ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Technology»
  • Computers & Software»
  • Operating Systems

A Basic Review of Linux Operating Systems

Updated on May 29, 2013

Do you use Linux?

See results

The first free software I recommend is Linux. Actually Linux is an operating system like Microsoft Windows, but since it is open source (which means that anybody can change the programming codes of it, and can do whatever whit it, except to sell it). The advantage of Linux as opposed to Windows is that (beside being free), is that it is extremely easy to install and set up. Anyone who has installed Windows before, knows, what a time a time consuming issue it is to search, download and then install all the proper and necessary drivers and utilities. With Linux there is no need to do that; Linux is really easy and simple to install and setup. There are literally hundreds of distributions (called distros) to Linux you can choose to download and use. Distros are different operating systems built on the same basis (operating system “kernel”). To draw an analogy with 95, 2000, Windows, a XP, Vista, 7 are all different “distros” of the DOS operating system. I recommend the two most widely used and most user friendly distos called OpenSUSE, or the disto; Ubuntu. Another advantage of linux is that it is a lot more stable (it won’t freeze), and that it is much safer. The reason why it is much safer is two fold.

  1. Any softwares to be installed, you need to provide your username and password to your Linux operating system that you set when your Linux operating system is installed. Also you need to provide a second password (called key) if you want to do any major modification to your operating system.

  2. The second reason why linux is safer and more resistant to viruses, spyware, adware, malware, troyans, key loggers (and who knows what else is out there) is that they simply do not exist for Linux, and Linux operating systems are used by only a few per cents of personal computer (in case of servers this figure is somewhat higher, due to it being free).


You can also try Linux using a so called Live CD. Live CDs are used to start using Linux and experiment with it, without the need to install Linux without replacing Windows, or to mess with partitioning your hard drive, so that your computer has both windows and and Linux on it.The final advantage of Linuxes is that, since they are open source, they have a very active online community in forums, where you can ask all sorts of questions and they will be glad to help.

The disadvantage of Linux operating systems are, although they are full featured operating systems now much like Windows, they are very difficult to set up in case of certain hardwares, like mobile internet modems (Huawei E220) and certain portable devices (ipods, zune players). Internet connection is somewhat difficult to set up as well. However if you only use your computer for basic activities like office suites (Word, Excell, Powerpoint), listen to music, watch movies, and such, linux is actually better then Windows.

To start out with your journey of linux, I recommend checking out a website called www.distrowatch.com, where you can download and burn the ISO images of different distros on CDs (To burn ISO image files to CDs or DVDs, I recommend using InfraRecorder, its easy and simpy to use , and of course free). You can download them by clicking on the links under “Page Hit Ranking” and then clicking to the website of the distro.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Mint User 4 years ago

      Far from his original article getting all the facts wrong on why windows was meant to be better than Linux, wonder what that humble pie tasted like? Funny how the worms turn once their brains grasp that Linux is Not windows, and that's what makes it the rising force that it is. Watch the numbers increase further in 2014 when XP support runs out and people don't want to pay for the awful looking Win8 . . . . .

    • Csanad profile image
      Author

      Csanad 6 years ago from Budapest, Hungary

      According to my experience, derivative distros are better then their original distros, because they correct the original distro's bugs, and hindrances.

    • profile image

      ShenKO 6 years ago

      it was interesting reading your article a while back on why windows was better than linux. i prefer your position now. i have noticed that with the new ubuntu its able to detect many of the modems by default

    • profile image

      linux2aixdotcom 6 years ago

      An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on the topic linux operating systems , it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

      Read Benefits of Linux at

      http://www.linux2aix.com/

    • profile image

      linux2aixdotcom 6 years ago

      Well this is good info for me about Linux Operating System. Thanks for sharing this!

    • KMattox profile image

      KMattox 6 years ago from USA

      Yes, I am confused by that other article too.

    • profile image

      M$ Basha 6 years ago

      Everyone who reads this comment please believe me that linux is the best but do not totally trust this author.

      Read this article where the same author, Csanad, said M$ windows is better with the same reasons he states here about Linux is better.

      https://hubpages.com/technology/Why-Windows-is-Bet...

    • Esuturtingas profile image

      Esuturtingas 7 years ago

      Linux is the future

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)