ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The cost of complaints and dealing with serial complainers.

Updated on July 12, 2012

Serial complainers.

The federation of small businesses recently released a report showing that seven hours a month on average are now spent dealing with complaints. Most of which are believed to be brought forward by serial complainers. A select group of people who repeatedly complain about services and products, often pushing for compensation or threatening legal action if they feel their problem has not been adequately dealt with or solved.

The British once associated with their stiff upper lip and grit are fast becoming branded as a bunch of whiners. We quickly embraced the compensation culture that has rapidly evolved in the last decade and it seems our expectations have become a little high, to say the least. The compensation injury industry has experienced a boom in profits over the last decade as well as new specialists in this field starting up legal practices at an ever increasing rate.

But just what does this mean for business and the economy, is it a beneficial move or a detrimental one? Should we be saluting the serial complainers for their dedication to good service or are they people who are just after a free meal or product and are little more then con artists?

Seal of justice, but have we taken our rights a little too far?
Seal of justice, but have we taken our rights a little too far? | Source

The argument against.

Serial complainers or rouge customers as there known in certain circles are starting to cause those in the industry of service, manufacture and retail to feel more then a little uncomfortable.

So much so in fact that there is a movement to be able to place complaints against customers, or appeal a complaint in a bid to protect themselves and their companies.

There are also groups of small business owners, coming together to share data and information on persistent and difficult customers, in effect to track them, in an attempt to prevent any problems that may occur if the serial offender does decide to file a complaint.

Preventative measures are also being put in place, like photographic evidence, product and service checks as well as staff witness statements, to prove that any potential complaint will be unjustified and quickly dismissed.

The argument for.

However on the other hand we do have to look at our service industries now days and how they compare to that of the past.

Businesses were once run by local people running a local store. Now big business shows millions of pounds worth of turnover, with huge profit margins and it's all become a bit faceless.

It's all slogans and motto's. Everything is about being cheap and selling fast. Back in the day your local shop keeper down the road would deliver your shopping for free, after all it was not very far and they used to take pride in their service. Where as now not only do you have to pay to get your shopping delivered, you can see a noticeable difference between that very good service, which is dwindling into extinction and the very poor service we are seeing more of today.

Job satisfaction is for the most part is practically non existent for the majority of the population. It's not a career choice, it's just a way of making money. More often then not there is no respect, attachment or loyalty to a company as an employee and this trickles through to the service.

Resentment and dissatisfaction is becoming ever more of a problem, resentment grows and ultimately the customers shopping experience is tarnished. They don't feel that their needs were adequately met and they feel they have a right to complain.

Those who regularly complain say that they do so to keep service standards high and to keep businesses striving to provide the best products and services.

Gone are the days of buyer beware and welcome to the age of seller beware.

Every year the government spend hundreds of thousands of pounds on consumer regulation and the employment of audits-man and audits-woman. The days of buyer beware are well and truly over and the age of seller beware is here.

Although there is clearly a need for complaints procedures to be in place, there does seem to be this evolving culture of entitlement. What we feel we deserve, what we believe our rights are as consumers.

Is it a case of the more we have the more we want and when do you know if something is not satisfactory or reasonable? Compensation claims are becoming not only common place but almost standard procedure what was once an accident is now a claim.

Worst of all it's the smaller businesses that seem to suffer the most, which is of course terribly unfair. As It's increasingly getting harder to compete with the supermarkets and other big business corporations.

Regulation and compensation leads to the cost of complaints reaching not just millions of pounds but billions of pounds!


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Lita C. Malicdem profile image

      Lita C. Malicdem 

      7 years ago from Philippines

      Our good friend prasetio is right as he says, customers are protected by law. But we can't deny the fact that daily, we feel we are shortchanged in many ways, in our shopping, marketing, etc. Probably, this gives rise to complaints from people who believe they deserve better services or goods they buy. Very informative hub.

    • Lgali profile image

      Lgali 

      8 years ago

      very useful info thanks

    • wrenfrost56 profile imageAUTHOR

      wrenfrost56 

      8 years ago from U.K.

      Thank-you prasetio30, your right It is important that we are protected by the law and that we stand by it. :)

    • prasetio30 profile image

      prasetio30 

      8 years ago from malang-indonesia

      nice information. As a customer we have rights to complain. Don't worry we stand beside the law and I think we have protected. Great hub and thumbs up. Good work, wrenfrost!

    • wrenfrost56 profile imageAUTHOR

      wrenfrost56 

      8 years ago from U.K.

      Thank-you chris, good to see you again my friend. :)

    • drej2522 profile image

      Chris 

      8 years ago from Atlanta, GA

      Great Hub as usual, wren!! There needs to be a system in place for such trouble makers. I understand the freedom to say and go as you please (even in a form of a complaint) but something needs to be done.

      Maybe a series of kneecapping like my roommate has ranted about in the past? ; )

      Thumbs up, Wren!

    • wrenfrost56 profile imageAUTHOR

      wrenfrost56 

      8 years ago from U.K.

      Thank-you jayjay40, it does seem these people are proud of their behaviour!

    • wrenfrost56 profile imageAUTHOR

      wrenfrost56 

      8 years ago from U.K.

      Thank-you andromida, your so right it is always the small buisnesses that suffer.

    • jayjay40 profile image

      jayjay40 

      8 years ago from Bristol England

      You are so right serial complainers are a nuisance. I know a that a woman I work with, complains in any restaurant she goes in to get money off her bill. She is always bragging about it. Great hub wrenfrost

    • andromida profile image

      syras mamun 

      8 years ago

      I always find at the end it's always small businesses and commoners,suffer the most.I guess rouge customers just taking the advantages of weak governance, though strict regulations are in place.Thank you wren :)

    • wrenfrost56 profile imageAUTHOR

      wrenfrost56 

      8 years ago from U.K.

      Thank-you katiem2, I think your granpa, a very sensible man. :)

    • wrenfrost56 profile imageAUTHOR

      wrenfrost56 

      8 years ago from U.K.

      Thank-you for your comment drbj, I agree with you.

    • wrenfrost56 profile imageAUTHOR

      wrenfrost56 

      8 years ago from U.K.

      Thank-you BJBenson. :)

    • katiem2 profile image

      katiem2 

      8 years ago from I'm outta here

      wrenfrost, Ah the root of all evil is GREED, it keeps coming back to that. As my Grandpa always said, "That's a poor way to serve the Lord" Thanks and Peace :)

    • drbj profile image

      drbj and sherry 

      8 years ago from south Florida

      You mention the lack of respect or loyalty to a company any more as well as poor if any customer service.

      The predominant reason, I think, in the developed world for the most part, has become nations of people who tnink of themselves as "entitlers" not "earners."

      In other words, people used to believe they needed to earn their wages by doing their job. Now they seem to believe they are entitled to their wages because they showed up.

    • BJBenson profile image

      BJBenson 

      8 years ago from USA

      Good hub

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)