ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Aston Villa FC

Updated on May 29, 2013

Official Name: Aston Villa FC

Chairman: Randolph D. Lerner

Coach: John Gregory

Address: Villa Park, Trinity Road, BirminghamB6 6HE, England

Telephone: (+44) 121-327-2299

Fax: (+44) 121-322-2107

Uniform: Claret/ Sky blue sleeves

Alternate uniform: white jersey, sky blue shorts 

UEFA Champions League winner: 1982

UEFA Super Cup winner: 1983

InterToTo Cup winner: 2001

Football League Cup winner: 1961, 1975, 1977, 1994, 1996

FA Cup winner: 1887, 1895, 1897, 1905, 1913, 1920, 1957

Charity Shield winner: 1981

1897: FA Cup winner, Division One winner, New home ground: Aston Lower Ground ("Villa Park")

Division One winner: 1894, 1896, 1897, 1899, 1900, 1909, 1981

Division Two winner: 1938, 1960

Division Three winner: 1972 

Birmingham Senior Cup winner: 1880

1874: Foundation of Aston Villa FC by Villa Cross Wesleyan Chapel in Aston, part of Birmingham

1880: Birmingham Senior Cup winner

1884: August: New manager: George Ramsay, New Stadium: AstonPark

1887: FA Cup winner

1886: New Stadium: Perry Barr

1894: Division One winner

1895: FA Cup winner

1896: Division One winner

1899: Divison One winner

1900: Division One winner

1905: FA Cup winner

1909: Divison One winner

1913: FA Cup winner

1920: FA Cup winner

1926: New manager: W. J. Smith

1934: New manager: Jimmy McMullan

1936: November: New manager: Jimmy Hogan, Relegated to Division Two

1938: Division Two winner

1945: New manager: Alex Massie

1950: New manager: George Martin

1953: September: New manager: Eric Houghton

1957: FA Cup winner

1958: December: New manager: Joe Mercer

1959: Relegated to Division Two

1960: Division Two winner, Promoted to Division One

1961: Football League Cup winner

1964: New manager: Dick Taylor

1967: New manager: Tommy Cummings, Relegated to Division Two

1968: New manager: Tommy Docherty

1970: New manager: Vic Crowe, Relegated to Division Three

1972: Division Three winner, Promoted to Division Two

1974: June: New manager: Ron Saunders

1975: Football League Cup winner

1977: Football League Cup winner, Promoted to Division One

1981: Division One winner, Charity Shield winner

1982: February: New manager: Tony Barton, UEFA Champions League winner

1983: UEFA Super Cup winner

1984: New manager: Graham Turner

1986: New manager: Billy McNeill

1987: New manager: Graham Taylor, Relagated to Divison Two

1988: Promotion to Division One

1990: July: New manager: Jozef Vengloš

1991: July: New manager: Ron Atkinson

1992: One of the founders of Premier League

1994: November: New manager: Brian Little, Football League Cup winner

1996: Football League Cup winner

1998: February: New manager: John Gregory

2001: InterToTo Cup winner

2002: New manager: Graham Taylor

2003: New manager: David O'Leary

2006: New manager: Martin O'Neill

2007: May 2: New crest, may 6: opening of redeveloped training ground (Bodymoor Heath)

2010: New manager: Gérard Houllier


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)