ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Politics and Social Issues»
  • India & South Asia Political & Social Issues

2014 Loksabha in Chhattisgarh

Updated on May 5, 2014




Chhattisgarh,comprising of 27 districts, was established on 1st November in 2000.It has unicameral legislature with 90 seats.There are 11 parliamentary constituencies.Raman singh and Shekhar Dutt lead the state as the Chief Minister and Governor of the state. ) A total population of 25,545,198 live here in a total area of 135,194.5 km2 . 71.04% literate people live here.Hindi and Chhattisgarhi( a language from Hindi) are official languages here .Chhattisgarh ,a state in India ,is surrounded by Uttar Pradesh and Jharkhand in the north,Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra in the west,Orissa in the east,Andhra Pradesh in the sounth.

Chhattisgarh has 11 parliamentary constituencies and 90 assembly constituencies.Chief Minister Raman Singh from BJP alliance has been governing the state in governorship of Shekhar Dutt.Congress is opposition here.

Of late in 2013 Chhattisgarh Assembly election was held where Bharatiya Janata Party got 49 seats,Indian National Congress got 39 seats,Bahujan Samaj Party got 1 seat and one was crowned by other.So it is clear that the supremacy of Bharatiya Janata Party over Congress is a comfortable fact for the party.But congress is also not lagging behind.What is going to be ,is a matter of mystery.

2009 Loksabha Result in Chhattisgarh

No and Name of Parliamentary Constituency
Member of Parliament
1 Sarguja
Murarilal Singh (died Dec 2013)
Bharatiya Janata Party
2 Raigarh
Vishnu Deo Sai
Bharatiya Janata Party
3 Janjgir-Champa
Kamla Devi Patle
Bharatiya Janata Party
4 Korba
Charan Das Mahant
Indian National Congress
5 Bilaspur
Dilip Singh Judeo
Bharatiya Janata Party
6 Rajnandgaon
Madhusudan Yadav
Bharatiya Janata Party
7 Durg
Saroj Pandey
Bharatiya Janata Party
8 Raipur
Ramesh Bais
Bharatiya Janata Party
9 Mahasamund
Chandulal Sahu (Chandu Bhaiya)
Bharatiya Janata Party
10 Bastar
Baliram Kashyap (died March 2011)
Bharatiya Janata Party
10 Bastar
Dinesh Kashyap (May 2011 bye-elections)
Bharatiya Janata Party

2004 Loksabha Result in Chhattisgarh

No,Name,Category of Parliamentary Constituencies
Member of Parliament
Nearest Contestant
1 Surguja (ST)
Nand Kumar Sai (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Khelsay Singh (Indian National Congress)
2 Raigarh (ST)
Vishnudeo Sai (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Rampukar Singh(Indian National Congress)
3 Janjgir
Karuna Shukla F (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Dr. Charandas Mahant(Indian National Congress)
4 Bilaspur (SC)
Punnulal Mohle (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Dr. Basant Pahre(Indian National Congress)
5 Sarangarh (SC)
Guharam Ajgalle (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Parasram Bhardwa(Indian National Congress)
6 Raipur
Ramesh Bais (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Shyamacharan Shukla(Indian National Congress)
7 Mahasamund
Ajit Jogi (Indian National Congress)
Vidhya Charan Shukla (Bharatiya Janata Party)
8 Kanker (ST)
Sohan Potai (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Mrs. Ganga Potai Thakur(Indian National Congress)
9 Bastar (ST)
Baliram Kashyap (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Mahendra Karma(Indian National Congress)
10 Durg
Tarachand Sahu (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Bhupesh Baghel(Indian National Congress)
11 Rajnandgaon
Pradeep Gandhi (Bharatiya Janata Party)
Devvrat Singh(Indian National Congress)
By Polls Rajnandgaon
Dev Wrat Singh (Indian National Congress)
Leela Ram Bhojwani (Bharatiya Janata Party)

Previous Result of Loksabha in Chhattisgarh

Bharatiya Janata Party has succeeded to hold the maximum number of parliamentary constituencies in Chhattisgarh.It bagged 10 out of 11 in 2004 Loksabha election leaving one for Congress.In 2009 it succeeded to keep the same .It got 10 again and spread the influence of Bharatiya Janata Party all over the state of Chhattisgarh.Thus it hopes to maintain the same orelse increase one and get the full out of 11 Loksabha seats here.

2014 Loksabha Poll Dates in Chhattisgarh

10th April
17th April
24th April
Janjgir Champa

Poll Percentage/Turnout

first phase took place on 10th April in Bastar parliamentary constituency which recorded a total 47% turnout at the end of the day inspite of Naxal attack in the maoist hit Bastar. Korra, Amirgarh, Samoli, Thanikarka, Nednar, Padeli, and Raigabodi .In the second phase on 17th April for three Maoist hit parliamentary constituencies the average turnout was 63.44% .Aproximately 66% was recorded in the 3rd phase of polling for the seven seats parliamentary election.

Contesting Candidates in Chhattisgarh for 2014 Loksabha

Parliamentary Constituency No,Name,Category
Bharatiya Janata Parta
Indian National Congress
1 Surguja (ST)
Shri Kamalbhan Singh
Ramdeo Ram
2 Raigarh (ST)
Shri Vishnudev Sai
Ms. Aarti Singh(In place of Dr Maneka Singh)
3 Janjgir Champa (SC)
Smt Kamla Patle
Premchand Jaisi
4 Korba
Dr Banshilal Mahato
Charan Das Mahant
5 Bilaspur
Shri Lakhanlal Sau
Smt. Karuna Shukla
6 Rajnandgaon
Shri Abhishek Singh
Dr. Kamleshwar Verma
7 Durg
Sushree Saroj Pandey Constituency (F)
Tamradhwaj Sahu
8 Raipur
Shri Ramesh Bais
Satyanarayan Sharma(In place of Chayya Verma)
9 Mahasamund
Shri Chandulal Sahu
Ajit Jogi
10 Bastar (ST)
Shri Dinesh Kashyap
Deepak Karma
11 Kanker (ST)
Shri Vikram Usendi
Smt. Phoolo Devi Netam


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.