.  Then we'll review a few of the better sites out there, and turn you loose to grab merchandise, gift cards and cold, hard cash at cents on the dollar.

How penny auction sites work

Merchandise is offered on a penny auction site.  If the site has a lot of users, there could be eight or more auctions going on at once, at every hour of the day.  If the site is just starting up, there may be just one auction at a time, they may be staggered in hour or half-hour intervals, or the site may actually only feature auctions one hour per day.  Users interested in these sites have purchased bids, which they then use to try to outbid each other on the items.  Unlike a standard auction site, each bid only jumps the price up by a penny.  It also increases the time left on the item's auction clock, allowing other users to bid again.  The last user to place a bid on the item wins it, generally for something between a few cents and a few bucks.

What kinds of items can I expect?

Primarily, penny auction sites feature $50 and $100 gift cards for everything from J.C. Penney's, Borders, Home Depot and Shell, to restaurants like Olive Garden and Applebee's, to Visa gift cards which can be spent like cash.  Recently, a few penny auction sites have actually been auctioning off cash which, absurdly, goes for much less than the actual cash value most of the time.  The idea here is generally to draw new users to the site, and keep them coming back.  Personal electronics like iPod Nanos and Touches are big draws, and many of these sites have been regularly auctioning off Netbooks (a smaller, more lightweight take on notebook computers) and huge wall-mount plasma display TVs.  Gaming systems like PlayStation 3s and Gamecubes are common, and once in a while a site may penny auction off a car.  Different sites tend to follow their own themes and trends of merchandise; one site may specialize in electronics, another in home furnishings, still another in handbags, jewelry and fashion accessories.  Part of finding the right penny auction site for you involves checking out their selection, and seeing if they auction off products you actually want.

How do penny auction sites make their money?

In short, they're banking on having (or gaining) enough users to keep the whole thing profitable.  You may have bought a PlayStation 3 for $10.54, but the site has made more than that.  Remember, for each bid you've used you've also spent the money you used to buy the bids from the site in the first place.  Depending on the sites, bids usually cost between three cents to a dollar a bid.  So on a site where bids cost, say, fifty cents each, the $10.54 that the PlayStation went up to in penny-bid increments also represents $527.00 earned by the site as each bidder threw in bids... meaning that the product actually went for $537.40.  Still, this is a more ideal case than most sites encounter, at least at first, because they haven't acquired enough users to pump the bidding up that far.  When you see a $50 gift card going for nine cents, you know the site probably lost their shirt on the deal, but that they're counting on getting enough users soon to make up the difference.  In the meantime, whoever got that $50 gift card with five bids of their own, each costing fifty cents each, has come out of it with quite a bargain.

What do scam penny auction sites do?

When a website is just starting out, be it a penny auction site or any other kind, it hasn't yet attracted a lot of users.  For a penny auction site, this means that their products are bidding for very low amounts, and a starting penny auction site can lose quite a bit at first while it's waiting for new users to trickle in.  Fraudulent penny auction sites create fake users to place fake bids on their items, in order to keep the final bid price high.  Any real user who logs in and buys bids ends up wasting their money on them, because either they'll never win the item with all the fake bidding going on, or they'll get it for an absurdly high price as a result.  Either way, the scam site has just defrauded them out of most of the money they've spent there.  Using this kind of fake bidding, either through a program (called a "bot") or by having friends or employees placing friendly bids (they're called "shills") defrauds people and makes the site less than worthless in terms of winning auctions.  (Although you could come away with far more money just suing the pants off them, as website owners are necessarily easy to track down through their internet registration.)

Penny Auction Directories:

How can I tell a legitimate penny auction site from a scam?

It's actually pretty easy. First, you can check to see whether the usernames who are shown bidding are up all hours of the day, bidding consistently.

Secondly, you can check whether a site with an awful lot of supposed users on it is actually getting enough real traffic to account for them by checking their internet traffic statistics, either on this handy table or by googling for "site traffic statistics" and using a conventional service to find out more about them. If there's heavy bidding going on but the site doesn't have much traffic coming to it, you can bet it's a fake, and prepare to unleash the attorneys.

Finally, you can keep your ear to the ground. Google for the site's name and another keyword like "scam", "shill", or "bot". You can check blogs like Penny Auction Watch. The standard practice seems to be that if someone calls fraud, run. But I'm a little cautious about that practice. By that logic, a scam site could post messages alleging fraud on the part of a bigger, more established site, and users would leave it in droves for no reason. This isn't good practice. A more sensible approach would be that if someone calls fraud, assess and evaluate. And of course an even more sane approach would be that if fraud is discovered, sue the bejeezus out of them enough to give anyone even considering starting up a fraudulent site the heebie-jeebies.

If you've been defrauded by a website, you may be able to come out of it with a ton of cash.  Be sure to read What to do when a website rips you off.

What should I look for in a penny auction site?

  • Are there items you'd actually want? - Before registering with a site, make sure they feature products you actually have a use for. There's obviously little point in picking up a $50 McDonald's gift card for four cents plus shipping if you're a vegetarian. Another site may have that coffee maker you've been eyeing... but what happens once you've nabbed it? Does the site have enough things you'd want, frequently enough, to make it worth buying bids on it? Still another site may feature a selection of movies you'd never watch and games you'd never play (usually because DVDs can be very easy for a site owner to come by). Not particularly useful. That being said, as you peruse what's on offer keep in mind that you can also use penny auction sites to snag awesome gifts at even awesomer prices... doing that Christmas shopping early the whole year 'round has never been more fun, or less costly.
  • Does the site have enough auctions? - There's little point in sinking money into bids on a site that has one auction a day. Look for sites that have at least one auction, preferably multiple simultaneous auctions, on a constant basis. (The flip side of this reasoning is that sites with less auctions tend to be that way because they don't yet have a lot of users, and that can be good for you. But even the few users it does have tend to focus on the one or two auctions a day it does have, and that's bad.)
  • The ideal amount of users - Sites with few users tend not to have many auctions, and tend not to have much selection in terms of their inventory. Contrariwise, sites with more users and more auctions tend to have bidding coming hot and heavy enough to drive up the prices and the number of bids necessary to win. So what's the right balance? Whichever you feel more comfortable with, actually. Settle on one and develop a bidding strategy around it. Even a packed site tends to have a dropoff at around 6am, when the majority of English speaking users who've been up all night have gone to bed, and before those in the daytime have gotten up and online. Nabbing auctions in off hours can be a good strategy.
  • Avoid sites with automatic user bidding - A few sites have begun to offer free automatic bidding as a "service"... but for whom?  The idea goes that you set your userbot with a minimum and maximum price, and a maximum number of bids to use up.  You point it at a specific auction and let it go to town.  But this so-called service ends up benefiting the site owner at the expense of the users.  In a scenario in which two or more users have set their bid-bots at an auction, the automatic bidding only succeeds in jumping the auction price (and the number of bids used) quite a bit as the bid-bots battle their way back and forth.  All concerned lose their bids, and the site owner has just made a tidy sum as a result.  Even worse, sites which do this and show the bid history of a closed auction raise the suspicion that any supposedly legitimate user who's been bid-botting could be working for the site owner, and defrauding the other users in the process.  And as if that weren't bad enough, site owners who've installed user-bots on their site could just as easily have used botting scripts for themselves, creating completely fake users to automatically compete against legitimate users.  Once botting scripts are installed, there's no way to know how they're being used.  Long story short, bots of any kind can make even the best of penny auction sites look suddenly dicey.
  • Sensible prices on bids - The average price for bids on a good site is around fifty to seventy-five cents.  Some sites have bids going for three cents, while a rare few charge a buck a bid.  If I'm paying more per bid, I naturally expect to see fewer bids winning the same auction, or I'm just wasting my time and money.  Dollar bids aren't necessarily a losing prospect, but make sure you're getting some good value for your money.  For example, the site may feature awesome products that other sites don't carry.  Decide if it's worth it, and let other users do the same.  The site will succeed or perish depending on whether enough users think it's worth it.

Penny auction sites reviewed:

I've reviewed a few of the more widely-used sites for you here.  There are plenty more listed at Penny Auction Traffic, complete with rankings and web-traffic statistics that are updated daily.

BidFight features some very impressive merchandise, and a very responsive customer service department. Auctions seem to happen at a rate of one per hour. Bids are a dollar each, which ordinarily would be a deal-breaker, but they have some very good items up for bid. I'm leery of their user-bots, which this site calls "Fight Assistants". For me, that scratches the site right there. But that may be what you're looking for.

LosingBid isn't quite a penny auction site, it's an auction site with a difference. What if whenever you bid on an item and got outbid, you actually got money in addition to what you'd already had? That's how it works here. About 40% of the difference between your bid and the next bid accrues to you. So you either get what you wanted, or you actually make money if you don't! LosingBid encourages people to bid on things they want, and selling items on it is currently free. So rather than putting your items up for sale on eBay, consider using LosingBid instead. Every once in a while someone comes up with a better idea that's an improvement on what sites are currently doing, and this appears to be one. You heard it here first!

Wavee's an example of what a penny auction site looks like when it's all grown up and has acquired a large enough user base. A goodly array of items, all of which were selling for absurdly low prices when last I checked ($50 Chevron gift card for 14 cents, Rock Band 2 Special Edition for 2 cents, a $50 Barnes & Noble gift card - for those who prefer to buy their literature by the pound at the publisher's discretion - going for 2 cents, and an XBox 360 Elite 120GB bundle pack going for 24 cents, just in case you wanted to opt into serfdom in Microsoft's demesnes.) 75 cents per bid, an auction every half-hour, and user-bidbots. Ordinarily bidbots of any kind would make a site a write-off, but with the final auction closing prices that low if they are trying to scam they're obviously doing something very, very wrong. Worth a look in.

Update: (courtesy Al Simpson)

Guess those deals at Wavee were TOO good:

"DNS service for this domain has expired with DNS Made Easy"

"11Alive did a story about penny auctions that featured Wavee in 2009 when their Better Business Bureau Rating was an "A" and two follow up stories as consumer complaints were made and the rating plunged to a D, then an F."

"Wavee has agreed to provide $202,000 in consumer restitution, a $35,000 civil penalty and 15,000 in administrative expenses. The Office of Consumer Affairs said Wavee has also agreed to pay the state $50,000 to establish a trust account for issuing refunds"

Zoozle has a decent selection at great prices. They even auction cash. Auctions are constant, set at an hour apart. Bids are 67 cents, with discounts increasing as you purchase in bulk. They provide user-bots, which they call "bid-buddies". A fair to middling site, depending upon what you're after. As I write this, the last auction sold was a 16GB blue iPod Nano for 16 cents, which is nothing to sneeze at.

DubLi has phenomenal items. The closing auction prices vary, even for the same item: a $200 Visa gift card sold for $18.50, and then for $49.75, then a third for $183.25. The closing auction prices I'm seeing at the moment look pretty high overall. Bid credits are eighty cents per. Prices of a current auction aren't shown until you place a bid, at which point the price is reduced by 25 cents and you have the option of purchasing it for that price. If you don't, someone else may place a bid and get it for less. This probably explains why the final prices are so high - not enough users lowering the prices. A reasonably clever approach to keeping site costs low as it accrues a user base... but one that keeps prices dissatisfyingly high, as well as allows other users to nab a product with a little more money before you're through chipping away at the price. DubLi has a modest amount of traffic... but I really don't see why.  There's really no point to lowering the price of something by 25 cents with each bid costing eighty cents.  I'm genuinely beginning to wonder both about the site, and its users.

In summary

Penny auction sites can offer extremely good bargains, if you do your research and plan ahead.  There's a plethora of sites to choose from, with new ones cropping up every day.  Choose one that everyone's heard about and you won't get much of a bargain with all the bidding.  Choose one that's just starting up and you risk finding the latest, greatest fraud.  Or at least... you would have, if you hadn't just learned how to tell legit sites from scams.  Now not only can you spot the difference, but you also have the option of catching a scam site in the act, calling up an attorney and pulling the plug on it... and making far more than a penny in the process.

Have fun!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 3 years ago from California

      Hi James,

      The best I've found recently is http://BidGunner.com. While they're limited to guns and ammo for licensed buyers, there are still amazing finds to be had there. Never would've thought there'd be a penny auction site for that.

      Be well,

      - Satori

    • profile image

      James 3 years ago

      I'm impressed at the length of this hub. Do you still participate in penny auctions?

      James,

      http://Bidsprices.com

    • profile image

      Larry 4 years ago

      Great info on penny auctions, check out http://funkysharkreviews.com

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 5 years ago from California

      Kaitlyn,

      I wasn't that impressed with them actually. Have a look at the results of the recent auctions. You'll notice that items are going for just a few cents, which means there wasn't a lot of bidding going on - which you'd expect from a site that just a few people know about. But look at all the different usernames! Lots of people evidently know about the site, now if they're getting the items for just a few cents you'd expect them to stay there and bid on lots of stuff! But that's not what happened - so it's far more likely that the site itself is just coming up with fake users and bidding itself. That's the risk with penny auction sites, and because most of them use a few of the same auction scripts, you never know if the bidding is legitimate or not. Checking the amount of internt traffic a site gets versus the amount of activity on it can also be a good way to find out about a site.

      Be well,

      - Satori

    • profile image

      Kaitlyn 5 years ago

      Hi, I am curious about sites like Beezid and QuiBids. Are they worth the price to buy bids? I am very wary of this and do not want to give in to a scam. Thanks for the wonderful tips! So very helpful!!

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 5 years ago from California

      Thanks for the update, Al! I've added that to the Wavee section here, and credited you with it. Readers will be glad to become aware.

      Be well,

      - Satori

    • profile image

      Al Simpson 5 years ago

      Guess those deals at Wavee were TOO good:

      "DNS service for this domain has expired with DNS Made Easy"

      "11Alive did a story about penny auctions that featured Wavee in 2009 when their Better Business Bureau Rating was an "A" and two follow up stories as consumer complaints were made and the rating plunged to a D, then an F."

      "Wavee has agreed to provide $202,000 in consumer restitution, a $35,000 civil penalty and 15,000 in administrative expenses. The Office of Consumer Affairs said Wavee has also agreed to pay the state $50,000 to establish a trust account for issuing refunds"

    • profile image

      ferdous wahid 5 years ago

      i have also a penny auction site.you can see it also:http://www.bidzbo.com

    • profile image

      BidAlot 5 years ago

      Koodeal.com is the biggest penny auction scam out there, they sell you bids then when you win and if you win they never ship your items, bewarned about this place and always search the web before joining any online auction.

    • profile image

      sharon 5 years ago

      i won 25 bids 6 months ago on your penny wins...they have not added the bids, nor done a swap with paypal. they have not responded to numerous emails...there is no customer service at this site. i fail to understand why this site has such a high rating with such deplorable service. the only site worst than this is bids4cheap which closed down without shipping my won auctions...does anyone have any suggestions as to what can be done. in my opinion, your penny wins should close its doors since it can't or won't ship won auctions,and never responds to emails.

    • profile image

      JackShzlo 5 years ago

      Satori,

      Great hub on penny auctions. You nicely laid out everything a user needs to know before bidding on penny auctions. Excellent writeup, thank you for sharing it! You can also check http://www.pennyauctions4you.com/ site for other penny auction reviews

      Thank again for your good work!

    • profile image

      Pennyauctionscanada scam 5 years ago

      Penny auctions Canada is the biggest scam out there. They lie about shipping out items and they overcharge on shipping. They charge you 5$ and it costs them .59 cents. A real scam. Also they hire ppl to bid to bring up he bids.don't ever deal with this company

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 5 years ago from California

      Chad,

      Always glad to assist a site in setting the record straight. It's refreshing to hear that a site is so clear in its terms with users.

      In future, please know that promotional Comments, particularly those with ALL CAPS, will be removed. Thanks!

      Be well,

      - Satori

    • profile image

      CHAD 5 years ago

      Hello this is Sparepennyauction.com, all penny auction sites sell their merchandise at 10%-13% of retail. We are a bot free stealth free site. Which is different than other sites that use bots and stealth bidding to generate a false pricing which results in a fraud being perpetrated on the customer. Our terms and conditions are very clear about our pricing policy if you read these terms and conditions than you would have clearly understood our bidding format. And in closing I find your statement very offensive that we are using our charities to bring people to the site, Bella's House Of Charities was established in honor of my granddaughter to show her a life lesson of giving back to kids less forchanant than her. This is a new site which requires 2 or more real people to bid at this auction not like other sites where the names change and the price stays the same. We are a honest site that does not mislead you but you have a choice of playing with real people or giving your money away to bots. Maybe next time you will call us at the phone number that is clearly provided in the terms and conditions before making false statements on the internet thank you for your time. Sparepennyauction.com

    • profile image

      Chelly 5 years ago

      Beware new penny auction site , SPARE PENNY AUCTIONS, the game here is in the terms buried at the bottom , no auction will close unless it is at least 10 percent of the value so when the timer is ready to close it just adds 15 cents to each items until it gets to the 10 percent mark which could take years or months on a new site like this, they have a 22,000 dollar necklace up so the bidding has to go to 2200 bids before it sells right now its at 38 cents they will be gone before it sells. They play on donations to charities to bring in people not selling till they get their price you could be waiting months or years to win anything. They are also rude and know just what they are doing

    • profile image

      Alex Martenexen 5 years ago

      Giving Away up to 50 Bids

      I'm giving away 50 free bids to play in my penny auction site. Register

      for Free and you will receive 50 Free Bids.

      Bid on technology, jewelry, home appliances, and more, and only

      pay the final price http://brasill.zeekler.com/splash/

    • profile image

      Stentor 6 years ago

      Satori, you should also warn people about all of the shill sites that write glowing reviews that are basically written by someone in cahoots with the site, or sites, themselves in order to fool anyone trying to find legitimate reviews.

      I've noticed this practice with a number of businesses of varying types, it's pretty easy to spot once you know what to look for. One real estate huckster had his Google searches mined so well that I was never able to find any negative comments whatsoever regarding his site, no matter how far down the list I went, and I went about 50 pages deep into his search, something that tipped me off big-time that he and his associates were mining the searches with shilled reviews. No one, I repeat, no one is going to have 100% positive commentary, that's a big red warning flag. I've noticed some shill reviews for penny auctions, but they're pretty easy to spot.

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 6 years ago from California

      Dana,

      Who writes the auction software you use? It would be worth the while of customers and auction holders alike if they'd make a page on their site that people could log into and verify whether bots were used on the site. I could write them and suggest it.

      Be well,

      - Satori

    • profile image

      Dana 6 years ago

      AxoBids.com is a new Penny Auction site featuring brand new name brand products and we are completely legit no shill bidders no bots. Right now we are featuring a starter pack for $20.00 which gets you 40 bids plus we are giving you 5 more free bids. And we have free shipping! Our products are now averaging a 90% savings over retail. Check us out and get in on the savings!

    • profile image

      Goinggoingsold 6 years ago

      Michel, tell everyone about the time a $100.00 Walmart Gift Card came up with auto bidder and I set the auto bidder at 100 bids. When the card came up for auction it had changed to no auto bidder just single bids. I was the only auto bidder but had no way to stop or add to my bids because of the change. You said it was a mistake. I think you did it on purpose. I have never seen on any penny auction where an item that comes up with auto bid change into a single bid auction. koodeal? is a SCAM!!!

      Explain how my son Will won a Samsung Blue-Ray valued at $259.99 or you might say he bought it after all the bids he used and you sent him a? replacement valued at $199.99. He tried to return it with no answer from you. Because he won an item over $200.00 he was not able to bid again for 7 days. But you say the Blue rays are the same. I say your a scam and a darn crook. He has put in a complaint with Paypal and will win. Stop cheating your members or is that how it works on koodeal.com

      Tell everyone how you promise free bids of 20% for getting new members to join then after they join you stop giving the reward, If you denied this then you are? a lire and I can prove it". Tell them about the hidden shipping charge on items you buy and then have to pay for shipping. I got more want to hear them? Try bidoo.ca its? the most trusted site in Canada

      There are many unhappy X members that are calling this site a scam. Do a search on koodeal scam and read all the post about them before you think about joining. You might save yourself a pile of money. Watch out for the bidders? that never run out of bids and will pay 100 times the value of a $25.00 gift card, yet could have bought it out for 0.00 cents. Seams very unnatural to me. could be bots or bid butlers or someone working for koodeal. Stay away is your best bet!

      Anyone reading this don't you think its funny Michel or Mark from koodeal.com won't come on here and defend there own advertisement. Ill tell you why, no balls and they know everything I said can be proven plus they are afraid I might tell more horror stories about koodeal and how the scam works! Come on out boys tell everyone its not true and how honest you crooks are! Im waiting!

    • profile image

      Goinggoingsold 6 years ago

      I have been on koodeal.com for a month 1/2 now. I have lost over $12000.00 since then, I have found many problems on this site from auto bidder not working fairly to catching cheaters ganging up on new members to stealing the items being bid on. I have proof of every thing Im saying and will post them one at a time. After I caught the members cheating they got a 24 hour supention and were back at it the next day. The owner or man I talked to at koodeal was Mitchel. I had a problem yesterday when the auto bidder screwed up and bid twice to every bid made by two other bidders, one was called lovetobid and the other was asaliah how I think were working together or for koodeal. The item was a gremin worth $160.00 and I spent over 250 bids valued at 70 cents each. I reported the problem to Mitchel from koodeal and asked him to look at the auto bidder that screwed up or was maybe made to screw up. He said he would look into it. i waited all day to find my account with koodeal was suspended. STAY off this SITE or you will loss your shirt. There are several things I found crooked from being charged shipping when it never said so on the item I was bidding on. Right now I will be seeing a lawyer and calling bbb plus internet fraud along with Paypal about hidden charges. This place is as crooked as they get. BE WARNED

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 6 years ago from California

      Citation needed, please.

    • profile image

      Used dozer auction 6 years ago

      In the early days of internet auctions, you were much more likely to be scammed out than you are today.

    • profile image

      missy 6 years ago

      Pennyauctiononline.com does NOT deliver what you win...avoid !!! Joe the rep for the company accused me of fraud in order to avoid sending me my winnings! POOR customer service!!!! Do NOT take the chance and get ripped off like me!

    • profile image

      Bidzer0 6 years ago

      A new way to win premium products for free, using fun and original auctions. To participate in the auction, you must register for free on the site www.bidZer0.com.

      Fan Page Facebook :

      http://www.facebook.com/pages/BidZer0-Win-For-Free...

      Check why bidZer0 isn't spam and fraude :

      http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?name=bidzer0...

    • profile image

      Online Penny Bidding 6 years ago

      I am an auction lover. And a information about auction is make me crazy.

    • profile image

      Unique Penny Auction 6 years ago

      Gilabid is newest online Unique penny auction website where you can save up to 99% on LCD-TVs,Laptops,Mobile Cell Phones,Ipods,Digital Cameras and more.We offer bargains on brand new high quality products.

    • profile image

      Joe 6 years ago

      I basically did all my christmas(2011) shopping on there, and then some. Super fast shipping, and the only site i've come across that actually gives you bids back when you win. I definitely recommend!!

      http://www.articlesmoz.com/get-a-great-deal-with-p...

    • profile image

      Loretta 6 years ago

      I looked into what I think is a new penny auction site - Koodeal - I think it's Canadian. THey say you can only win 4 times in a 7-day period. I looked at the Winners List and noticed that some names were there 5 times in 2 days! THen I noticed that the same names started showing up more than 4 times but they put a dash in front or after the name, but obviously still the same bidder, just trying to get around the 4-time limit. I emailed them about this and am awaiting to see if they'll actually reply.

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 6 years ago from California

      Thanks, Penny Auction List.

      I've added a section here for Penny Auction directories. You're on it, natch.

      Be well,

      - Satori

    • profile image

      Penny Auction List 6 years ago

      Satori,

      Good hub on penny auctions. I'm even more impressed that you put all of this together before penny auctions went mainstream.

      More and more sites are starting each day, so I created a site called the Penny Auction List back in January of 2010. We only feature penny auctions that have a proven track record - http://pennyauctionlist.com

      Thanks again for your work.

    • profile image

      Foopile Penny Auctions 6 years ago

      Excellent writeup. Thank you for sharing this article. Your tips on what to look for in a penny auction site is very helpful to bidders. Not all penny auction sites are scams, users just have to do a research on the company that they'll be investing on. I am looking forward to reading your blogs about penny auctions. Good luck!

    • profile image

      Stacy 6 years ago

      Bidmacs.com is huge ripoff! I have read online that many people, like me, were tricked into buying bids with the offer of free bids. I used the site, thinking it was my fault for buying the bids in the first place, and i placed over 70 bids on a product. When the timer got down to 3 seconds i clicked bid again and the auction closed! After 45 minutes of very active bidding by, what looked like many people, a bidder that i hadn't seen at all bid and won. The auction closed early even though i put in a bid and all of the other times i clicked on the bid button it took my bid even if i bid at the same time as someone else! I have called the toll free number twice. The first time I sat on hold for 10 minutes and i hung up, the second time i sat on hold for 15 minutes and i got hung up on! I have sent an email to try to get my money back.....we will see how that goes. I will visit the ripoff hub thanks!

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 6 years ago from California

      Sidhant,

      Please see my Hub, "What to do when a website rips you off". http://hubpages.com/t/1601e0

      Enjoy!

      - Satori

    • profile image

      Sidhant Jalan 6 years ago

      Please dont use www.bidmacs.com

      The site is a fraud. I have not received my gifts after 1 month of winning and paying.

      Several calls to call center without any useful response.

    • profile image

      Jay 6 years ago

      You say you don't like auto bidders, but you dont post any sites that don't use them.

    • profile image

      Penny Auction 6 years ago

      Really nice writeup Satori! Thanks!

    • cheappennyauction profile image

      cheappennyauction 6 years ago from http://www.cheappennyauctions.com

      Excellent Article. You can also check out http://www.cheappennyauctions.com for some reviews i have done on a few penny auction sites

    • profile image

      Penny Auction Sites 6 years ago

      Really nice writeup Satori! Thanks!

    • profile image

      SKG 6 years ago

      Andrew: keep us up to date on how your car works out!

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 7 years ago from California

      Karlene,

      Glad you enjoyed my article. If you'd like to hire some freelance research into the topic, you're welcome to e-mail me.

      Be well,

      - Satori

    • profile image

      KARLENE 7 years ago

      Hi, I was wondering which sites offer 3 cents per bid. Could you let me know.

      Thank you

    • profile image

      Andrew 7 years ago

      Great Post!!! i have used www.centstreet.com for auction and won a mercedes car at just $3000

    • profile image

      AnthonyDefusto 7 years ago

      Nice blog!! i also know a very good site for penny auctions Bidzillion.com !!!! Save up to 99% off retail at BidZillion.com online auctions

    • Satori profile image
      Author

      Satori 7 years ago from California

      Mike,

      Thanks for your interest. I don't generally do promotions. You're welcome to contact me (there's a link under my picture on this page) with more information. Your site doesn't seem to be a penny auction site, though.

      Be well,

      - Satori

    • profile image

      Mike 7 years ago

      Great article writing skills here, a great piece of work indeed. I need to hire you to do promotions for my website jackpotlots.com. Are you available???? Thanks

    • profile image

      upgrayyed 7 years ago

      Great article, I was pretty convinced that all of these penny auction websites were a scam, but after reading this page it actually makes sense as to how they're able to sell items at such low prices while still being a profitable business model. Thanks and keep up the good work.

    • profile image

      amyshines 7 years ago

      There is a new format called Skill Shopping which is a lot fairer, because you can buy the item any time you want. I use www.somuchcheaper.com because they guarantee lower than retail pricing.

    • rebepa333 profile image

      rebepa333 7 years ago from New York State : )

      Get Hub! Great info!

    • profile image

      thehammer 7 years ago

      One site i love is http://www.5050auctions.com. I basically did all my christmas shopping on there, and then some. Super fast shipping, and the only site i've come across that actually gives you bids back when you win. I definitely recommend!!

    • Benz B profile image

      Benz B 7 years ago

      Wow. I never heard of penny auction until now. I definitely have to look into them.