ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

How I Turned a Punishing God into One Madly in Love with Me (Guide to Healing Your Inner Child) - Book Review

Updated on June 20, 2012

Are You Mad at God or Do You Think God is Mad at You?

When I first met Daisy Ba-ad, the author of the book, “How I Turned a Punishing God into One Madly in Love with Me (Guide to Healing Your Inner Child)” I wouldn’t have known that this passionate and energetic woman had so much fear of God within her. It was no ordinary fear. It was the kind of fear that crippled her, made her rebellious; and bottom line, made her feel that she was unworthy of God’s love.

The book starts off with a gripping tale of her childhood years and how she acquired a set of belief systems that caused her to be extremely fearful of God.

“...whatever unpleasant, negative, ugly, and dreadful situation I would find myself in, I would believe it to be a punishment I rightly deserved. The sad, painful, hurtful, upsetting, and agonizing emotions I felt were part of “carrying the cross” to follow Him. The negative answers I would get from my novenas, and special intentions, were God’s way of telling me that the promises I offered in return for the favor I was asking Him, was not enough. Nothing I did was ever enough to get His approval.”

I can feel her confusion, the pain, the longing of things to be right again. But the more she tried, the harder it seemed. The harder she tried, the farther God seemed to be. She wrote, “I would hear myself cry out, “what else can I do to get you to love me again?”

How many of us feel the same way?

Source

The Birth of a Loving God

After reading the first chapter, I breathe a sigh of relief. I was holding my breath the whole time, my heart and shoulders heavy with burden, teary eyed at the thought of this little one carrying around with her this enormous feeling of being unloved by God.

Perhaps it was this that made me reach out to her. For you see in Chapter Two, she recounted our friendship and how she marvelled at my relationship with God. I recalled our telephone conversations when she would ask me, “Tell me something about God today please.” And because no one in my entire life had ever asked me that question, I joyfully recounted all my little moments with God as a child to adulthood.

Ironically, I have never really thought how precious my relationship with God was not until she made me see how fearful she viewed God. I never knew there were people who feared God so much.

I recognized that it was little Daisy who was hurting and in pain because she had experience fear of God at a very young age due to sexual molestation. And so little Michelle reached out and took hold of little Daisy’s hand to show her that God was not to be feared but rather to be loved and be loved back by Him.

Little Michelle and Little Daisy
Little Michelle and Little Daisy | Source

A Skeptic’s Move

Although Daisy already started to believe in a loving God, old belief systems still dominated her automatic responses. There was this constant inner battle within. This was a huge block to the path of healing. Her logical mind wanted to understand more and she understood that she needed to change and re-program her subconscious mind. As Dr. Bruce H. Lipton, PhD has said that our subconscious mind operates 95% of the time while our conscious mind only 5%.

The third chapter shares her search for help is answered by the Source / God / Divine when one after the other things was revealed to her. From Brainwave Entrainment, Emotional Freedom Technique (Tapping), Dr. Lloyd’s Healing Code, and Quantum Healing to learning and grasping the concept of the law of cause and effect, I was a witness to her excitement in learning something new. Whatsoever was the technique, the truth was the same. For healing to take place, she realized that the negative belief systems had to be replaced with new ones.

Learn what these things are and maybe it can help you too.

The 'Science' of God Madly In Love With Us

My belief in God has always been on a personal level but with Daisy she needed both the personal experience coupled with scientific and logical explanations. I watched with joy and amusement as she would relate to me her new found discoveries. Beautifully, I learned and benefited a lot in the process and in her sharing. Yes, this time I was now the student and she the teacher. The final chapter includes the scientific studies that helped her changed her perspective about God and life itself. Heart Zapz are included where she gives out certain things that the reader can also engage in.

As the book draws to a close, a triumphant and teary eyed Daisy celebrates the truth she has finally come to believe -- that she is treasured and loved by God; and that she has been able to banish the punishing God and replaced it with a loving one.

Source

About the Author

Daisy Brillantes Ba-ad is a motivational speaker-trainer and playwright-director based in Cebu City, Philippines. She specializes in designing and conducting customized behavioral training programs and motivational talks for corporate groups, educational institutions, private and civic organizations.

Loving Abundance is the website she runs together with inspirational writer and co-trainer, Michelle Simtoco. She is known as dayzeebee on Hubpages where she began writing online.

One Last Note

This book will be truly helpful if you, like the author, have been longing to have a closer and personal relationship with God / Divine/ the Source of All That Is; and also if you want to heal your inner child but have struggled with feelings of ‘I don’t know how.’ Furthermore, If you also want to understand the “Science” of a Loving God, then this book is for you.

Daisy continues to walk with God as she regularly prays and meditates. She understands that healing is a lifelong process and she desires to continue her mission of sharing a loving God to the world.

Connect with us:

Loving God (Facebook)


BY: Michelle Simtoco

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      silvanny, thanks!

    • silvanny profile image

      silvanny 

      6 years ago

      this is nice article,keep it up!

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Namaste Terry...and thank you, I am so excited!!! tee hee

    • Terry27 profile image

      Terry Fatland 

      6 years ago from Southern California

      Hi Michelle, it is my pleasure to support Daisy and her book. What you are doing here is absolutely amazing. Your loving support for others is a Godsend. Dear sister, thank you. Namaste

      P.S. Michelle, I would like to get a copy of your book when it's done. :)

      Daisy, I'm very happy that you came into my life. I believe that everything happens for a reason. It is no accident that all of us met each other. We are in each other's life for a special reason. Love and Light

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Green Lotus: Hillary, you are right, what happened to God is love? That made me smile. I am in the process of writing my book and my friendship with God. I hope it would be a good sequel to Daisy's book :D :D :D Thanks for dropping by.

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Seafarer Mama, you made me teary eyed. Thank you for stopping by to share light in my heart today. Daisy and I are glad to connect with you on Hubpages too. Love and blessings...

      addingsense, the book is out if you want to buy a copy. Enjoy reading. :)

    • Green Lotus profile image

      Hillary 

      6 years ago from Atlanta, GA

      Michelle your hub is so important. Too many people still believe in a fearful God that punishes even innocent children. Whatever happened to the old phrase "God is Love"? Rated up :)

    • addingsense profile image

      Akhil S Kumar 

      6 years ago from kerala

      you are very welcome..waiting for your passion in the book

    • Seafarer Mama profile image

      Karen A Szklany 

      6 years ago from New England

      Stopping by to let you know that this hub has been very inspirational. Loved the video, too. :0) I am blessed to have met both you and Dayzeebee on Hub Pages. :0)

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Dayzeebee: Sis Daisy, I am skipping and smiling in glee. Happy that you loved this review. I am proud of you for finishing this book even if at times it was difficult recalling the past with its painful memories. But looking back, I continue to see its value in your healing process. So it is indeed awesome. Blessings to you too...love and light and hugs. :)

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Terry, thank you so much for buying the book and supporting Daisy. This means a lot to her and to me too. Changing our beliefs about God has been helpful in Daisy's journey and I hope for many as well. Thanks again dear brother. :)

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Tonipet, it is a wonderful book... :) and thank you for the blessings.

      addingsense, thank you. :)

    • dayzeebee profile image

      dayzeebee 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Hi Sis Michelle, what a beautiful review you have made. I am humbled and honored by the way you have expressed yourself in this hub. I agree with Patty, this hub itself is motivational. Thank you oh so much for taking the time to help me especially in my different chapter of healing. Blessings always.

      Hi Marie thank you for sharing your view of the book too. I am still working slowly on my take on your Beyond Inspiration book. Just making sure I don't slip up in my writing. Thank you for your love and support always:)

      Terry it's great to see you here. I am really touched by your sharing here. Now, I know why I felt a connection with you when you emailed me through FB. I checked on the email and noticed I slipped up in the sentence construction. I am conscious of the fact that my writing has not yet gone back to normal but I am confident that in due time it will be back and better.

      Blessings to all who found this hub helpful. Thanks again God's precious one, Michelle. Hugs:)

    • Terry27 profile image

      Terry Fatland 

      6 years ago from Southern California

      Michelle, this was a beautiful and heartfelt hub. During adolescence, I had a negative view of God. I saw God as an angry being that laughed at us, while we suffered. However, I eventually realized that this was totally false. I came to see God's love everywhere. I know that God loves all of us unconditionally.

      I just received a copy of Daisy's book. I am looking forward to reading it. I also enjoyed the video clip at the beginning of this hub. Voted this hub up, beautiful, and awesome. Love and Light

    • addingsense profile image

      Akhil S Kumar 

      6 years ago from kerala

      god may blesses us all.

      great book and great comments you got here.

      i am thrilled to read it

    • Tonipet profile image

      Tonette Fornillos 

      6 years ago from The City of Generals

      This could be a wonderful book! Daisy just found the best place for her heart to lean on - God's wonderful love. A very spirit-lifting and worth-imitating mission. Great people you are Angels! :=) Blessings always!

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      VioletSun: Marie, thank you for the support you have given to Daisy and me. Hope is precious indeed and a beautiful gift to embrace. To a hopeful and bright future as we constantly learn to live in the eternal moment of now. Love and hugs :)

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      teaches: Yipeee, if I was able to want you to read the book, I am thrilled! Yes it is good to share our stories as we continue to learn from each other. Blessings to you :)

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Patty, that's so sweet of you, thank you very much. Love and light...

    • ripplemaker profile imageAUTHOR

      Michelle Simtoco 

      6 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      hotwebideas: Thank you for your kind words. Indeed we all have a different and unique experience about God. Blessings always. :)

    • VioletSun profile image

      VioletSun 

      6 years ago from Oregon/ Name: Marie

      You captured what I felt when I read Daisy' wonderful book. My eyes got wet when I realized that there are wonderful human beings raised to fear God in such a way that it fills their lives with pain. Her book gives hope. This is a very well-done review by the way!

      Voted up and awesome! And shared in Twitter.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      6 years ago

      This is a great book review and makes you want to read the book. I love testimonials like this. We can learn much from someone's experience through life. God is to be respected but not feared. Thanks for sharing. Blessings.

    • Patty Inglish, MS profile image

      Patty Inglish 

      6 years ago from USA. Member of Asgardia, the first space nation, since October 2016

      Voted Up and more and shared. This Hub is great motivation in itself.

    • hotwebideas profile image

      Bruce Chamoff 

      6 years ago from New York

      Hey, this is a great hub and for those people who believe in God, I think we all have a different view and fear of God. Everyone is different, but I am glad this had a positive turnout. Great hub and voted up.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)