ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Boost Mobile Cell Phone and Service Reviews

Updated on May 17, 2013

Boost Mobile Phones and Service: Great for Talkers!

Many of you have been there - falling back in shock when you get your cell phone bill and realize that your bill is about $200 more than you expected...maybe your teenager got a hold of your phone (how kids can talk on the phone for 3,000 minutes I still can't fathom) ... or you just accidentally used more minutes than you thought you had....

Whatever the case, there comes a point in life where you decide that this minute by minute stuff just isn't working anymore and you start looking around for one of those "flat-rate" plans that you just pay monthly on. Sounds good, right?

Well yes if you live in the San Francisco Bay Area chances are you will have access to at least 2 of those flat rate plans - either by Metro PCS or their new rival Boost Mobile. Although ATT claims to have 97% of cell service plans wrapped up in the nation I know that's certainly not the case here in the Bay Area. Most if not all of my friends and/or family have either a Metro or Boost Mobile plan.

The Blackberry Curve - available on Boost

The Blackberry Curve
The Blackberry Curve | Source

Metro PCS review - THUMBS DOWN!

I have owned a cell phone for at least 10 years and have been in various plans and contracts.I switched to Metro cell phone service a couple years back after getting tired of being stuck in plans and paying more than I thought I should. Unfortunately I found Metro service in my area to be horrible. I had to go outside to use my cell phone because there was apparently some type of "void" in the area where I live. This was frustrating to say the least. Even more frustrating was being in the middle of an important phone call only to be disconnected mid word (especially frustrating when I'd waited on hold forever just to get a live person to begin with) Finally some competition came long Metro PC: Boost Mobile. I hung out with Metro PCS for a few more months than decided to make the switch.

It was a great move. The i465 clutch phone I got is durable (I tend to be rough on my phones) and the service plan is easy and affordable: A flat $50 a month. I pay my Boost Mobile bill at a local store and haven't had any problems with service since I started it 5 months ago. For $50 a month I have unlimited minutes, nights, weekends, e-mail, picture messaging, GPS, blue-tooth and web browsing along with a camera (not all Boost phones have cameras though)

Lucky for me, I didn't have to pay for my phone (my son gave me his) but the phone I got is very affordable at $79.00 (transferring a used phone was easy by the way) I even hear there is a cool new phone by Boost with a touch screen (that's nice but I'm not of of those people that has to have the latest and greatest) To pay my Boost Mobile bill I either reload my Boost card by phone, or do it in person at the store. If I forget to pay my bill on time my service will be interrupted but is restored quickly upon payment. I don't have dropped calls anymore and the voice clarity is spectacular. The speakerphone is loud and I don't get anymore gargled words either (all these things were problems with Metro PCS)

And there are NO contracts to sign with Boost Mobile!

Boost Mobile service is nationwide

If you are interested in checking to see if Boost Mobile has coverage in your area you can go to their coverage site here: http://www.boostmobile.com/coverage/

I was actually quite surprised to find that Boost Mobile is in quite a few areas nationwide so you may be able to use Boost in your area. And BTW, I am not affiliated with Boost Mobile in any way so whether you switch or not I don't profit from this! I just like giving good reviews to those services that I think deserve it - and based on my experience as a cell phone user I am very very pleased with the Boost Mobile service plans. I would like to upgrade one day to one of those touch screen phones but that will just have to wait!

(Dorsi Diaz is a freelance writer/publisher here on the internet and writes reviews and interesting stories about life experiences)

Poll on cell phone usage

What type of cell phone service do you have?

See results

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • Dorsi profile imageAUTHOR

    Dorsi Diaz 

    6 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    @char) I am a freelance writer and occasionally write product reviews. I don't work for Boost.

  • profile image

    char 

    6 years ago

    wowee o wow ... u should go work with them! Oh ya ... you already do

  • Dorsi profile imageAUTHOR

    Dorsi Diaz 

    6 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    @gn) Your welcome and thanks for stopping by! I think you will be happy with Boost.

  • profile image

    gn 

    6 years ago

    I am going to give boost mobile a try, thanks for the info..

  • Dorsi profile imageAUTHOR

    Dorsi Diaz 

    7 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    @Steven) Check the Boost website to order a new phone Steven. Good luck.

  • profile image

    STEVEN WASHINGTON 

    7 years ago

    NEED A NEW PHONE PLEASE

  • Dorsi profile imageAUTHOR

    Dorsi Diaz 

    8 years ago from The San Francisco Bay Area

    Thanks for the comments everyone about Boost. And yes, Boost IS owned by Sprint, and that's probably why it's reliable (I've heard Sprint has good service too)

  • TheSituation profile image

    TheSituation 

    8 years ago

    Boost Mobile is owned by Sprint, so you should have very close to the same coverage you have with Sprint.

  • freelancewriterva profile image

    freelancewriterva 

    8 years ago

    I am a bootmobile phone user and I love it.

  • CheapMobilePhones profile image

    CheapMobilePhones 

    8 years ago from UK

    I am hearing for the first time about the 'Boost Mobile Phones'. Thanks for the Information.

  • ethel smith profile image

    Ethel Smith 

    8 years ago from Kingston-Upon-Hull

    Thanks for the info

  • ocbill profile image

    ocbill 

    8 years ago from hopefully somewhere peaceful and nice

    I think the coverage areas really depends with Metro PCS. My friend has it is in Florida and her coverage is great. I will try Boost Mobile though since I will not be in the everglades or thereabouts.

  • Hello, hello, profile image

    Hello, hello, 

    8 years ago from London, UK

    Thank you for a gretat article and tips. I am sure it will help people.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)