Why is the ball not considered down when its hiked and placed on the ground to kick a field goal?
Other than just being an understood rule, and especially in college football because you are normally considered down if you have possession of the ball and your knee is touching the ground.
The ball / player with the ball has not been touched by a defender. In a regular play, if the ballcarrier falls without being touched by a defender, he is not down either. He can regain his feet and continue on. The same applies to the Field Goal play.
i dont have a definite answer, but his isnt totally correct because thats only an NFL rule. in everything else, down is down you dont have to be touched
by Paul Edmondson5 years ago
Just watched the 49ers go down to the Vikings. The Vikings played super well. Watching the Jets and Miami on gamecast now....Keep hoping that if Sanchez plays bad enough we'll get to see Tebow:)
by theirishobserver.8 years ago
When Ireland played France recently in the world cup qualifiers, a French player handled the ball and then scored the winning goal without a free kick being given to Ireland, Ireland are now out of the world cup...have...
Copyright © 2018 HubPages Inc. and respective owners.
Other product and company names shown may be trademarks of their respective owners.
HubPages® is a registered Service Mark of HubPages, Inc.
HubPages and Hubbers (authors) may earn revenue on this page based on affiliate relationships and advertisements with partners including Amazon, Google, and others.