ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

Borussia Dortmund

Updated on May 29, 2013

Official Name: BV Borussia Dortmund

President: Hans-Joachim Watzke

Secretary: Trante Wiemann

Press Officer: Josef Schneck

Coach: Bert Van Marwijk

Address: Rheinlanddamm 207-209 44137 Dortmund

Telephone: (+49) 231 90200

Fax:(+49) 231 902 0105

Alternative uniform: white/yellow/white (three) stripes and black shorts

Uniform: yellow/ white horizontal stripes and black shorts

UEFA Champions League winner: 1997

UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner: 1966

German Championship (Bundes Liga) winner: 1995, 1996, 2002

German Cup winner: 1965, 1989

German Championship (pre-Bundesliga) winner: 1956, 1957, 1963

Division 2 winner: 1976

EUSA Cup winner: 1997

1909: December 19: Borussia Dortmund founded by players from church sponsored Trinity Youth. Named after a nearby brewery called Borussia (maining in latin= Prussia). Uniform blue and white stripes

1913: New uniform: yellow/ white horizontal stripes and black shorts, alternative uniform: white/yellow/white (three) stripes and black shorts

1929: Club near bankruptcy (after signing professional players)

1935: New manager: Ernst Kuzorra

1936: New manager: Fritz Thelen,  New manager: Ferdinand Swatosch

1939: New manager: Willi Sevcic

1946: New manager: Fritz Thelen, New manager: Ferdinand Fabra

1948: New manager: Viktor Havlicek

1950: New manager: Sepp Kretschmann

1951: New manager: Hans Schmidt

1955: New manager: Helmut Schneider

1956: German Championship (pre-Bundesliga) winner (for first time) (under the name of BSB (Ballspiel-Verein Borussia))

1957: New manager: Hans Tauchert, German Championship (pre-Bundesliga) winner

1958: New manager: Max Merkel

1961: New manager: Hermann Eppenhoff, German Championship finalist

1963: August: First Bundesliga games (Bundesliga league system decided in 1962), German Championship (pre-Bundesliga) winner

1964: New manager: Heinz Kwiatkowski, New manager: Hermann Eppenhoff

1965: New manager: Willi Multhaup, German Cup winner

1966: New manager: Heinz Murach, UEFA Cup Winners' Cup winner

1968: New manager: Oswald Pfau, New manager: Helmut Schneider

1969: New manager: Hermann Lindemann

1970: New manager: Horst Witzler

1972: New manager: Herbert Burdenski, New manager: Detlev Brüggemann,  New manager: Max Michallek, Relegated to Second Division

1973: New manager: Dieter Kurrat, New manager: Janos Bedl

1974: New manager: Otto Knefler

1976: New manager: Hosrt Buhtz, New manager: Otto Rehhagel, Division 2 winner, Promoted to Bundesliga

1978: New manager: Carl-Heinz Rühl

1979: New manager: Uli Maslo, New manager: Udo Lattek

1981: New manager: Rolf Bock, New manager: Branko Zebec

1982: New manager: Kerl-Heinz Feldkamp

1983: New manager: Uli Maslo, New manager: Melmut Witte, New manager: Hans-Dieter Tippenhauer, New manager: Horst Franz

1984: New manager: Friedhelm Konietzka, New manager: Erich Ribbeck

1985: New manager: Pál Csernai

1986: New manager: Reinhard Saftig

1988: New manager: Horst Köppel

1989: German Cup winner

1991: New manager: Ottmar Hitzfeld

1993: UEFA Cup finalist

1995: German Championship (Bundes Liga) winner

1996: German championship (Bundes Liga) winner

1997: New manager: Nevio Scala, UEFA Champions League winner, EUSA Cup winner

1998: New manager: Michael Skibbe

2000: New manager: Bernd Krauss, New manager: Udo Lattek, New manager: Matthias Sammer

2002: UEFA Cup finalist, German championship (Bundes Liga) winner

2004: New manager: Bert van Marwijk

2006: New manager: Jürgen Röber

2007: New manager: Thomas Doll

2008: New manager: Jürgen Klopp


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: ""