ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Opinions Vs. Facts

Updated on May 9, 2016

Opinions vs. Facts vs. Subtle Mind Control

What is Your Opinion?

This is a question that has been asked so often that it has lost some of its value. The word "opinion" according to Webster is, "a belief based on grounds insufficient to "certainty." It is also defined by Webster as "a personal attitude or appraisal; a formal "expression" of professional judgment or a favorable estimate or esteem. Not that there is nothing of certainty in the word opinion. The word was intended to be used as it is defined:

. a belief

. an attitude or appraisal

. a professional judgment

. favorable "estimate

. Esteem

See any facts in an "opinion?"

Now, let's look at the word "Fact." Webster defines "fact" as:

. Reality

. Actuality

. Something known to exist or have happened

. Something known or said to be "true."

We've all encountered individuals who steadfastly refuse to accept that theirs are merely "opinions" and not "fact." It's an interesting little conundrum dealing with mindsets that are irrepairably determined to create opinions as facts. It doesn't ever work, of course. But they do keep trying. We call these mindsets: narrow minds. We call them "narrow" for a reason. Their thinking is based on personal opinions, not facts, they insist must be reality or an actuality. See the error in that thinking?

A five year old child believes fictional characters in story books are real. Narrow minds create the fictional characters in opinionated statements that are neither real nor actual. Perhaps, the more difficult part of narrow minds is the inability for them to accept that it is not possible to prove negatives. Nor, is it possible to make fiction into reality when the fiction has no basis in fact.

Certainly, there have been instances of fiction that became reality. For example, the famed fiction author, Jules Verne imagined a vessel that could sail a "Thousand Leagues under the Sea." That kind of fiction had a basis in fact: science that could produce submarines. Conversely, there have been examples of fiction that simply cannot or would not ever be real or actual. We can begin the examples with old woman who lived in a shoe. Can you see yourselves living in a pair of sneakers? Or hiking boots? Or for that matter, a pair of Captain Nemo's flippers?

Fiction writers often base their stories on characters and plots they can "fashion" into diverse tales that capture the imagination. Opinionated people do the same. They fashion their characters and plots into fictional situations that in the light of reality have not or will never happen. Stoically, they march on insisting their opinion is fact.

Facts, Nothing But the Facts

In any legal or judicial environment, facts and "only" facts are the core of allowable presentation. There are penalties for deliberately presenting false statements and evidence that have no basis in fact. The reason is clear. These types of statements and evidence cannot be proven. So facts rely entirely on proof. What is Webster's definition of "proof?"

1. Evidence to establish as thing as true or believable.

2. The establishment of a truth or fact

Evidence (there's that word again) must be established before anything can be proven to be true or believable. But, here is where the narrow minds tend to become fuzzy. They believe they "establish" truth or fact, albeit without solid evidence as proof by simply expressing their personal opinion on any issue.

When a scientist seeks the truth, he first gathers "evidence." Narrow minds feel no need of evidence. Evidence gets in their way. If they have the opinion that the Rock of Gibraltar is really a pebble, they feel they have the right to "establish" that as truth and worse, fact.

In order to make narrow minded opinions work to their advantage, rewriting and reinventing truth and facts is crucial to their recipe. Two milligrams of fact twisted and contorted to suit and voila! The narrow minded opinion becomes truth.

Opinions vs. Facts

The recipe for disaster with opininated individuals who ignore facts and truth strikes at the very heart of why science strives for evidence to prove their theories. Opinions are similar to theories. Webster tells us theories are "a group of general propositions used as principals of explanations for a class of phenomena or an explanation whose status is still conjectural." The relationship between opinion and theory is that neither are proven to be factual or actual.

Tell a narrow mind their opinion is an explanation whose status is "still conjectural" and you set off an international incident in your own backyard.

Opinions are like mercury. It is impossible to hold mercury in your hand without it tumbling onto the floor in tiny silver rivulets. That's where the saying, "You can't hold Mercury in your hand," relates to opinions. it isn't possible to hold an opinion if it can't be proven, has no evidence, facts or truth.

Insisting Opinions are Facts

In many mental institutions, psychiatrists struggle daily with the job of helping the pathologically ill to understand that what they say or believe is fiction. The human mind of these individuals is wired to accept fiction as fact. Distortions as truth and fantasy as reality. Those who maintain their sanity and do not have the advantage of being professionally trained or equipped to communicate with the mentally ill are often bewildered at how easy it is for these individuals to wrap their minds around self-created fantasies. When mental health professionals try to help their patients "see reason," they are often met with hostile insistence that their opinions of their world is fact. This is also the baliwick of many narrow minds.

What Causes Narrow Minds?

The reason for the linear thinking in some individuals is easily explained by their childhood environments. Narrow minds are simply less capable of accepting change that causes them serious discomfort. The problem with narrow minds is linked to a neurotic need to control their world in the extreme that nothing should cause a moment of discomfort. This, of course, includes anyone who must reside in that neurotic realm of antiquity. We all understand that older individuals tend to rely on familiar surroundings and a steady, constant routine they feel they fit into best. We don't understand this with infants, children, teens and the middle aged adults.

Subtle Mind Control

In the book, "One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich," by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, you see how easy it is for routine to become mind control. We see this again in the movie, "Manchurian Candidate," by Richard Condon, where men in the military who are deprived of change and are subjected to various tortures lose their human will and ability to reject that which they would ordinarily consider savage behavior.

Today's all too linear minds are bordering on subtle mind control by insisting their opinions are facts and truths. They reject evidence to the contrary in order to support the basis of their opinions. This is how brain washing begins in almost every instance in places where supreme surrender to a willful master is the major objective of existence.

Conclusion

When we are constantly barraged by narrow minds who refuse to accept truth and facts that have solid evidence and proof, this is a mechanism by which our human will is tested and can be weakened.

The intent of opinions that are not facts is subtle mind control. It is also to attract like narrow minds and become the overriding voice for all.

While it is easy to allow narrow minds to create their own microcosm of fantasy and fiction, it is more difficult for sane, rational people to keep them from making decisions that affect all of society. Their opinions are flawed and should not become their path to control. Lest we become as flawed as these linear mentalities.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Mr. Happy profile image

      Mr. Happy 13 months ago from Toronto, Canada

      "In many mental institutions, psychiatrists struggle daily with the job of helping the pathologically ill to understand that what they say or believe is fiction." - I struggle with this almost on a daily basis with comments people make on-line.

      Just last night someone told me that "the water levels in the Oceans are not raising". So, I provided information: video footage, data from all sorts of agencies such as NASA but the person refused to accept that this is happening.

      "You can take the horse to the river but You can't force it to drink."

      Thank You for your article!

    • Ewent profile image
      Author

      Eleanore Ferranti Whitaker 13 months ago from Old Bridge, New Jersey

      You are so welcome. And keep up the good work. I never post anything I can't substantiate with facts. We need more people like you who answer with facts and truth.

    • ahorseback profile image

      ahorseback 13 months ago

      And , the biggest problem in TODAY's P.C. environment is when the word" fact" is used as a label to argue such opinion . Phony science is not fact , many of the major issues of the day is when an article quotes such phony science studies as facts ! For instance Global warming , SCIENCE AND THE THEORY OF STUDY ALWAYS USED TO BE TO DIS-PROVE THEORY, today what we are seeing is the use of an preconceived AGENDA in proving theory . In other words "I believe in this so I'm proving it out , or proving it's existence ". For almost every issue today , especially the environment , there are now two opinions presented as fact ! As you state , which IS the fact and which isn't? Great subject for discussion .

    • Ewent profile image
      Author

      Eleanore Ferranti Whitaker 13 months ago from Old Bridge, New Jersey

      Sorry to disagree. But if I see a Palomino out in a field and I tell you that I saw it and I can prove it by taking you to the site where I saw it. That is all the proof you should need to recognize a Palomino when you see it.

      There is no such thing as phony science. Having worked with chemists and chemical engineers, I can tell you that there is a clearly defined process they use to prove a theory is fact and that requires evidence they can document.

      When it comes to the environment, fill up a glass with ice cubes, when the cubes melt and water trickles over the side this is not theory. This is the action YOU took to cause the "reaction." Science is a process of action and reaction. It is the process of theory based on opinion of what will happen.

      Too many people today want the action to be commandered to achieve the results they want and not the results of the action that results in hard evidence.

      Fact is what I stated in this article. Either you have solid evidence that proves what you say or you don't. If you don't it, it is your opinion and nothing more. It is not fact unless you can prove it beyond any doubt.

    • ahorseback profile image

      ahorseback 13 months ago

      And global warming is but a cycle repeated over millions of years in risings and fallings , Yes I believe in climate change , spring ,summer autumn and winter ! Don't you ........I guess I hit a hot button huh ? Guess I picked the wrong example ......:-]

    • Ewent profile image
      Author

      Eleanore Ferranti Whitaker 13 months ago from Old Bridge, New Jersey

      I should tell you that as a tech writer/accounting manager in a 38 year old environmental engineering company, I saw hard data that proves that not only is global warming real but it is a major potential problem.

      In all of the EPA and state DEP reports I saw and read, the data was collected over a period of 25 years. Since the 1980s, there has been a huge growth in fossil fuel production. The impact of this in terms of pollution is unimaginable. For example, the tornadoes in and around the Big Oil states like TX, OK, KS, IA and AZ has tripled in power and frequency. From all of the reports I've read, in addition to fossil fuels causing global warming there is also the problem of the use of fertilizers that leach into soil and cause underground plumes of toxins. This is all documented in the CFR in the EPA's Federal Register.

      Sorry but you didn't hit ANY hot button. But, I'll tell you what..You go and plant yourself atop any one of the 155 gas flames in that Galveston oil refinery farm and see if you don't feel the "heat."

      Men like you do not care how much trash you spew into the air, water or soil. But, I can tell you that in just the past 15 years, most of the glacial fields in the northernmost part of Canada have melted faster than at any time in atmospheric history. Sorry but you live in a world of denial. I saw the numbers, I saw the effects in photos of white patches atop soil in West Texas, I saw the oil slicks in water in the Gulf and your denial is based on Moolah and continuing a now extinct fossil fuel industry that has done more to create wars and deaths than any single other issue.

      Men like you don't care about anything but hanging on for dear life to jobs that you should have left 30 years ago. No one in the northast NEEDS oil, coal or natural gas anymore. Solar energy has been around for the past 35 years effectively in countries like Germany, Sweden and the northeastern part of the US. Your excuses for hanging onto the fossil fuels just to keep a job and the dirty profits rolling in is behind your insistence that global warming doesn't exist. Men like you slather yourselves in denial of hard, cold data that proves what you can't. Hence my article that some individuals have NO evidence ...only their opinions and your opinion falls far short of any of the factual data collected on global warming for the past 35 years. Too hot for you? Good.

    • ahorseback profile image

      ahorseback 13 months ago

      Yes , I hear you ," men , men ,men , like you" So tell us men now that global warming periods haven't been around since the dawn of time , tell me know that energy "men" jobs are the root evil of our economy , Next time you stop at the gas station tell the attendants that you don't need gas , tell your mechanic that your car doesn't need new tires , tell your furnace it can run on the sun and doesn't need any more oil or gas , while you're at it go and sit on top of a solar farm for that matter and tell me that that heat is far better than the oil heat , or come to where I live within a mile or two of two wind farms and listen to the ice collected on the turbine blades in a storm , ......Listen ,all I'm saying is that there are two sets of facts , one is the truth , and the other is the one we use to advance an agenda and my God -everybody does that , that's all , There is only one truth !

    • Ewent profile image
      Author

      Eleanore Ferranti Whitaker 13 months ago from Old Bridge, New Jersey

      No you don't hear me. You see what I posted and you are proving precisely what I wrote in this article. Some men have a pathetic need to always be the only voice they hear.

      I don't have to buy gas. I have a hybrid. I can go without gas for a year if I need to.

      My furnace runs on solar energy and so does my water heater and soon, my clothes dryer. Where have YOU been that you are still so reliant on fossil fuels? Let me guess..Texas? Oklahoma? Kansas? All states that live off federal taxes to support their fossil fuel industries?

      Solar energy is basically stored in photovolataic cells that are housed inside a large frame. They use ZERO electricity. If those wind turbines are making so much noise, they were not installed properly..I worked with mechanical engineers who designed air pollution controls and before I retired, they were upgrading ALL of those controls to adapt to wind and solar power. In Alberta Canada there is a huge wind farm located right near a highway..NO NOISE. I was within 1000 yards of them. NO NOISE.

      You have NO facts. I do. You are out of your league trying to debate global warming with someone who has read numerous Princeton, MIT and Harvard white papers with collected data of over 25 years on the effects of global warming.

      It is long past time for you midwestern and southern people to face facts: You are being ripped off. You live in climates where solar would cut your costs of energy down by nearly 75%. I know this because NJ is my state and already most of the municipal buildings have converted to solar and are saving money.

      In fact, a neighbor back in 1974 had a home specifically designed and built for solar panels on the roof. 3 years ago, I saw he was removing the panels. I asked him why, he said and I quote, "With the newest panels, the technology is far more advanced and I can store 10 times the solar energy." He was paying $23 a month for his solar on the old panels. Now? He stores so much more solar power that the solar energy company pays him for any overages stored.

      And before you go there. He bought the panels outright and got a 50% SREC tax credit. Another reason for him to reinvest in solar.

      Here in NJ, solar can be bought outright, lease to buy or bought directly from the solar company who puts the panels on the roofs for free and you get a small monthly bill of around $30.

      So..anymore of your excuses? There are NOT 2 sets of facts. Your set of facts are not facts. If you cannot provide hard and fast numbers and data collected over a long term period, you have NO facts. There is only one truth and you have yet to provide it. All you provide is your opinion.

    • ahorseback profile image

      ahorseback 13 months ago

      But then as to your facts , You've already assume where I live , ..... wrong . What I do for a living ...wrong ....what works for alternative energy in my region of the country .....wrong again , and the causes of wind tower noises in this northern region........wrong again . Just tell me where to get that solar panel that works so well in a region where about sixty days a year are sunny and the rest are too cloudied ........So much for your "facts ". But I'm going to let you live without my opinion in your very , very factual hub . I don't want to disrupt "your" facts . I 've always said if you truly want to win against bunk science , use facts , that scares liberals away every time . God Bye

    • Ewent profile image
      Author

      Eleanore Ferranti Whitaker 13 months ago from Old Bridge, New Jersey

      All you posted was your opinion. I am not wrong. From your post it is easy to see you have not left your state too often. Or, at least not often enough to know the advancements in clean energy other states are making. You can contact Trinity Solar, NJ's No. 1 solar energy company with nearly 1 million solar customers. NJ Solar Power is another and Pro Custom is another. These serve NJ, PA and the DE areas.

      My facts come from the U.S. EPA's Federal register. Not one word of your post has any substantiation of what you post..therefore NO FACTS. But you know that don't you?

      There is no such think as bunk science. That's a term the blockheads in the south and midwest use, the U.S. biggest polluters who cost the rest of the states in pollution cleanup in the hundred billions every year.

      Your post is nothing more than unsubstantiated denial. Which proves precisely what I posted.

    • Shyron E Shenko profile image

      Shyron E Shenko 8 months ago from Texas

      Eleanore, fantastic article. It is so refreshing to read a hub that I know is truthful.

      Blessings my friend

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 8 months ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      Ed, you know I love you dear friend but I think you need to holler "Uncle." Elanore has cleaned your clock. It's clear she knows what she's saying.

      Ewent, I appreciate this education. I'm duly impressed by your knowledge and prolific explanations. Paula

    • Ewent profile image
      Author

      Eleanore Ferranti Whitaker 8 months ago from Old Bridge, New Jersey

      There is a very BIG reason Ed wants to keep the rest of the country held hostage by his polluter state industry. The ONLY jobs their politicians allow to be created flush billions every year to their states in tax subsidies. The top 10 Biggest Trough Feeders are ALL Republican states.

      Go to the Government Accountability Office site (GAO.gov) and check out how much of EVERY annual US budget is earmarked for these Republican states. Sure does prove why the Republicans either chair or sit on the money committees. Paul Ryan, now Speaker of the House, was chairman of the Ways and Means Committee. His Republican WAYS and OUR MEANS. Then, you check out who is on the Finance Committee as chair, one Chuck Grassley, whose state of Iowa just happens to be in the tank.

      The reality is that the Republicans want control of OUR money. All of the Dem states get ROI for the federal tax $1 we pay is an average of 55 cents. The Republicans? Anywhere from $1.35 up to Alaska's $1.87. Alaska and Texas are also No. 1 and 2 in states that get the biggest piles of tax subsidies.

      So, just why is it there are now more than half a dozen Republican states, IA, KS, OK, LA, NC, OH, WI and AL all sinking into a morass of economic poverty. The question you need to ask is: "What are THEY doing with that money?"

      And, why must we help them pay for the cleanup of oil spills when they knew these spills are part of an industry that is half dead? Why must WE help them pay for their EPA spill fines? They make these decisions, not us.

      Honorable, common sense, common decency Americans do not game the system. You can check the GAO facts I posted. I am sure ED won't.

    Click to Rate This Article