ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Individual Sports

Augusta National and the Masters Golf Championship

Updated on April 17, 2013

You think you know everything there is about the Masters golf championship held in Augusta, Georgia? Think again.

The Masters is one of four major championships each year played by the PGA tour members and other qualifiers. The other majors are the British Open, the PGA Championship and the U.S. Open.

The British Open is rotated between Old Course at St. Andrews, Carnoustie Golf Links, Murfield, The Turnberry Resort and Royal Troon Gold Club, all in Scotland and Royal St. George's Golf Club, Royal Birkdale Golf Club, Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club and Royal Liverpool Golf Club, all in England.

The PGA Championship and the U.S. Open are played at any number of sites throughout the U.S..

The Masters has always been played at Augusta National Golf Club and therefore the only major played at the same course each year.

Augusta National Golf Club was founded by the great Bobby Jones, one of the greatest golfers in history and Clifford Roberts, former Wall Street investment banker. The club opened in January 1933 and the two gentlemen founded the Masters Tournament in 1934. It was designed by Alister MacKenzie.

Augusta National has approximately 300 members with a majority of ages being between 70-80 and consisting mostly of current and former CEO's and executives of many major companies. Memberships are by invitation only. There are no women members.

Just a few of the prominent names belonging to the club are the late Bill Gates, Warren Buffett, T. Boone Pickens, Jr. and Lou Holtz.

The course is only open for eight months. This is one of the most well manicured golf courses in the world. It ranked as the number one golf course in the U.S. the past two years in Golf Digest's "America's 100 Greatest Golf Courses".

The champion of the 72 hole event is given the Green Jacket by the previous year's winner. If the winner repeats, the jacket is presented by the tournament chairman.



    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.