ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Asus Netbook 1000HE EeePC Review

Updated on February 10, 2018

The Asus Netbooks are some of the cream of the crop. They are highly regarded and innovative in their design and features. The Asus Netbook 1000HE model is part of Asus Computer's “Eee” line. This can be taken to mean either Easy, Excellent, Exciting; or Easy to Play, Easy to Learn, Easy to Carry. It is true on all counts, and the design is sleek and appealing for a netbook PC.

With this model you get a number of features and enhancements and there are things unique to ASUS which you do not get with any other netbook. One of these exclusive features is Eee Storage. This allows you an additional 10 gigabytes of online storage space accessible from anywhere via the internet. This is great for backing up important files safely or to share documents and media with family and friends.

Click thumbnail to view full-size
A good view of the keyboard
A good view of the keyboard
A good view of the keyboard

Features

The Asus netbooks use what they call their Super Hybrid Engine. This feature, which is available with a “instant key” on the keyboard allows you to change the performance and power features on the fly for improved battery life. And speaking of battery life, this 1000HE netbook has plenty of battery life. I have been on my netbook for more than 8 hours with absolutely no problem. This was while surfing the internet, listening to music, and writing articles using Open Office, all without a hiccup, and with power left to spare. This little netbook is actually rated for 9.5 hours of continuous life, and I am positive that it would not have any problem getting there, I've just not been on it continuously that long. This means you can just grab and go, and use it throughout your day, taking notes in class, working on your essays and reports, downloading music at the coffee shop, or doing research in the library – all without having to worry about being near an outlet. It is not extra heavy or bulky either. The 6-cell battery fits into the netbook without any protrusion or interruption of the smooth lines and nothing to snag in a backpack or tote.

The ASUS 1000HE should have no problem connecting to various wireless networks and comes with up to “N” connection speeds, which is the fastest available. It also has Bluetooth for connecting to some wireless printers and even cellular phones and devices to transfer files wirelessly. Of course, you can use a bluetooth mouse or keyboard as well.

User Interface

The keyboard is actually very usable for a small PC like this netbook. It is 92% of full size, so you aren't giving up much. My only complaint at all for this whole review is the shift keys are a little smaller, so I sometimes have trouble finding them after being used to my desktop keyboard. I adjust quickly, though, and it's a small compromise for such excellent portability.

The ASUS 1000HE has a touchpad with two buttons as would be expected, but also features a Multi-touch, touchpad. This allows two finger operation which is great for zooming in or out while using word processing or graphics applications.

Under the Hood

The processor is the Intel Atom N280 which runs at 1.66 gigahertz, and is adequate for most tasks involving word processing, internet surfing and email as well as videos and pictures. There is a 160 GB hard disk drive, 1 GB of memory, and a 10.1” screen with 1024x600 resolution which is just ideal for internet pages without having to side scroll.

There is included a 1.3M pixel camera which takes stills or full-motion for web conferencing as well as an Array Microphone which results in better sound without echo, so the videos you make will be much more will be much more watchable.

There is a VGA port for adding an external monitor or projector for presentations. It has 3 USB ports, 1 RJ-45 jack for wired networking, 2 audio jacks for headphones and additional microphone, and a built-in card reader capable of accepting the MMC/SD formats.


Conclusion

After using this netbook for about three months pretty frequently, I can readily recommend it to you. I have tried out other netbooks from HP and Dell, and I believe the ASUS to be a much better product.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • weezyschannel profile image

      Lisa 

      6 years ago from Central USA

      I loved mine until it took a turn for the worst-contacted ASUS and got another one. Same problem after a couple weeks. Kept crashing (without any programs installed!) Blue screen of death, etc. Got another replacement- same thing.. I will never buy another 1000 ever. I had horrible problems.

    • Jeffrey Neal profile imageAUTHOR

      Jeffrey Neal 

      8 years ago from Tennessee

      Thanks, Money Glitch!

    • Money Glitch profile image

      Money Glitch 

      8 years ago from Texas

      Another great hub! And congrats on becoming a HubNugget Wannabe...

    • Jeffrey Neal profile imageAUTHOR

      Jeffrey Neal 

      8 years ago from Tennessee

      Thanks, Kosmo. This is my first Asus comp, but I've been very happy with it.

    • Kosmo profile image

      Kelley Marks 

      8 years ago from California

      I have an Asus desktop that works very well, and because of that I'd recommend anyone buying one. It seems their latest laptop is also a winner. Thanks for the data. Later!

    • Jeffrey Neal profile imageAUTHOR

      Jeffrey Neal 

      8 years ago from Tennessee

      janiek, thank you for the compliment! Hopefully my review helps you decide on the perfect laptop or netbook.

    • janiek13 profile image

      Mary Krenz 

      8 years ago from Florida's Space Coast

      Good review! I know very little about laptops and I always welcome more information.

    • Jeffrey Neal profile imageAUTHOR

      Jeffrey Neal 

      8 years ago from Tennessee

      I don't think you should have any problem with VPN since it is a networking protocol that shouldn't be too much overhead for a netbook. Connectivity with this one is excellent, but I have not actually used VPN on it. As for Win7, there are some of the bleeding edge netbooks with a Windows 7 "lite", but XP is mostly standard on them for now. Thanks for reading and glad you enjoyed the hub!

    • akirchner profile image

      Audrey Kirchner 

      8 years ago from Washington

      I'm looking at these at the moment- don't suppose you know if you can set up a VPN but probably so...does it work on Windows 7 or is it on XP? Excellent hub though!

    • Jeffrey Neal profile imageAUTHOR

      Jeffrey Neal 

      8 years ago from Tennessee

      I actually have both an average size (14"-15") laptop and a netbook. Whenever I am taking one outside of home, I always grab the netbook since the portability and battery life are superior. Thank you so much for reading my hub and letting me know about the nomination! I had no idea!

    • ripplemaker profile image

      Michelle Simtoco 

      8 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      Jeffrey, I've always wanted a small laptop, the notebook must be the answer huh? :) Anyhow, just sending my congratulations to you for being a Hubnugget Wannabe! Yes! Just follow this link please and you will see for yourself: http://hubpages.com/hubnuggets10/hub/come-on-down

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)