ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Garmin Nuvi 1390T Review

Updated on August 26, 2013

This video is of the Garmin Nuvi 785T which has many of the same features as the Nuvi 1390T

Purses and bags around the world get heavier by the day. The more tech gadgets we acquire the more we want to carry with us. GPS Navigators used to be relegated to remaining in the car even when parked. The best you could do was removing the device from its mount and hide it under the seat, console or glove compartment. Any crook would immediately know that there was expensive prize waiting inside.

As time goes by gadgets are getting better and better. They are smaller, more powerful and are capable of doing more things. The Garmin Nuvi GPS Navigators are no different. The latest model has been announced and it is called the Garmin Nuvi 1390T. One of the most noticeable changes in this model is the thinness. It is barely over one-half inch thick. I love that. Any gadget that thin can easily fit into a side pocket of any bag. Shoot – that is thin enough to fit into most any pocket. It weighs less than six ounces so it will not add enough extra weight to notice.

Bluetooth technology is a must have. Now that hands free calling and talking on cell phones is so strictly regulated it would be unwise to not insist on having Bluetooth.

A Widescreen is another feature that I say is a must-have. The more map you can see the better. Small details and on-screen navigation tools are easier to use on the Touchscreen. The Nuvi 1390T’s 4.3 inch Widescreen is also a Touchscreen. It is easy to read in sunlight, anyone that has tried to use a cell phone, a computer or a GPS without such a screen knows how important this feature is.

No assembly required. City Navigator and North America NT maps are preloaded and ready to use immediately. Millions of (POIs) Points of Interest are preloaded as well. Of course you can add your own as well. Maps are either 2-D or 3-D. Voice directions (text-to-speech) tell you the names of streets, highway exits, roads and places. Oh, and about those POIs, you can set alerts to remind you before you get to them.

Lane Assist is a fairly new feature found on some Nuvi GPS models and the 1390T is no different. It actually does one better. “Junction View” displays a realistic view of road detail and road signs.


At this point you may be asking what else does this little jewel offer?

· Multi-Point Routing - Organizes multiple routes into one efficient route

· Pedestrian Navigation – CityXplorer (optional and where available) guides you to public transit such as buses, trains, trams and the like

· Where am I? – Records exactly where you are at a given time. This is a great feature incase you need to get to the closest hospital or police station. It shows your exact location (longitude and latitude). It remembers where you parked your car – as soon as the 1390T is removed from its mount is records the location.

· HotFix Satellite Prediction – Saves time by remembering Satellite coordinates from one session to the other. It would normally take a period of time for the Nuvi to acquire satellite location – not necessary with HotFix

· EcoRoute – Offers you Fuel Efficient routes. Then provides you with Fuel and Mileage Reports so you can analyze your driving habits.

· Garmin Connect Photos – Download geo-located photos to your Nuvi1390T that can be viewed on Google Earth

· Alerts you of speed limits for most major roads

· Other features commonly found on Garmin Nuvi GPS Navigators – picture viewer, calculator, currency converter, measurement converter, MicroSD card slot, Garmin Lock and MSN Direct Compatibility

Personally I like this new Garmin Nuvi 1390T. The small size is great, the features are advanced and the price is very reasonable (approximately $400). I think I have just enough space left in my bag…

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      New Cars 

      8 years ago

      Very true to say that, As time goes by gadgets are getting better and better. They are smaller, more powerful and are capable of doing more things.

    • Amez profile image

      Amez 

      8 years ago from Houston, Texas

      Great job on your research, I've been looking for a good one, I'm 63 and need one I can see easy while I drive. thank again.

    • profile image

      Yahooligan 

      8 years ago

      I'm no expert on portable GPS device as the only GPS device I've ever owned or used is built in on my Audi A6. But I've had the 1390t for about a month now and I’m impressed.

      Garmin lists on its website a scant few mobile phones that are Bluetooth compatible with the 1390t; my LG VU was not on the list but I didn’t care, I bought it anyway. I was, however, surprised to find my LG VU is compatible and works great when paired with this Nuvi.

      As for features, it has most everything I need in a portable GPS device including lane-assist, city Navigator, 3-D maps and a touch-screen that’s large enough and bright enough for my 52-year-old eyes to see even in bright sunlight. It also speaks street names and I enjoy the junction view feature as well.

      The speaker could be better as it does sound a little tinny. It's plenty loud enough though and I can hear it just fine when driving my Jeep Wrangler with the soft top on which, as anyone who has driven one know is a noisy vehicle inside.

      I am 100% satisfied with the purchase of the 1390t and would recommend it others. I paid about $300.

    • profile image

      smartvergin 

      9 years ago

      I have used this 1390t for 2 weeks, great suction cup mount, super thin, bluetooth took 2 min. to set up, all an all aok, except the speaker sucks. This is whathappens when you make something so small and compact, something has to give. and on this product its the speaker. real tinny sound. its loud enough just real tinny. if I lower the volume then I cant here it.

    • Debbie Cook profile imageAUTHOR

      Debbie Cook 

      9 years ago from USA

      I read that it does - We will know for sure once it is released.

    • profile image

      Andy 

      9 years ago

      The 1390T does not have multi-point routing.

    • profile image

      M. HD projector 

      9 years ago

      I was looking for a review ,thank you for adding

    • johnr54 profile image

      Joanie Ruppel 

      9 years ago from Texas

      I'm looking forward to the next round of GPS's. My old one is a 5 year old Garmin and I'm amazed at the changes at the same price point they were at then, and I'm ready to upgrade. Thanks for the info.

    • profile image

      David Cook 

      9 years ago

      Wonderful, a "review" of a product that is not yet available. Thanks for the press release.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)