ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Politics and Social Issues»
  • India & South Asia Political & Social Issues

India at a Glance ,Location,Size,Population,Neighbours,Language etc.

Updated on September 5, 2015

India Location

latitudes and longitudes of India
latitudes and longitudes of India

Location and Shape of India


India is located just at the mid position of south part of Asia continent.India is a vast country.It is situated at the north area of Indian ocean. India is located on the Indian Plate which is a northern part of the Indo-Australian Plate . The equator lies in the country. The country is situated between 8°4'N and 37°6' N latitudes.In respect of longitudes there are 68°7' E and 97°25' E border the country. India has a broad area of 3, 287, 782 sq. km. or 1, 269, 219 sq miles.From north to south India is 3214 kms or 1997 miles and from east to west it is 2933 kms or 1822 miles. India is the seventh largest country in the world after Russia , Canada, China, United States of America ,Brazil and Australia. It has a coastline of 7,517 km.


This country is like a human being having two arms in west and east.It has the head in form of Jammu & Kashmir.The south of India is triangular in shape having circled by Arabian sea in west, Indian ocean in south and Bay of Bengal in east. Andaman and Nicobar Islands in the Bay of Bengal and Lakshadweep Islands in Arabian Sea are part of the Republic of India. These are the Union Territories of India.


Indian States


Andhra Pradesh Divided

The 29th State of India ,Telengana is born out of Andhra Pradesh.Andhra Pradesh has been split into two parts Telengana and Seemandhra.The red colored north is Telengana.The south of Andhra is Seemandhra.
The 29th State of India ,Telengana is born out of Andhra Pradesh.Andhra Pradesh has been split into two parts Telengana and Seemandhra.The red colored north is Telengana.The south of Andhra is Seemandhra.

States,Union Territories and Neighbors of India


India has now 28 (now 29)states in total.There are seven Union Territories like Andaman & Nicobar Islans, Daman & Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep, Chandigarh,Puducherry and Delhi.Delhi ,the capital of India is now stamped as NCT or National Capital Territory.Language wsa the main issue for the divisions of states.The Indian states are

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Arunachal Pradesh
  3. Assam (Asam)
  4. Bihar
  5. Chhattisgarh
  6. Goa
  7. Gujarat
  8. Haryana
  9. Himachal Pradesh
  10. Jammu and Kashmir
  11. Jharkhand
  12. Karnataka
  13. Kerala
  14. MadhyaPradesh
  15. Maharashtra
  16. Manipur
  17. Meghalaya
  18. Mizoram
  19. Nagaland
  20. Odisha
  21. Punjab
  22. Rajasthan
  23. Sikkim
  24. Tamil Nadu
  25. Telangana
  26. Tripura
  27. Uttar Pradesh
  28. Uttarakhand
  29. West Bengal


There are countries like Pakistan and Afghanistan in the west, China and Nepal in the north , Bhutan in the north east ,Burma in the west, Bangladesh in the east and Ceylon in the south as its neighbors.There are not only foreign lands but also natural strengths those have been guarding India since its origin.The Himalayas in the North guards India like a sleepless gigantic bodyguard.Three water bodies are also sources of relief for the Indians and India.

Scheduled Languages of India

Indian Languages


The Republic of India has its official language and it is Hindi in Debnagari script.English is also used as official language.Our constitution has not given any language national language status.

The Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution enlists 22 languages have been enlisted in a list and stamped as scheduled languages.Languages like Tamil ,Sanskrit ,Telugu ,Kannada , Malayalam and Odia have been awarded the marks of classical language.Scheduled languages are Assamese (Asamiya), Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santali, Sindhi, tamil,Telegu and Urdu.

2001 Census revealed that there were 122 major languages and 1599 other languages in India. “30 languages were spoken by more than a million native speakers and 122 languages were spoken by more than 10,000 people”. Hindi language serves as the lingua franca in whole India except south. Anti Hindi movement is found somewhere in the south India.


Delhi is the India’s capital.The largest town of India is Mumbai . The largest state of India is Rajasthan.The smallest state of India is Goa.The most populated state of India is Uttar Pradesh.Least people live in Sikkim.The highest rate of population in India is in West Bengal.Uttar Pradesh has the most number of people of 19,98,12,341.So it is the first in relation to population.Goa has only 14,58,545 people. 76,36,38,812 people out of 1,21,08,54,977 are literate people.Thus is the case of peninsular India.The beautifully naturally decorated peninsula is a country of varieties.There are so many languages,cultures,religions,festivals but the unity is unbreakable .There is really unity in diversities. This is India,the glorious rich land.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.