ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports»
  • American Football

SEC West Streak

Updated on August 3, 2015

SEC East & SEC West

Although the SEC West is the top division in the SEC and has won six straight SEC titles with three different teams (Alabama '09, '12, &'14, Auburn '10 & '13 and LSU '11). It the best because of its depth as last season all seven teams in the SEC West went to bowl games. Matter of fact the SEC West went 30-5 last year in its non conference games with all five losses coming in bowl games! Ironically the SEC East on the other hand went undefeated in its bowl games last year going 5-0. Also the SEC West went 10-4 last season against the SEC East with Georgia and Missouri the only SEC East teams that handed the West those four losses.

When the SEC became a twelve team conference in 1992 the SEC East won the SEC title 7 times from 1993 to 2000. They also had there own six game streak from 1993 to 1998 (Florida '93, '94, '95 & '96, Tennessee '97 & '98). So this year we will see a streak end or continue as both divisions have had six game winning streaks. The SEC East is usually a top heavy division where it what I like to call a three headed monster. It use to be Florida, Georgia and Tennessee. The power has shifted though since 2010, now you have Missouri, Georgia and South Carolina as the top teams in the SEC East. It use to be three games that determine the SEC East (Florida/Tennessee, Tennessee/Georgia & Florida/Georgia). Nowadays it is the East is determine by Georgia/South Carolina, Missouri/Georgia and Missouri/South Carolina games determine the SEC East. Missouri has taken the place of Florida while South Carolina has pushed Tennessee to the side. The East has only won the SEC 5 times since 2000 (Florida '00, '06 & '08 and Georgia '02 & '05).

Unlike the SEC East the SEC West has change has lot of times as Alabama is the only SEC West team to win back to back SEC West titles ('92, '93 & '94 & '08 & '09). The East have had three teams go back to back. Florida won the SEC East 5 years in a row from '92 to '96 along with winning in '08 & '09, then Tennessee went back to back in '97 &'98. Georgia has won back to back SEC East titles twice in '02 &'03 and '11 & '12. And Missouri has won the last two SEC East titles as they look to go for three straight this year. So as the season nears this will be the storyline for the SEC will a streak continue or will it be broken. The West looks poise to take seven straight but we will see as the SEC East may be on its way back especially if Tennessee will emerge this year like people think they are. You never can count out Florida though who have won the SEC East 10 times since 1992. The Gators was the last SEC East team to win the SEC and the only SEC East team that won a bcs title on that seven year run. Georgia would have played in the national title game in 2012 but lost to Alabama in the SEC title game while Missouri may have played in the bcs game in 2013 if they would have beat Auburn in 2013 SEC title game.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Kevin Goodwin 2 years ago

      Yeah i agree with mike on the schedule. I hate when they play those games against a nothing college and win by 50.

    • Mike Nolan profile image

      Michael Nolan 2 years ago from Sarasota, FL

      Well Alabama needs to reload, and LSU needs to improve their defense. Mississippi State needs to prove last season wasn't a fluke, and Auburn has a new defensive coordinator. Georgia an win out, but they have got to stay healthy, something they haven't done.

      It's also good to see the SEC strengthen their non conference schedule, which has been laughable in the past.