ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Do You Play Real Golf?

Updated on November 24, 2016

Are you playing golf, or are you playing a game that you and your friends made up? I have tried to pass on the importance of playing the game of golf the way it was designed to my friends and golf partners for years without much success.

They seem to think that the game they are playing is called golf. I fail to see the resemblance. Their ball lands directly behind a tree and they simply move it out to the fairway in order to have a shot to the target. (I am sure you have seen the commercial by now of Phil Mickelson watching an amateur kick his ball away from a tree.)

If the ball is in high grass, they just take it out of the high grass and place it on level playing field for a better chance of hitting it with their next swing. If it goes out of bounds, they not only do not hit again from the tee which makes it their third shot; they place the ball back in bounds down at the point of entry of the out of bounds markers and do not take a penalty stroke.

They say that they are just playing for fun and I am too serious about the game. However, at the end of the day when they compare our scores, they shout to the heavens that they just shot an 86 (they have actually improved a lot since we started. They used to score in the 100's consistently even playing by their rules.) Of course, I know that they would never break 100 if they played by the U.S.G.A. rules which govern all amateur golf.

Am I in the wrong here? Should they be able to make it up as they go along? I believe the Senior Leagues have ruined the game of golf for the older players. They allow a two club drop from anywhere on the course except the sand. Wow, is that a great concept , or what? They can all go to the 19th hole afterwards and brag about their rounds in the 80's while drinking that cold beer. Who are they kidding?

For years, I scored in the 74-88 range and I never touched the ball from tee to green. I was beating my comrades by ten to twenty strokes while they were playing by their Mickey Mouse rules. Anyway, I am going through a tumultuous period with my game right now unlike anything I have ever witnessed on the golf course. I have taken a nosedive and can not find my swing. My scores have plumeted and these same guys are now beating me on the course.

Okay, influenced by my current scores, I decided to play by their rules. Otherwise, we are not playing the same game and I am at a disadvantage. This is what I told myself, anyway. So, on the very first day of trying to swallow my pride and engage in their game, here is what happened; they moved their ball from behind trees and out of tall grass and did not take penalty strokes. My ball goes into a creek. I take it out and place it and tell them I am not taking a penalty stroke and they blatantly disagree.

Sure, I know there is a difference in going into the creek, or hazzard versus landing behind a tree. But is there really? Think about this for a moment. Playing by U.S.G.A. rules, I take a ball out of a hazzard and take relief and I may have a decent shot when taking my next swing. I took one stroke going into the creek, one stroke dropping the ball away from the point of entry no closer to the target and I hit a shot to the green and I am now laying three.

The guy with the ball next to the tree who plays by the rules will try to hit the ball if he can get a club on the back of the ball either left, or right handed. He might have to turn his club around backwards and try the trick shot. Then again, he may be able to try and hit it with the club facing the correct way. However, he may hit the back of the ball and the ball might hit the tree and go backwards deeper into the trees, or into a hazzard, or simply not move. Now, he has to repeat the same thing over again. Of course, he could have taken an unplayable lie rule and moved the ball two club lengths no closer to the target and taken a one stroke penalty. See where I am going with this? Being behind the tree may be worse than going into a creek. Therefore, why do I take a penalty for my misfortune if they do not take a penalty for theirs?

I can simplify this right now. Please do not call the game you are playing Golf. Call it scramble, or anything else, but please do not call it Golf. Let me give you some analagies of the game you are now playing. When you play football with your friends, call it a touchdown if you reach the five yard line. If you are playing tennis and your ball hits the net and comes back to you just hit it again without penalty because you did not like that shot. When you play basketball with friends, give yourself two points if the ball hits the rim. Why worry about the design, or rules of the game you are playing? Just go out there and have fun. The only thing I ask is that when you finish playing the game of golf as I know it, do not tell anyone what you scored.


After just one day of playing this way, I want to go back. Guess what? I love to hit the trick shot from behind the tree. I love to hit the huge hook out of the trees and onto the green. I love to open the clubface and hit out of tall grass. I spent years developing these skills in this game I have played called Golf. I just do not want to take those shots out of my game. So, the answer is to just play my game knowing that it is the way it is supposed to be played and not compare my scores with my playing partners....there simply is no comparison. They even had me taking Mulligans most of this year. Nobody forced me. I had decided that maybe this would be the one acceptance of their rules that I could agree with. Then, I reminded myself that it is not in the rule book. So, I am going out there this week and play the game that we all know and love.

And, for goodness sakes everybody, let's play the proper tees. If you only hit the ball 200 yards, get off those men's tees and move it forward. Why do you think there are several tee boxes?

Let's play GOLF!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • nishlaverz profile image

      nishlaverz 4 years ago from N.E England

      A lot of things have been done to change how we play British invented sport. I have a friend who can hit hole in ones. This to most is a hard task but this young man did it as a teenager and he only has one full arm and rarely do I see him using a prosthetic. He plays by the amateur disability rule. He is one of the best one armed golfers in England and loves to play for the enjoyment. He is the sort of person that would try to hit the ball from the rough even if it looked like an impossible shot for a fully able bodied golfer.

    • discovery2020 profile image
      Author

      discovery2020 4 years ago from TEXAS

      There you go. Even with his disability he plays by the rules. My kudos to your friend. By the way, hole-in-ones are actually luck. I have six of them, but the great Ben Hogan never had one. Thanks for sharing.

    • Davesworld profile image

      Davesworld 4 years ago from Cottage Grove, MN 55016

      There is a more subtle cheat that bothers me more than the occasional foot wedge. The rules permit you to lift the ball to identify it as yours. This one gets over worked by a lot of people who lift the ball every time, even when it is obvious to everybody and their brother that it is their ball. Of course, when replacing it, the lie gets improved.

    • discovery2020 profile image
      Author

      discovery2020 4 years ago from TEXAS

      Thanks for stopping by, Dave. What is so funny about that to me is that I can play just as well from the original lie as the so called improved lie. Another one is the guy that picks up his ball on the green supposedly to make sure it is clean and then puts it back down six to ten inches closer to the hole. That is hilarious! Some people think we are idiots. Have a good evening, Dave.

    • profile image

      JEHarr 4 years ago

      I think that the difference here is in identifying the purpose of your round. If the purpose is for you to have fun and enjoy your round what diffirecne does the rules make but if you are in competition with another it should be dicided at the first what each player is expected to do.

    • discovery2020 profile image
      Author

      discovery2020 4 years ago from TEXAS

      If I remember, Jeharr...you told me once that you played in a tennis league. Do you play by the rules? Thanks for your comments.

    • sundayround profile image

      sundayround 4 years ago from Pennsylvania

      You brought up some really good points! The rules are what makes the game fun and challenging. If you're just going to throw that all out the window, why even bother picking up a club in the first place? I especially liked the part about trick shots. I also love hitting trick shots, it's probably one of my favorite things to do in golf. So when you hit a bad shot, don't look at it as a failure, instead think of it as an opportunity to make amazing shot that you wouldn't have otherwise had the opportunity to attempt.

    • discovery2020 profile image
      Author

      discovery2020 4 years ago from TEXAS

      My kind of guy! Yes, I can hit a big hook on purpose to a green from behind a tree with the best of them. Love it. Thanks for your comments.

    Click to Rate This Article