ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Fashion and Beauty»
  • Shaving & Hair Removal

Shaving,Razor blades vs Electric Shavers

Updated on April 12, 2012

shaving

The Shaving Experiment

Over the past six months, I have been experimenting with different Razors and shavers. After trial and error, a few dabs of tissue paper and a couple of shaving rashes. I have finally finished my experiment and decided on the shaving method that is best for me. Below you will find a list of each razor or shaver that I have used in the experiment and how I rated each one.

I used three different electric shavers and three different razor blades for one month each in my experiment.

Braun Activator

Remington Rotary

Panasonic

Electric Shavers

3) Braun Activator Shaver 8595 $189.95

The Braun shaver sounded good, it made all of the right cutting noises and it seemed to slide over my face, it took about three minutes before the cutting sound stopped, and the razor didn't seem to be cutting any more hair.

Good points: The shaver glided over the skin, it is a cordless shaver so you can take it anywhere after a good charge up.

Bad points: I found small patches of hair that the razor could not cut, under my nose and on my jawbone. After shaving, my skin was very dry and I developed a rash.

Rating 5/10

The price of the Braun Activator Shaver 8595, lost this Shaver 2 points, it is very expensive for a machine that does not do the job it is made for.

2) Remington-R-1000 Rotary Shaver $149.99

The Remington shaver was the quickest shave, it only took about a minute and a half before the hair cutting noise stopped, it also glided over the skin.

Good points: This was a really good shave, I couldn't find any patches of uncut hair, It is also cordless which means that you can take it with you anywhere after a good charge.

Bad points: I developed a shaving rash after using the Remington and it made my skin dry.

Rating 7/10

The Remington-R-1000 Rotary Shaver is little expensive, but it does a good job, if you have dry skin problems though I wouldn't recommend it.

1)Panasonic Men's Pro CurveTM Cordless Shaver $59.99

The Panasonic, took about the same time as the Braun for the cutting noise to stop, it felt a little rough on the skin as it shaved and the head of the shaver got quite hot on the skin.

Good points: it was a good shave, as good as the Remington. I never found any patches of uncut hair, it is also cordless.

Bad points: shaving rash and dry skin.

Rating 8/10

The Panasonic Men's Pro Curve Cordless Shaver was as good a shave as the Remington the price of this shaver gives it the extra point to put it on the number 1 position.

If you have dry skin I don't recommend using an electric shaver.

Gillette Mach 3

Quatro

Shop brand

Razors

3) Gillette Mach 3

The mach 3 slid over my face it didn't feel as though it was cutting any hair, it was easy to use and, it was a quick shave, it only took about 2 minutes.

Good points: a very good shave, you don't feel it cutting the hair, I have dry skin and it wasn't irritated with this razor, I didn't get a shaving rash.

Bad points: the only bad thing I can really say about this razor is that the blades are expensive, at $10.99 for three hence the 3rd place.

Rating 7/10

I liked the Gillette Mach 3, I would use it all the time if the price was more affordable

Wilkinson Sword (Schick) Quattro Titanium Energy Razor

Like the Gillette, I didn't feel this razor cutting; it was a smooth shave and took about the same time as the Gillette.

Good points: good shave, smooth on skin, did not irritate my dry skin and no shaving rash.

Bad points: At $8.99 for four blades, it is a little less expensive than the Gillette.

Rating 8/10

The Wilkinson Sword (Schick) Quattro Titanium Energy Razor was difficult to differentiate from the Gillette shave but the blades were a little cheaper to buy.

1)ASDA (Wallmart) own brand disposable 10 pack

Surprisingly this was a good shave, although you could feel the razor cutting, I think I got the knack of this razor after the first week because I did cut myself a couple of times in the first week.

Good points: after learning how not to cut myself, this turned out to be a good shave, no dry skin irritation and no shaving rash.

Bad points: apart from getting some cuts in the first week there are no other complaints.

Rating 9/10

The own brand razor was very cheap 29p for ten that works out at about $0.60 for 10

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      anu george 7 years ago

      it realy helped,thanx for posting

    • profile image

      Paul 7 years ago

      Thanks Jimmy for the review.. I found it very helpful..

    • Julie-Ann Amos profile image

      Julie-Ann Amos 9 years ago from Gloucestershire, UK

      Great hub thanks, have linked it it from my shaving hub

    • jimmythejock profile image
      Author

      James Paterson 9 years ago from Scotland

      As a side note the Mach 3 is best if you use razors to shave your head.....jimmy

    • crazy-cat profile image

      crazy-cat 9 years ago from Wiltshire

      Has to be Gillette all the way. Agree that electrics can give more razor burn, although the newer ones now come with lotions built in

    • Constant Walker profile image

      Constant Walker 10 years ago from Springfield, Oregon

      I noticed you haven't reviewed the Schick Quattro Titanium Razor/Trimmer. That's OK, I did. Please see my Cool Stuff List hub.

    • bluewings profile image

      bluewings 10 years ago from Milkyway

      I have used Mach3 and Panasonic , but panasonic left my skin dry just as you said.The Mach3 works well for me.

    • livelonger profile image

      Jason Menayan 11 years ago from San Francisco

      This was extremely useful, Jimmy. I used an electric in college until I got an ingrown hair that caused a lot of problems. You're right - they abrade the skin and give you serious razor burn.

      I've been using a Mach 3 for years. I buy my razors from specialized vendors off Ebay. They're usually repackaged Canadian ones but it's the exact same product for about half the price.

    • profile image

      justjanice 11 years ago

      My husband has also tried lots of different razors, and always comes back to the old fashioned one.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)