jump to last post 1-1 of 1 discussions (10 posts)

Binary options

1. TMHughes profile image93
    TMHughesposted 4 years ago

What do you think about binary options? Are they a valid trading instrument or just plain gambling?

1. PhoenixV profile image81
      PhoenixVposted 4 years agoin reply to this

I'd never heard of it. When you say "gambling" do you mean more gambling than the stock market already is?

TMHughesposted 4 years agoin reply to this

Binary options are an all-or-nothing trading vehicle with two possible outcomes, win or lose. They are offered in two ways, on U.S. regulated exchanges like NADEX or OTC from off-shore brokers. Many in the financial industry have been negging binary options because of the perceived risk and because they are only good for speculation. The thing is, speculating of any kind is gambling. I have been researching binaries for several months now and have concluded that they are as viable a "trading" instrument as any other form of option, future or derivative. Note that I did not use the word investment because binary options are not an investment. Aside from speculations they are also good for hedging positions.

Sounds very risky to me especially If I had to depend on OTC off-shore brokers. It sounds really imperative with an option like that, one would need a very reliable broker and 100% communication ability. It sounds like you would have to be on top of it constantly. I don't expect a reliable broker and 100% communication on a regular order from a well known broker on a big stock.