ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

The Rugby Union Hall of Fame

Updated on September 12, 2012

Rugby Union

Rugby Union
Rugby Union

International Rugby Hall of Fame

The International Rugby Hall of Fame has been in operation since 1997, nearly ten years before the IRB Hall of Fame. Rugby enthusiasts set up a trust that would induct new members every two years. It features not only some of the games best players but other contributors to rugby union too. All rugby coaches, players and administrators are eligible for entry, but they are usually retired from participation in the game.

The first induction, in 1997, was a who's who of rugby greats and legends, such as Serge Blanco, Mark Ella, Barry John, Willie John McBride, Colin Meads, George Nepia, Hugo Porta and JPR Williams.

The board of trustees include co-founders Matt Patterson and Grahame Craig as well as an impressive stable of Hall of Fame inductees. These inductees who now sit on the board include Cliff Morgan, Hugo Porta, Nick Farr-Jones, Bill Beaumont, Jean-Pierre Rives, Willie-John McBride, Sir Anthony O'Reilly, Colin Meads, Andy Irvine, Morne du Plessis, Gareth Edwards, Sir Wilson Whineray and one non-inductee, New Zealander John Graham.

The International Rugby Hall of Fame seems to have stopped inducting new members since 2007.

1997 International Rugby Hall of Fame Inductees:

Serge Blanco from France
Danie Craven from South Africa
Gareth Edwards from Wales
Mark Ella from Australia
Mike Gibson from Republic of Ireland
Barry John from Wales
Willie John McBride from Republic of Ireland
Colin Meads from New Zealand
Cliff Morgan from Wales
George Nepia from New Zealand
Frik du Preez from South Africa
Tony O'Reilly from Republic of Ireland
Hugo Porta from Argentina
Jean-Pierre Rives from France
JPR Williams from Wales

1999 International Rugby Hall of Fame Inductees:

Gerald Davies from Wales
Morne du Plessis from South Africa
Nick Farr-Jones from Australia
Andy Irvine from Scotland
Carwyn James from Wales
Jack Kyle from Republic of Ireland
Brian Lochore from New Zealand
Philippe Sella from France
Wavell Wakefield from England
Wilson Whineray from New Zealand

2001 International Rugby Hall of Fame Inductees:

Gordon Brown from Scotland
David Campese from Australia
Ken Catchpole from Australia
Don Clarke from New Zealand
Mervyn Davies from Wales
Sean Fitzpatrick from New Zealand
Michael Lynagh from Australia
Bill McLaren, commentator from Scotland
Hennie Muller from South Africa
Jean Prat from France

2003 International Rugby Hall of Fame Inductees:

Bill Beaumont from England
Gavin Hastings from Scotland
Tim Horan from Australia
Michael Jones from New Zealand
Ian Kirkpatrick from New Zealand
John Kirwan from New Zealand
Jo Maso from France
Syd Millar from Republic of Ireland

2005 International Rugby Hall of Fame Inductees:

Fred Allen from New Zealand
Phil Bennett from Wales
André Boniface from France
Naas Botha from South Africa
John Eales from Australia
Grant Fox from New Zealand
Dave Gallaher from New Zealand
Martin Johnson from England
Ian McGeechan from Scotland
Gwyn Nicholls from Wales
Francois Pienaar from South Africa
Keith Wood from Republic of Ireland

2007 International Rugby Hall of Fame Inductees:

Ieuan Evans from Wales
Danie Gerber from South Africa
Tom Kiernan from Republic of Ireland
Jason Leonard from England
Jonah Lomu from New Zealand
Terry McLean (journalist) from New Zealand
Graham Mourie from New Zealand
Bennie Osler from South Africa
Fergus Slattery from Republic of Ireland
Joost van der Westhuizen from South Africa

Rugby Union Tribute

Rugby Union Video

Supporter Poll

Which International Rugby Team Do You Support?

See results

Rugby Union Haka

Leave a comment about Rugby Union, or better yet - write a hub of your own!

Hub writing is easy, fun, free and you can even make money doing it!

Click here to write your own hub!

Rugby Union Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.