ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports»
  • American Football

A Newbie Accepts The Heisman Trophy

Updated on December 11, 2012

Three Compete For The Heisman Trophy

Johnny Manziel accepts the Heisman Trophy Dec. 8, 2012
Johnny Manziel accepts the Heisman Trophy Dec. 8, 2012 | Source
 Heisman Trophy finalists: Johnny Manziel, Manti Te'o and Collin Klein
Heisman Trophy finalists: Johnny Manziel, Manti Te'o and Collin Klein | Source
Johnny Football
Johnny Football | Source
From Johnny Football to Johnny Heisman
From Johnny Football to Johnny Heisman | Source

Beat Bama And Get A Heisman

The hype is strong, "a newbie gets the Heisman Trophy." How could this happen and what pray tell do you have to do to win a Heisman Trophy in today's world? Well, the first thing you have to do is Beat Bama! After that, all sorts of people are looking at you. Oh, you have to be the first player in SEC history (yes, I said history) to have two 500 plus total offense games in one season and maybe then you'll get noticed by the right people, the Downtown Athletic Club (they're the Heisman Trophy people) and you'll get placed on the Heisman watch list. Okay, now you're on the list, what now? Well, through votes and stuff you become a finalist and some more votes, you come in first and win the Heisman Trophy. That's all it is to it.

A&M is happy, thrilled and all of the above that their very own is the first freshman quarterback to win the trophy. Texas A&M shared some proud moments with Johnathan Paul Manziel and the fans of the Aggies. His position is a starter with dual-threat skills. That's when a quarterback can run the football if he has to. His team mates and fans call him by his nick name, Johnny Football.

There were 3 in the finalist for the annual award given to the outstanding college football player in the US by the Downtown Athletic Club of New York City. They were, Johnathan Paul Manziel, starting quarterback at the Texas A&M University, Manti Malietau Louis Te'o, linebacker at the University of Notre Dame and Collin Klein, starting quarterback for the Kansas State Wildcats.

The trophy goes to Johnathan Paul Manziel, the second player from Texas A&M to win the trophy since 1957. Two days before that he won the Davey O'Brien Award which is awarded to the nation's top quarterback. Now his team mates and fans can call him Johnny Heisman.

It's not over yet! Manziel has a season end game to be played against the #12Oklahoma Sooners in the 77th AT&T Cotton Bowl Classic on Jan. 4, 2013 at 7:00 pm CST at the Cowboys Stadium located in Arlington, Texas. Being a trophy winner, Manziel will be the eighth trophy winner to play in the Cotton Bowl Classic.

#12 Oklahoma and #11 Texas A&M will play in The 77th AT&T Bowl Classic
#12 Oklahoma and #11 Texas A&M will play in The 77th AT&T Bowl Classic | Source

Recruited Right Out Of High School

Johnny Manziel was recruited right out of high school, what a jump start on a career? During his high school days, he was a winner then. When he was a junior in high school he was a starting quarterback and made 55 touchdowns. That same year he was voted Offensive Player of the Year. When he was a senior he continued to play football and again he was voted Offensive Player of the Year. Wow, that's twice in a row!

This young man has it going on, he hasn't stop running since he got out of high school. His parents Michelle and Paul Manziel are proud of their sons accomplishments.

Heisman Trophy today, what's waiting tomorrow?

His fans show their love
His fans show their love | Source
Cast your vote for Johnny Manziel


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • bodylevive profile image

      BODYLEVIVE 5 years ago from Alabama, USA

      Yes it was a good game.

    • BLACKANDGOLDJACK profile image

      Jack Hazen 5 years ago from Blitzburgh area

      You wonder how many more Heisman Trophies Johnny Football will win. I believe that only one person has won two and that's Archie Griffin of Ohio State.

      I watched a replay of the Texas A&M at Alabama game on Saturday morning on ESPNU. That was just a terrific game by Manziel and his team.