ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

London Knights Hockey Trivia: The CHL Awards

Updated on September 3, 2013

The London Knights have been in the Ontario Hockey League (OHA & OMJHL) since the 1965-66 season. The Knights were known as the Nationals for the first three seasons. From the beginning, the Knights have been a top producer of great hockey talent for the National Hockey League and other professional hockey leagues throughout the world.

There will be several hockey trivia articles to follow focused on the London Knights. This article allows you to test and expand your hockey trivia knowledge on the London Knights Canadian Hockey League (CHL) award winners.

Q. Which London Knights player was named the 1982 CHL Player of the Year?

A. Dave Simpson had a stellar season for the Knights in 1981-82, en route to being named the CHL Player of the Year. Simpson won the Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy as the OHL’s top scorer with 67 goals and 88 assists for 155 points while playing all of London’s 68 regular season games. In the 1980 NHL Entry Draft, the New York Islanders selected Simpson in the third round, 59th overall. Dave never got to play a game in the NHL.

Q. In 1994, who was the only other London Knights player to be named the CHL Player of the Year?

A. In just 56 regular season games in 1993-94, Jason Allison scored 55 and added 87 assists for 142 points to not only lead the Knights but the whole OHL in scoring (he was also the top CHL scorer). Allison was the 17th overall pick of the Washington Capitals in the 1993 NHL Entry Draft. Jason went on to play 552 regular season NHL games with the Capitals, Boston Bruins, Los Angeles Kings and Toronto Maple Leafs.

Q. What current Chicago Blackhawks star is the only London Knights player to be selected as the CHL Rookie of the Year?

A. Patrick Kane played just one season in the Ontario Hockey League but he made it count. Kane scored 62 goals and added 83 assists for 145 points with London, leading the OHL and CHL in scoring. Kane was the first overall pick in the 2007 NHL Entry Draft.

Q. To date, who is the only London Knight to win the Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award?

A. Dale Hunter won the award in 2003-04, a year before he led the team to a Memorial Cup victory. Hunter, a long time NHLer, has also been named OHL Coach of the Year on three occasions. The former long time NHL grinder remains the head coach and owner of the Knights.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.