ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Cherry Mobile Titan W500 Review

Updated on January 2, 2013

Too good to be true?

I had to rub my eyes when I first read about Cherry Mobile's event late this October. Cherry Mobile launched the Flare and Titan Android smartphones.

I double and triple checked what I was reading. But several points stood out and made my jaw drop.

  • Point 1: 4.0" and 5.0" Android for 4K and 6.5K Php respectively. This immediately suggested the res was at least 800x480. Insane for the price.
  • Point 2: MTK6577 SOC on the 5.0". I've been following manufacturers from Shenzhen since the iPad launched and I knew what this meant. Dual-core Cortex A9. That's definitely in mid-range or higher territory.
  • Point 3: Snapdragon S4 MSM8225. I looked up the number because I'm pretty sure it wasn't a Krait core, definitely not at 4K Php. Still, it's a respectable Dual-core Cortex A5.
  • Point 4: IPS screen on the 4.0". What the hell? 800x480 IPS at 4K Php?! Impossiburu! It MUST be a typo! But no.
  • Point 5: 4.0" and 5.0" Android for 4K and 6.5K Php respectively. It HAD to be repeated and stressed. 4K and 6.5K Php for these specs. Insane.

I was initially going to purchase the Flare just for kicks and to see how much value Cherry Mobile could bring to the table. However, only the Titan is available at the moment, though given the spec sheet both will be similar performance-wise. I also decided to purchase the Titan instead since I already own two 4.0" smartphones. A 5.0" experience at 6.5K Php sounded like an absolute bargain. Even if the Flare is cheaper, lets leave it out for a moment and focus on the weight that the Titan brings to the situation. The Titan performs well out of its price range.

If I was to summarize at which price range the Titan performs per criteria, it would be the following:

Processor performance: Php 15,000 to 20,000 range
--(competitors: phones that use a dual-Cortex A9 SOC. i.e. Samsung Galaxy Nexus i9250 <TI OMAP 4430>, Sony Xperia P <NovaThor U8500>)

Screen performance: Php 10,000 to 15,000 range
--(competitors: phones with a WVGA/800x480 screen that use PLS, VA or similar for better PQ. i.e. Sony Xperia L, Samsung Ace Plus 2, LG Optimus L7)

Size: Php 15,000+
--(competitors: there are very few phones on the market with a 5.0" or larger screen. The cheapest would be the Lenovo S880 and Sharp SH530U, both of which are 15K Php. Other than that, it's just the Samsung Galaxy Note which goes well beyond 20K Php)

Camera: Php 5,000 to 10,000 range
--(competitors: entry-level smartphones with "3.2 to 5 megapixel" cameras. Cameras in this range aren't particularly noteworthy)

It's an absolute heavy hitter and it's very easy to forget that it's only 6,499 Philippine Pesos.

I'll be tackling each of these criteria after I've talked about the build quality and general impressions of the device.

Build Quality

The Titan's design is compact and spartan. It feels very solid too. It'll immediately remind you of the Samsung Galaxy S II. The facade of the Titan is plain, with no branding whatsover. You have an earpiece, the front-facing camera, the screen, the three backlit, touch buttons on the bottom that correspond to menu/options, home and back, and the light sensor which you won't even notice due to the black hole that is the front of the Titan -- it's very minimalist. If you like black and want to look like an all-work, no-play businessman, or James Bond, the Titan is for you. Despite being a bulky phone, it's also only 10.5 mm thick.

The back cover of the Titan is made of some sort of plastic that has a rubbery feel to it. It actually adds grip which you can feel when you hold it sideways with both hands. The Titan also comes with a spare backcover that has a built-in flipcover. I was surprised when the flipcover of the Titan actually behaves like the smart cover on my iPad. The flipcover automatically wakes the screen from sleep when you open it and automatically puts the phone to sleep when you close it. Fancy.

Titan's two back covers
Titan's two back covers
Titan's back without cover
Titan's back without cover

The Titan does not have a dedicated camera button. The placement of the volume up and down button on the upper-right side allows you to easily control the volume with your thumb when held with the right hand. The top-left placement of the 3.5 mm jack also means you can easily slide the Titan in and out of your pocket without intrusion from the earphone cables. My only con with the Titan's back is that the camera lens is slightly protruding outwards by about 1 mm. It would've been better reccessed so that lens doesn't get scratched when dragging it in and out of the pocket. The lens does appear to have some coating to prevent light scratches as I've been using it for nearly a week as of this writing and have taken it in and out of the right pocket of my jeans countless times. No scratches so far.

Titan with the flipcover. Notice the placement of the volume buttons
Titan with the flipcover. Notice the placement of the volume buttons
Titan with flipcover exposed and earphones (note: these are NOT the earphones that come with the phone)
Titan with flipcover exposed and earphones (note: these are NOT the earphones that come with the phone)

Overall impression of the Titan's build quality is very good. As usual, don't abuse it and it'll last you a while. The phone also comes attached with a screen protector out of the box.

Here is the checklist of what comes inside the box:

  • 1x Cherry Mobile W500 Titan
  • 1x Earphones
  • 1x USB cable
  • 1x Wall charger
  • 1x User's manual
  • 1x Spare backcover with leather flipcover
  • 1x 2350 mAh battery

    Update: Batches of the Cherry Mobile Titan made available from the 3rd week of December 2012 onwards do not have the leather flipcover included inside the box. It is unknown if Cherry Mobile will be including them again in the future. I will be updating this again if the flipcover becomes included once more.

Screen and Size

The screen is not IPS. I repeat, the screen is not IPS. It's not a bad thing though the screen is actually an MVA panel. To put it bluntly, it's between the cheapo TN panels and the more expensive IPS panels. It has good viewing angles like an IPS (though IPS is still better), has good contrast, but suffers from poor response time.

While the viewing angles are good, they're still not as good as an IPS. You can view an IPS display from 179 degrees and it will still look good. At over 160 degrees, the MVA screen introduces some whitewashing. With regards to the poor response time, it's a common weakness for all VA (vertical alignment) panels. On the Titan, this is represented by some color shifting when there are fast moving images. It's particularly evident when scrolling through the Android UI, but it's barely noticeable when watching movies or playing games. Despite that, the overall quality of the display is excellent and you won't find it lacking at all, unless you've downgraded from a Galaxy Note. Trust me.

Here are some shots of the Titan's screen demonstrating viewing up front and at angles:

I would also like to mention that there are three "color modes" for the Titan's screen.

They can be located under Settings -> Display -> Colors.

Color options
Color options

Simple color and colorful mode are practically the same while deep color mode increases color saturation and contrast.

Simple color and colorful mode
Simple color and colorful mode
Deep color mode
Deep color mode

Simple color and colorful mode is simply a whitewash. Deep color mode gives the screen the look of an AMOLED upfront and provides that "Wow!" factor. You'll be forgiven if you view it in front for the first time and thought it was AMOLED. Start looking at an angle, however, and you'll realize it's an LCD given the LED backlighting.

At this point, you'd think that even with a good panel on the Titan, there's no way 800x480 will look sharp on a 5.0". The PPI of the Titan is 187 while my 3.0" Xperia Mini's PPI is 192. You'd think that the Xperia Mini would look a bit sharper. Actually, it doesn't. It looks worse. Most people immediately think of the PPI and forget about the screen size. Sure, there's a threshold (i.e. WVGA @ 7" looks terrible). However, UI scales with the increase in resolution. For instance, my Xperia Mini may take 10 pixels to represent the letter "A". Despite the lower PPI, my Titan may take 20 pixels to represent the letter "A" and thus looks sharper than my Mini.

Another thing worth noting is that the screen is 5.0". Bigger screens are usually a premium for smartphones as the larger surface area allows for more screen estate. For instance, you can actually watch a movie in "windowed mode" like you would on a PC while web browsing. There are very few phones on the market aside from Samsung's Galaxy Note series (which started this phablet craze) that are beyond 5.0". The cheapest widely available 5.0" is Lenovo's S880, which costs 15K Php and has nearly the exactly same specification as the Titan, the only difference being the smaller battery on the S880, IPS on the S880 and MVA on the Titan, and an LED flash on the Titan and no flash on the S880. The Titan gives you that premium feel of a phablet at a very, very low price point.

The pricing of the Titan also coincides with its screen size advantage over the Flare. The Flare's 4.0" screen is only 63% the surface area of the Titan's 5.0", or 2/3rds the size. The Flare is 4K Php, which makes it 62% the price of the 6.5K Titan. Not sure if Cherry Mobile was aware of this when they did the pricing, but I'm sure they had some ideas.

Below is a comparison of the Titan (5.0") vs my Nokia N9 (4.0") and my Xperia Mini (3.0"). The screen size difference is evident when they're compared side-by-side. If you're coming from something like a Samsung Galaxy Y or Optimus L3, you might be overwhelmed by how much screen estate you have.

Titan vs Nokia N9 vs SE Xperia Mini
Titan vs Nokia N9 vs SE Xperia Mini

Processor and General Performance

The MediaTek MTK6577 is a dual-core Cortex A9-based SOC with a PowerVR SGX 531 Ultra GPU. It's also manufactured at 40 nm, which gives it a thermal and power advantage over other dual-core Cortex A9-based SOCs which are manufactured at 45 nm. Some of these SOCs include the TI OMAP 4430/4460 (Samsung Galaxy Nexus i9250, Motorola Droid RAZR, LG Optimus 3D P920), Samsung Exynos 4210 (Samsung Galaxy S II, Galaxy Note, Galaxy Tab 7.7), Apple A5 (iPhone 4S, iPad 2) which are all found on higher-end or flagship devices from 2011. Unsurprisingly, the Titan performs and feels speed-wise, just like the flagship devices from 2011.

The only letdown on the MTK6577 is the PowerVR SGX 531 Ultra. I couldn't find any datasheets on the SGX 531 Ultra or SGX 531T, so I'm assuming it's basically an SGX 530 with higher clocks. The SGX 530 is an old GPU, comparable to the Adreno 205. However, the SGX 531 Ultra turns out to be respectable, scoring 27.4 FPS on Nenamark 2. Devices like the Xperia Play which use an Adreno 205 are left in the dust.

Titan's Nenamark 2 Score
Titan's Nenamark 2 Score

The SGX 531 Ultra may not be the fastest, but combined with the solid dual-core Cortex A9s, the Titan can play even the more demanding games on the Play Store today. Games such as Dead Trigger, Virtua Tennis, Real Racing 2 and Asphalt 7 run on the Titan flawlessly.

Another thing that bothered me when I looked at the spec sheet was the 512 MB of RAM. However, my only caveat with this is that it only allows me to multitask 2 or 3 apps at a time. Given the Android application lifecycle, apps in the background that were running will be stopped or "destroyed" when there isn't enough RAM to accommodate the new application launched. Don't get it wrong, the phone absolutely speeds by on 512 MB of RAM. The problem is some people misunderstand lower RAM as lower speed. In this case, it's just less multitasking -- and that's a bad thing since a 5.0" simply begs to be multitasked.

Camera

Here comes the bad part. Cherry Mobile had to cut some corners to reach the unbelievably low price point, and they did so on the camera. The camera on the Cherry Mobile feels absolutely terrible if you're coming from something like the iPhone 4, Nokia N9 or higher-end phones from yesteryears with very good cameras. However, to make a fair assessment, the Titan is only 6.5K which is very easy to forget. I suppose it's simply because the Titan performs well out of its price range in nearly every criteria that the camera of the Titan just looked bad in comparison. After some additional testing of the camera, I've come to conclude that it isn't actually that bad. It remains RELATIVELY very bad, but given the cameras on phones in the 5K Php to 10K Php category, the Titan actually fares ok.

Also, I have a few notes (rather, quirks) on certain features on the camera on the Titan:

- Turning on HDR (high dynamic range) in still shot mode generates two (2) pictures instead of one. The typical implementation of HDR on cameras is to take two shots in higher and lower luminance and combine them into a single image. I'm guessing the Titan skips the last step and doesn't combine the two photos.

- Turning on EIS (electronic image stabilization) in video recording mode adds a "jump" or pause every few seconds while taking a video. I don't normally use EIS since software implementations of video stabilization introduces unwanted artifacts and other crap that degrades the quality of the video. It's suggested that EIS be turned off at all times unless you're really up for a bumpy ride. Even on dedicated cameras, I rely on lens/optical image stabilization alone and leave EIS turned off.

- There's no macro mode in still shot mode. I can't find it anywhere. However, I found that touching the screen to focus on the touched area works just fine to create macro shots.

Titan Camera Samples (Good lighting)

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Titan Camera Samples (Low light)

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Titan Camera Samples (Macro shots)

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Below are video recording samples taken by the Titan in 720p.
Please watch the videos in 720p quality to see what the recordings actually look like.

Video recording sample 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u5cuyf01P38

Video recording sample 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fqhm4PEjQkw

Video recording sample 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPW2b9GpFDE

The camera of the Titan remains its main weakness, but at the price of the Titan, you'll actually be hard pressed to find a phone with a much better camera. The only "branded" phones that spring to mind that tackle the Titan on price are the Samsung Galaxy Y, Sony Xperia Tipo, LG Optimus L3, and a few others. None of them have good cameras.

Here's the lowdown on the Titan's camera:
- Acceptable outdoor shots
- Terrible low light or indoor shots
- Macro shots are doable, but they're overly sharpened and lose a lot of detail
- Video recording is serviceable for 720p

The front facing camera is typical, nothing noteworthy. It's perfectly usable for Skype and whatnot.

Other Stuff

The sound output of the Titan is very clean and more than adequately powerful. It can drive all my IEMs. No hissing when there's nothing playing. Goes very well with Poweramp and its myriad of options to improve your listening experience. When paired with my FiiO E6 amp, it can even drive my Superlux HD 668B without problems. This is an ideal phone for music playback.

One of the highlights on the Titan is also the battery life. It's simply impressive!

Take for instance the other day where I decided to monitor my battery consumption. Went out that day with 82% battery left at 10:30 am.

Used the phone that day for:

-Used 3.5G/HSDPA data only while web browsing for about 1 hour 30 minutes (used Opera Mobile for browsing)
-Played Virtua Tennis and Dead Trigger for a total of about 30 minutes
-Took and made calls totaling 6 mins
-Sent and received a few text messages
-Music playing with my earphones on at full volume for about 4 hours in total (used Poweramp for music playback)
-Brightness set to auto-brightness (light sensor determines brightness)

Got home at 8 pm and I still had 54% left! On moderate use + music playing back (90-100% volume, IEM) for a few hours, the phone can last me two days.

Also, you can only use 3G/3.5G (UMTS/HSDPA) on one SIM slot. You can configure which SIM slot 3G/3.5G will be enabled.

Some people looking forward to get this phablet may also be upset by the fact that the Titan does not have a built-in stylus. However, it does work with the usual capacitive stylus. Even the Php 30 CDR King stylus works fine. What makes the "stylus experience" on the Titan workable is that it has an "exact" (the 'pen over paper' icon) option under the notifications bar. What it does is increase sensitivity to a point that you can hover your finger 1 or 2 mm above the screen and it will still register a touch. In practice, this enables pinpoint accuracy and stability with a stylus. It's a shame though that it doesn't come with a stylus built-in.

The "Exact" option. Perfect for stylus use.
The "Exact" option. Perfect for stylus use.
Doodling with the Titan and a Php 30 stylus
Doodling with the Titan and a Php 30 stylus

The Titan also has built-in GPS with A-GPS support. I can only say that the performance of the GPS chip inside the Titan is stellar. I enabled GPS and left the A-GPS (which uses network data to assist with lock-on) options disabled. Lo and behold, less than 15 seconds later and I get a GPS lock. That is VERY, very fast considering A-GPS options were disabled. Other phones don't even lock on this fast with A-GPS enabled.

For users wishing to use Google's own Navigation software. Turn-by-turn navigation with voice is not available in the Philippines. However, you can still use Google Navigation to get directions and plot points for you whether you are driving or just walking/commuting. Also, you can use other navigation software on Android with turn-by-turn navigation with voice.

GPS chip testing and navigation on the Titan

Click thumbnail to view full-size

Conclusion

The Cherry Mobile Titan is simply a worldbeater of a phone at its price. If you're new to Android and are planning to get something like a Galaxy Y Duos or Optimus L3 (which occupy the same price point as the Titan), ignore them and get the Titan. I cannot stress enough how important a good processor and a good screen is for the definitive Android experience. I've heard many stories of disappointment from people who've purchased low-end Android phones in the past year and it's left a sour taste in their mouths.

Even for people who've bought mid-range phones in 2011 like the Sony Xperia Neo V and Samsung Galaxy W, the Titan is actually considered an upgrade bar the camera -- even if those phones originally costed more than 2 or 3 times the Titan's SRP. If you want to have a taste of the true Android experience, the Cherry Mobile Titan is a good place to start.

Pros:
+ Massive 5.0" screen
+ 800x480 MVA panel dumps the competition in its price range
+ Dual-core Cortex A9 processor
+ Dual SIM
+ High capacity 2350 mAh battery
+ Good build quality
+ 6,499 Php only

Cons:
- Terrible camera
- 512 MB of RAM only allows little multitasking since only a few apps can reside in the background
- Doesn't have a built-in stylus like the Galaxy Note

Given the 6,499 Php price, chances are you'll ignore the cons if you're upgrading to the Titan.


Official Cherry Mobile Titan W500 Specs

MediaTek MT6577 1GHz dual-core processor
PowerVR SGX531 GPU
5.0" capacitive touch panel (800 x 480, 187ppi), 16 million colors
512MB RAM
4GB internal storage
up to 32GB via microSD
Up to 3G/HSPA+ 21Mbps
WiFi 802.11 b/g/n, WiFi hotspot
Bluetooth 2.1 with A2DP
GPS w/ aGPS support
Dual-SIM, Dual-Standby
5-megapixel rear camera with flash
VGA front-facing camera
Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich
2350mAh battery
205g with battery
SRP: Php 6,499.00

© 2012 Kyle Lopez-Vito

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      okgood 4 years ago

      I flash a custom rom on my Titan and the touchscreen now is too much sensitive and it's annoying is there a way to reduce touchscreen sensitivity?

    • profile image

      Yoji Ojeda 4 years ago

      hi! what do u think about jellybean update for this phone?

    • profile image

      HapeeMil 4 years ago

      Thanks for the reply Symp.. It happened twice in my titan that is why as you have said, I never let my battery drop to 0% again..

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ HapeeMil

      Sorry, I've never encountered that problem in my 5 months of owning a Titan. Also, I never ever let my battery drop to 0%. I put it on sleep and stop using it when battery is already at 10%. It's bad letting the battery fully discharge.

    • profile image

      HapeeMil 4 years ago

      Nice review!

      Do you have any idea about android's "modem log"? System seems not too stable.. Every time my titan is not properly turn off (empty bat for playing games), as I charged and open it again, notification said “modem log is stopped”. In effect, there's no network signal in 2 sims and I have to turn it off again and again not until I see a bar in my signal. Please advise.

    • profile image

      IRICK 4 years ago

      I BOUGHT ONE AND I LOVE IT!!!WORTH THE PRICE

    • profile image

      Venice 4 years ago

      My Titan only lasted 8 days. It just went off and it gets really hot on the upper side corner where the camera is located. I removed the battery then waited for it to cool off. I inserted back the battery and it wont turn ON. And just about a minute it gets hot again. I only have a 7 days unit replacement and 1 year warranty. Its just a bad luck for me that it happened exactly on the 8th day.

    • profile image

      Baekwondo 4 years ago

      Good job for this review, the best one so far.

      I can't wait to have this phone by this week.

      Thank you so much.

    • profile image

      Denspert 4 years ago

      Nice and clear review..

    • profile image

      ace L. 4 years ago

      sir need your help...which one will you recommend the titan or the cruize?performance and quality wise...and how can you upgrade to a 5point touch screen?tnx

    • profile image

      VJB 4 years ago

      pano palitan yung theme/skin ng music player ng CM titan?

    • profile image

      iShQ 4 years ago

      Great review! I wanna buy! Lol

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Iowo

      They light up. But the brightness is really low. You won't notice it in daylight or any good lighting condition for that matter. At night or pitch black conditions though, it's bright enough. At least bright enough to be seen and not intrude on video viewing sessions at night by being too bright.

    • profile image

      lowo 4 years ago

      Just bought a unit thanks to your review :) everything feels great. Its fast and bug free :) just wanna ask though. The three capacitive buttons at the bottom of the screen doesn't light up. Is there something wrong with my unit or it really doesn't really do that? Thanks

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @Pogz

      Both ePSXe and FPSE (PS1) run on full speed with sound on the Titan, even with dithering enabled. MyBoy (GBA) also works flawlessly. Haven't tried any other emulator, but I don't see why they shouldn't work.

      P.S. Any device with a MTK6577 processor has the PowerVR SGX531 as its GPU.

    • profile image

      Pogz 4 years ago

      So does the GPU processor PowerVR SGX531 GPU adds to the graphical capabilities of the Titan compared to the other CM phones (perhaps compared to Omega)? Im looking to buy a CM phone to run SNES/GBA emulators.

      My take is that I don't want a gigantor of a phone in my pocket just to play emulators just something in between my 4S and iPad Mini. (which unfortunately still has no JB as of this writing --thats why im jumping ship to android for my emulator cravings.)

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Mark

      Get the Titan. The MTK6577 processor on the Titan is much better for gaming.

      @ rrpl

      Animo. lol

    • profile image

      rrpl 4 years ago

      Nice. You're in goks :-)

    • profile image

      Mark 4 years ago

      Honestly I'm very disappointed on buying nokia X7-00 last year very boring, game is limited etc etc. and i'm planning to sell this phone,.. I admit i'm not good in terms of the technologies, what is the best for gaming but this week i planning to buy either cherry mobile flare or titan, i'm just getting confused about the two, should i go to the flare or the titan for gaming

    • profile image

      alvir 4 years ago

      just bought my CM titan today and wondering why it doesn't have a cover but now i know, thnks

    • profile image

      ding 4 years ago

      which is better because the new OMEGA showed up its just the same with titan..can u do a review for OMEGA?...

    • profile image

      Jason 4 years ago

      Question does Titan have a full or supports Flash Player 11.0

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Joseph

      I still have my Titan that I reviewed and am still using it. Zero problems so far, thankfully. Cosmetic condition is still excellent too, despite the lack of a protective casing. I still say that as long as one takes proper care of his things there won't be any problems. I'll be using the Titan again as a point of comparison when I get my hands on a CM Cruize.

    • profile image

      Joseph 4 years ago

      Any issues you encountered sir since you've had the Titan from October last year? Is this still the same unit you're using right now?

      Let us know. Thank you!

    • profile image

      lehvrhon 4 years ago

      Thanks for the response. I have decided on buying Titan as my next phone. :D

      Very good review! :D

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ lehvrhon

      I have no plans on purchasing and reviewing the Cherry Mobile Flame or anything else out in the market right now. I do plan on reviewing the Cherry Mobile Cruize though when it's out.

      With regards to the Flame, the Cloudfone Thrill 430x which I also reviewed has the same processor and screen resolution. Frankly, the Blaze, Flame and Skyfire are difficult purchases for anyone because of the very small battery capacity (1500 mAh) relative to their large screens (4.5" and 4.7").

      My suggestion though is to go with the Titan. The good battery capacity and faster performance is difficult to turn down. If you insist on a well-rounded qHD/960x540 res phone with a superb camera, I suggest the MyPhone A888 instead. The Cortex A5-based SOC on the 430x just doesn't cut it sometimes -- and it's the same processor on the Flame.

    • profile image

      lehvrhon 4 years ago

      Great review!

      Please have a review on Cherry Mobile Flame. I am confused on whether buying Flame or Titan. Thanks. :)

    • profile image

      raine 4 years ago

      well done review! Thanks!

    • profile image

      Arrabella 4 years ago

      Yesterday I bought my first Cherry Mobile phone, which is this huge Titan. So far, I'm loving it. My friends are telling me it doesn't look cheap at all.. :) The graphics are good. My Marley headset works good with this phone as well. Applications are working good, haven't experienced any lags yet.. THE BATTERY LIFE, is very good. the moment I had it, it only has about 20%, when I got home, I had it drained and then charged it. after filling it 100%, I turned on the wifi, brightness on its highest, color, vibration and everything, I surfed for about 10hrs, I did text frequently, downloaded a lot, did phone calls, played, tested my doads and now i still have about 40%. it's been 17 hrs. :) I would give high credits for this phone.

    • profile image

      imawarbler 4 years ago

      the article really gave a thorough review of the phone. it will really give you a 'feel' if you are using it already. I will buy it tomorrow or next week :) does instagram work here? :)

    • profile image

      Mark 4 years ago

      Very Well said Keep it up ^,^ i will definitely buy the Titan

    • profile image

      AlehnC 4 years ago

      Same here. My husband wanted to buy me Flare but we end up with Titan because Flare is out of stock. For 2 days, I guess its good except for the quality of photo but still, it's acceptable.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Arnold

      The phone has a proximity sensor to the left of the earpiece. The screen will automatically turn off when you put the phone on your ear to avoid accidental touches with the skin. I haven't encountered what you claim. When I take the Titan off my ear during a call, the screen turns on again and I can end my call.

      Also, 4 GB is the ROM. They're obviously partitioned, as with ANY phone. Usable internal memory is only 2 GB on the Titan.

    • profile image

      arnold 4 years ago

      Ask ko lng po bkit ung titan na nabili ko madalas namamatay and pag dating sa call pag tumagal yung call black screen lang hindi ko ma cancel ung call kilangan ung kausap ko dapat ang magcancel. About sa my phone storage ko 2.07gb lang dapat po dba 4gb??? Thanks po sa sagot ...

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ TM

      The Titan does not support MHL, nor does it have an HDMI port. MHL is usually a feature found only on high-end smartphones like the SGS3. The only Chinese rebrand phone I know of that has MHL is the MyPhone A919, and it isn't even confirmed yet since MHL cables are pricey and hard to come by.

    • Titanium Runner profile image

      Titanium Runner 4 years ago from New York

      @ TM Only mobile phones with HDMI ports have options for it to be connected to presentations. You might want to check out Cherry Mobile units as they might have HDMI support for other phones. Reading the spec sheet for the Titan, I don't really see this option at all.

    • profile image

      TM 4 years ago

      What options do I have for connecting the Titan to a projector for presentations? Would be great no to have to pack a laptop.

    • Titanium Runner profile image

      Titanium Runner 4 years ago from New York

      You are an amazing tech writer! I love the fact that your article is seamless, it flows smoothly describing the mobile phone and also comparing it to existing phones in the market! Now I wanna get a Titan myself for my two other lines!

    • profile image

      TM 4 years ago

      I just read this after purchasing a Titan after a lot of consideration. I was concerned about the possibility of 'getting what I pay for' but I felt that made the right decision after reading your very thorough post. Thanks for the effort and please keep posting more as you get to know the phone deeper. Ill be watching this page as I get to know mine.

    • profile image

      CHILLYYYY 4 years ago

      Titan has given me enough performance for its price. Even my relatives and Friends could not believe its price... and whenever they ask me what brand am I using.. I always tell them "Try to use this first then tell me what brand you think it is" :) My phone (Titan) has been the talk of in our family town last holiday season, even My cousin's Galaxy S3 was ignored hahahah

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ jrom619

      5 points multitouch. Touchscreen is very sensitive and responds to the lightest contact with the skin.

    • profile image

      jrom619 4 years ago

      very good review

      it gives me interest in buying 1.

      How about the touchscreen performance, canu provide more info?like, is it multitouch or 2-point, 5-points?how soft it is?

    • profile image

      neil 4 years ago

      Good review!

    • profile image

      ntc 4 years ago

      very nice, comprehensive review. can you do a comparison of titan vs. o+ (their equivalent model)?

    • profile image

      Huskie 4 years ago

      awesome review !! so helpful .

      it seams that CM TITAN is at fair price and fair specs

      thank you !

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Jezer

      I already mentioned in the review that the Titan runs graphics-intensive games like Virtua Tennis and Dead Trigger without problems. If you're looking for a demonstration, look elsewhere. I find that making a video demonstration is useless because I'm not making a point of comparison. Just take my word for it. Do graphics-intensive games run smooth? Yes, they run smoothly.

      There's no need to "review" or cover application compatibility (or show you that App X and App Y, or Game X and Game Y run) of an Android device because we automatically assume that they run fine, barring any findings found by the reviewer and/or any complications caused by inadequate performance. I've already established that there aren't any performance impediments and I haven't found an app on the Play Store that doesn't run on the Titan.

    • profile image

      Jezer 4 years ago

      Any review for games and apps, there is a humor that rebranded phones such like this are not capable with high-graphic games & apps.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Basil

      The soft keys at the bottom light up color white.

      P.S. This isn't a tech blog. More like a tech article. Thought about making a blog at first, but I figured I'd just make articles instead since I only want to make reviews of certain products I feel have significant impact/have that certain "something".

    • profile image

      Basil 4 years ago

      Wow I never stayed on a blog about techs this long! Kudos! and BTW does the soft touch keys lit up?

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ lightninglord2000

      I already disposed of my Flare. I did try it with the FiiO E6. No amount of amping will allow you to recover detail that isn't present in the first place. The maximum volume output on the Flare is approximately 60% of the Titan's volume bar, and about 50% of the volume bar on the Xperia Ion, iPhone 5 and Cloudfone Thrill 430x (as these are the phones I currently have in hand for comparison). I suppose you should just get rid of the Flare if media playback is your thing. Resale value now is still at 100% of SRP and it's super cheap in the first place. Getting an amp that costs nearly as much as a Flare like the Cmoy BB or the FiiO E11 is a waste IMO. Not to mention it would be the equivalent of excessive additive EQing since the source is very weak. You'll just introduce distortion to the sound.

      I really suggest you sell your Flare and purchase another Android phone instead.

    • profile image

      lightninglord2000 4 years ago

      Great review!

      I myself have access to both Cherry Mobile Flare and Titan (the latter is for my wife). Both devices are running as well their respective update software revision.

      Anyway, I also noticed that the Flare has an inferior sound output (compared with the Titan) when the earphone plug is used as it cannot drive properly in-ear earphones such as the Sennheiser CX-300 or V-Moda Bassfreq. Without even using a portable amplifier such as a FiiO E6, the Titans sound reproduction via earphone plug using a V-Moda Bassfreq earphones is great as the bass is really pounding.

      As you have access as well with the Flare as well as a FiiO E6 amp, will the Flare's earphone output improve significantly when used with a decent earphone as well as an amp such as a FiiO E6? Makes me wonder whether having a portable amp will fix my earphone sound quality woes on my Flare.

    • profile image

      angel 4 years ago

      Thanks admin, No it doestn intrudes my viewing, its barely visible when the screen is ON, unless you will look for it intentionally.

      Just update me, if you change the SP or try to peel it off and see if its indeed there is this grid of dots on the screen itself just like in the picture.

      I could not replicate the picture but here is the example, its also evident on other smartphone, its look like this http://talk.sonymobile.com/servlet/JiveServlet/sho...

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Angel

      That's the LCD's frame pattern visible when the panel is turned off. Any LCD panel should have it and it being visible varies. I don't see it even with a myriad of lights (tried fluorescent, incandescent, halogen, LEDs) focused on the screen (which is a good thing). I refuse to remove the screen protector as there are currently no pre-cut aftermarket screen protectors for the Titan, so I can't confirm if it's indeed visible without it.

      Bottom line is this: Does it intrude your viewing experience when the screen is on? Does it cause anything unwanted to appear? If not, then there's nothing to worry about. If a behavior that isn't expected surfaces, bring the phone to the store you bought it from ASAP. In your case, I really think you should return your phone and ask for a replacement. It should NOT be visible at all even when turned on. The possible exception being under sunlight. For any other lighting condition, you shouldn't see it when turned on.

      P.S. I haven't tried any of the newer batches. The one I personally own and use is one of the first batches (got mine Oct 28, 2012) and all I did recently was have my phone upgraded to the latest firmware to avail of the 5-point multitouch capability. I just hope there aren't any changes to the hardware in the newer batches.

    • profile image

      Angel 4 years ago

      @admin, indeed latest stocks does not have anymore flip cover anymore! :( no, Its not a dead pixel, it looks like this http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_YR3YFO47BOo/TDqkR_5hgSI/... and this is really visible when you peel of the screen protector, and you can see it even the screen if OFF! and If Its On same grid of dots artifacts are visible in a certain angles. Some said, it is the touch panel of the device, considering the screen is 5Inches and the reso is bit low, WVA Panel so the grid of dots are really visible.

      Hope you can confirm this, Try to peel off some of your screen protector and see if there is indeed this dots on top of the screen itself that is really visible. thanks.

    • profile image

      Joseph 4 years ago

      Sir napanood ko ung video ng video recording. Parang di naman sya gaanong ka down.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Angel

      Seems like the new Titan owners at the TCP thread were right. The latest batch as of this writing doesn't have the flip cover anymore. What a shame.

      Are you getting a round pointer at the point where you touch the screen? Go to Settings then Developer Options. You can turn it off there. If you're talking about pixels, download Antutu Tester from the Play Store to check for any dead pixels.

    • profile image

      Angel 4 years ago

      @admin, I already bought the unit, sadly there's no more flipcase included :( I am in testing mode right now, I just wanna ask, dots on the screen are normal? it seems they are touch sensor/points on the LCD. Just wanna have a confirmation. thanks!

    • profile image

      Wowoyski 4 years ago

      This is one hell of a review. Panalo. Very informative, detalyadong detalyado. Salamat kapatid!

    • profile image

      Angel :) 4 years ago

      Yes, Indeed, very poor viewing angle, washout colors, and black is not that deep, also the sound performs poorly, not to mention that it is plague with stuck pixels, i exchange mine 2 times, only to know the exchanged unit has stuck pixels too! to make it worst It has dust under the screen! that's really turn me off, and I immediately sell it! Yes, the price is very affordable, but honestly, this defects really bothers me.

      Hope, Titan does not suffer the same, particularly those dreaded stuck pixels, which I really hate of!

      Wish me luck! after my office, I will buy Titan! :)

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Angel

      Seems like we were on the same boat then. I also bought a Flare a while back, which I also got rid of quickly due to demand. The really low volume output of the 3.5 mm port, falsely advertised screen (it's only a TN panel, not IPS. The top portion of the screen is a bad viewing angle. An IPS is good from ANY angle) and some minor bugs turned me off. I didn't really mind that the screen wasn't an IPS because of the price. But the volume problem was the real deal-breaker. It severely hampers its usability as a media player -- and smartphones are commonly used as media players. Didn't bother reviewing it anymore because I might have too many bad things to say about it, regardless of the low price.

    • profile image

      Angel 4 years ago

      Thank you so much! Yes! I'm decided now! I will get Titan! I already disposed my Flare at same price of P3,999.00. Today I will buy Titan, feedback to you this night. Thank you again for very good review and prompt reply to my query.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 4 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ Angel

      I honestly suggest getting a Titan now when you can (because it's REALLY difficult to find stock anywhere). It's definitely the best in Cherry Mobile's Android line-up. It's bug-free, solidly built, has that executive look and feel, big battery, and a screen and performance to back it up. It's complete, and more, for the price. I'd hate for anyone to wait on just mere speculation, not to mention CM has apparently removed the Omega. In addition, the Titan is only 6,500 Php. Even if the Omega were released, you won't really expect the Titan to have a massive drop in resale value since the SRP was low to begin with. You can just sell the Titan and get an Omega. It's a small loss.

      Here's why I think the Omega has been removed: the current candidate OEM phones of the Omega all use MTK6577 processors. By the time they arrive January, there will be phones with MTK6588/6589 processors already. Not even a price advantage is enough to mitigate loss of sales if the competition has a vastly superior product (quad core MTK6588/89 phones) at a slightly higher price. I've been following the Shenzhen electronics scene closely and the MTK6588/89 phones are already in production. We can expect rebrands of those phones Q1 2013 here in the Philippines. If anything, we can still expect the Omega early 2013, but not as the Zopo ZP900 or similar. It will be one of the newer MTK6588/89-based phones, hence they removed the picture from their official FB page.

    • profile image

      Angel 4 years ago

      You're always have a very good Review! Kudos! what do you suggest? I will buy titan now or wait for Omega? thanks!

    • profile image

      lester 4 years ago

      oh! wow! i like your review! now iam totally decided!! i'll go for CM titan! i think the camera is not that worst? anyway it doesn't matter theres a lot of app at android market for cam's/ just download camera 360/pudding cam or lomo, etc. / am currntly waiting for my order at lazada for ths CM titan:) anyway nag kkaubusan n pla nito so just order it online at lazada.com:)

    • profile image

      aeaglebue 4 years ago

      thank so much FOR A SUPERHELPFUL RVIEW

    • profile image

      Omerson 5 years ago

      Wow thank you so much for this review., Hope everyone making reviews about mobile phone goes like this, Just what consumers really need to know to help them make decisions b4 buying... :-D

    • profile image

      Pao 5 years ago

      Thanks for the review. I'm torn between MyPhoneA919 because some people are saying that its camera so bad. But I've made my decision, I will go to CM Titan! :D

    • profile image

      Jeet 5 years ago

      I love the detailed review you've done here. Perfect. Just perfect.

    • profile image

      nald27 5 years ago

      Thanks. Still exploring my Titan but is worth the buy!

    • profile image

      Celly 5 years ago

      yaayy love the review :) , you really explain the capability of the phone so well that I'm planning to purchase thi by december.. :) give you some update if I already have it :3

      ~celly ♥

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 5 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @ demonkris

      White balance set to "daylight". Everything else set to default. But I believe my ISO was set to 200 when I took that picture featuring Taters Glorietta 4, which explains why it's really dark.

      @ nald27

      Sketch Free. It's free from the Play Store.

    • profile image

      nald27 5 years ago

      what app did you use for the drawing using stylus?

    • profile image

      demonkris 5 years ago

      Nice review! what settings you use during nighttime picture taking? tnx

    • profile image

      temiong 5 years ago

      Good Job on giving it a fair and square review...I will have mine this coming saturday!yehey!

    • profile image

      KP 5 years ago

      Oh, yeah. BEST Titan review on the world wide web. So rad!

    • profile image

      Sasouske 5 years ago

      Great review. I'm starting to fall in love with this gadget.

    • profile image

      Macintosh 5 years ago

      salamat. Superb review!

      Ganito dapat mag-review di gaya nang iba na garbage makapag blog lang.

      Kudos! Keep it up.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 5 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @Macintosh

      There's FM radio which works only if there's a headset plugged in. No AM radio. There's obviously Bluetooth as indicated in the specs.

    • profile image

      Macintosh 5 years ago

      Thanks for the updates.

      BTW, no am/fm radio and bluetooth support?

    • profile image

      Shin 5 years ago

      I just bought 2 CM Titan a while ago and so far I'm loving it.. I already rooted the phone and everything goes well. Very nice review though.

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 5 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @Macintosh

      I've added some stuff to the review under the "Other stuff" section. The GPS chip on this thing is really good. Even just going outside our house and turning on the GPS without any A-GPS options enabled, I can get a lock in just a few seconds. However, I cannot make a quantitative comment on the battery drain with GPS use as I rarely use navigation. Regardless, the general battery life on the Titan is very good and this should carry on with GPS use as well.

    • profile image

      Macintosh 5 years ago

      Feedback on gps performance please... And how it eats up battery when used? Thanks.

    • profile image

      jiggs 5 years ago

      very nice review

    • profile image

      musmaro 5 years ago

      very nice review, full information and very encouraging! definitely i'll buy cherry mobile titan!

    • symphonyx7 profile image
      Author

      Kyle Lopez-Vito 5 years ago from Metro Manila, Philippines

      @Xperia 2011 user

      It's not fair to compare using Jelly Bean drivers. Jelly Bean brings a substantial increase in overall performance to ANY Android device that uses an SOC with the ARMv7 instruction set. If the Snapdragons with the Adreno 205 get a raise with Jelly Bean, so will the MTK6577s with the SGX 531 Ultra.

    • profile image

      Xperia 2011 user 5 years ago

      just a heads up, Jellybean drivers have been released for Adreno GPUs. Nenamark scores are 40+ however since Xperia 2011 phones are single core, the Titan still beats it.

    • profile image

      archie 5 years ago

      a very nice and detailed review...thumbs up..it help a lot b'cuz im planning to buy that phone impressive..hahha

    • profile image

      Khaos 5 years ago

      This has got to be the best review of this phone so far. Very thorough :-) cheers.