ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Sports and Recreation»
  • Team Sports

Spain is the 2010 FIFA World Cup Champion

Updated on January 31, 2015

Spain is the 2010 FIFA World Cup Champion

Spain won against the Netherlands and suddenly the 2010 FIFA World Cup is over. Yes, the 2010 FIFA World Cup culminated with the win of Spain against Netherlands in the final day of the FIFA World Cup 2010. It was a long and happy wait for soccer fans all over the world. And the "who is going to win" question has finally been answered. Spain did it for the first time in the history of FIFA and a big congratulations to the Spain Squad headed by the coach Vicente Del Bosque.

Amidst some controversies in officiating and fouling and rough games, it ended with a sweet victory for the Spain squad -- a World Cup which will long be remembered not only because it was the first time Africa hosted the World Cup but rather the games were exciting and people all over the world waited in anticipation.

Everybody hopes the groin injury of Fernando Torres (forward) will soon heal. The injury was acquired before the game ended.

Sweet is the victory, VIVA LA ESPANA!

The day July 11, 2010 will always be remembered as the day Spain finally had "World Cup" trophy winning against Netherlands, 1-0.

FIFA 2010 World Cup Champion -- Spain Squad


image courtesy of FIFA website
image courtesy of FIFA website

Spain - Fifa World Cup 2010 Champion

Spain is the 2010 FIFA World Cup Champion

The coach Vicente Del Bosque had this to say for their win ; ---- We are proud of all the players, of the ones who were on the pitch and the ones who were on the bench," said their proud coach Vicente del Bosque. "We have worked together for 50 days without a single problem. The squad haven't just thought about winning. They've kept a lot of other values in mind too ---

Iker Casillas, Spain squad goalkeeper had to hold the trophy tightly -- the hardwork, perseverance and teamwork finally work for them, sweet victory first for Spain losing to Switzerland in the series by 1-0 (the only lost they had in this event).


Spain 2010 World Cup squad composed of the following players :

Goalkeepers ;

  • Iker Casillas
  • Victor Valdes

Defenders : Gerard Pique, Raul Albiol, Carlos Marchena, Carles Puyol, Joan Capdevila, Sergio Ramos, Alvaro Alberoa

Midfielders : Andres Iniesta, Xavi, Cesc Fabregas, Xabi Alonso, Sergio Busquets, Javier Martinez, David Silva

Forwards : David Villa, Fernando Torres, Juan Mata, Pedro, Fernando Llorente and Jesus Navas

COACH : Vicente Del Bosque

The Games Spain Played at The 2010 World FIFA CUP -- The Road to Being the Champion

The road to being the champion is not that hard for the Spain squad, actually, they lost to Switzerland very early, but the Spain squad is included in the prediction on who is going to win if you judge by the different blog sites and soccer enthusiasts forum in the Internet from all over the world.

They had it coming after Brazil, then Germany lost (the two biggest lost and setbacks in the 2010 World Cup

David Villa, a forward form the Spain squad is the top scorer. Spain scored 28 goals. The Spain squad played seven matches, got 8 yellow cards but 0 red card, fair enough. They won against Honduras, Chile, Portugal, Paraguay and Germany but lost to Switzerland. Finally they won against the Netherlands team in the overtime of the Finals.

It was not easy to beat the Netherlands team, in fact the overtime said it all, and the yellow card which the Netherlands team got is an evidence of how the two teams excelled and competed well. Many comments abound saying, the Netherlands prevented the Spain to score more and didn't concentrate on winning, just defending. The Netherlands are also a team that works hard to get to the finals and they deserve a well wound of applause. They all have the making of World Cup Champs, if the Netherlands team won, it could have been their first as well.


The world again awaits for the World FIFA Cup 2014 in Brazil. Happy reading!


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      akash srivastava 6 years ago

      wow...good written.....i m a i like this..

    • alexandriaruthk profile image

      alexandriaruthk 7 years ago from US

      Thanks Mick, Maita

    • Micky Dee profile image

      Micky Dee 7 years ago

      I'm not a big fan of sports. I've enjoyed them all but avoid them now. Great write. I'm glad the winner was Spain.