ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Technology»
  • Consumer Electronics & Personal Gadgets»
  • Portable Electronics

D7100 Nikon camera review: I really recommend this camera. If I can make it look good anyone can.

Updated on May 19, 2014

D7100 is the first Nikon to not have an optical low-pass filter

Well it was time to buy a new camera. My old Olympus had been having issues for a few months and when it finally bit the dust on a camping trip with the kids. I decided to go all out and treat us to a decent camera. I say us, because a good solid DSLR is for capturing family moments. So I saw it as a way of investing in the family. After much searching and a few review sites, I decided to buy theNikon D7100 24.1 MP DX-Format CMOS Digital SLR

I was a well priced DSLR and has great features, but more importantly it was compact and not as bulky as some. Being the main user of the camera, I really didn't want a huge thing to carry around.

The D7100 was obviously the timely replacement for the D7000 but for those of you with a thirst for geekery. The D7100 is the first Nikon to not have an optical low-pass filter (OLPF). This means that the 24 mega pixel sensor isn't filtered and you get the whole full fat power of the CMOS sensor. The downside of this of course is that you need some pretty special optics in front to stop artefacts appearing. All in all this was a brilliant decision. The lens on this camera is epic. I took it out of the box and charged it for 8hrs as recommended. Then decided it was time to play.

D7100 sample pictures - These are some nice pictures

Click thumbnail to view full-size
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8511/8571099138_49f1c6c1d9_h.jpgPhotographer: Anthony ChingPhotographer: Anthony Chinghttp://imaging.nikon.comhttp://imaging.nikon.comSpecial Effects bring more creative expression with simple operationhttp://imaging.nikon.comhttp://imaging.nikon.comhttp://imaging.nikon.comhttp://imaging.nikon.comhttp://imaging.nikon.comHigh image qualityhttp://imaging.nikon.comwide ISO range and superior noise reduction functionhttp://imaging.nikon.comhttp://nikonimagespace.com/
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8511/8571099138_49f1c6c1d9_h.jpg
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8511/8571099138_49f1c6c1d9_h.jpg
Photographer: Anthony Ching
Photographer: Anthony Ching
Photographer: Anthony Ching
Photographer: Anthony Ching
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
Special Effects bring more creative expression with simple operationhttp://imaging.nikon.com
Special Effects bring more creative expression with simple operation http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
http://imaging.nikon.com
High image qualityhttp://imaging.nikon.com
High image quality http://imaging.nikon.com
wide ISO range and superior noise reduction functionhttp://imaging.nikon.com
wide ISO range and superior noise reduction function http://imaging.nikon.com
http://nikonimagespace.com/
http://nikonimagespace.com/

It gives you a realistic crystal clear view of your shots.

We drove out to the lake and sat watching the birds for a while, and it was a great opportunity to test out the AF. The auto focus in the D7100 has been fully revamped with technology lifted from the high end Nikons. What this means is that the auto focus is sharper and quicker to respond. We shot the Herons all morning as they landed and took off from the lake and the Nikon D7100 was a dream to use. So light and nimble despite its big boy credentials. The battery life was respectable. With a benchmark of around 1000 shots per charge the camera easily takes on most situations. One of the things I did notice. Is the screen, a punch up from 3 inches to 3.3 inches.

The increases in size isn't what makes the difference though really. It's the quality of the image, from 920k dots up to 1.2m dots. This gives you a realistic crystal clear view of your shots. A much better alternative to the older D7000 screen. Although I have to say side by side they look identical, only under the poly carbonate body is it apparent. But those subtle differences make the difference. I took some great shots at the lake and I really recommend this camera. If I can make it look good anyone can.

Find the golden light.

In photography, only two hours of daylight are considered to be special: the hour after sunrise and the hour before sunset. These are called the golden hours. As an alternative, you can recreate the golden hours when shooting later in the day by attaching a pale orange filter on the lens of your camera.

Nikon D7100 Review - Nikon D7100 best camera of 2013

Here's a great tip for successful portrait photos....

....... focus on the eyes. How many times have you taken a good picture, then seen that the eyes are out of focus? The eyes are what draws the attention of a portrait picture, so get into a routine of always putting the focus on the eyes.

The most common mistake when taking portraits is laziness. Photographers are often too far away from their subject. The result is a cluttered image where the protagonist is just too small, and the viewers' eyes land on anything but the person being photographed. Move closer to the person to place focus on the face. When you are closer, it is also easier to talk to the person, which can keep them from being stiff. A relaxed person ends up in the spotlight! Do you want a smile that looks natural? Ask the model to say “Ouinnistiti.” It works wonders in your pictures!

Do not forget to read books on photography

Mastering Digital Cameras: An Illustrated Guidebook for Absolute Beginners (Digital Photography 101) (Volume 1)
Mastering Digital Cameras: An Illustrated Guidebook for Absolute Beginners (Digital Photography 101) (Volume 1)

Find a great book for beginners where everything is easily unveiled and understandable by a beginner. Like this one.

 
Digital SLR Settings and Shortcuts For Dummies
Digital SLR Settings and Shortcuts For Dummies

This is easy to understand for beginners. I like his instructions to get started quickly. Plus, it's a really good price

 
The Digital Photography Book
The Digital Photography Book

Loved the book. Kelby is a great photographer and he explains in a very simple way. Scott is a very good photographer who writes each chapter with humor. He really understands what information you need in order to take good photographs.

 
The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter)
The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter)

I cannot imagine trying to get through Adobe Lightroom without this book.

 
Kodak C1530 Digital Camera (Red)
Kodak C1530 Digital Camera (Red)

Picture quality is decent.

 

Please Share Your Experiences And Opinions

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @AnonymousC831: Thankyou!

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @SandyMertens: Thankyou spider:)

    • SandyMertens profile image

      Sandy Mertens 3 years ago from Frozen Tundra

      Nice information about this camera.

    • AnonymousC831 profile image

      AnonymousC831 3 years ago from Kentucky

      Beautiful photos, I own a Nikon D3000.

    • SimonJay profile image

      SimonJay 3 years ago

      I just brought two memory cards of 16GBs for a crazy low price i am not ready for capturing some film.

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @NoProblemmo: thats good!

    • NoProblemmo profile image

      NoProblemmo 3 years ago

      It's on my list!

    • Flora Crew profile image

      Flora Crew 3 years ago from Evanston, Illinois

      I definitely need one! It would spice up my lenses!

    • captainj88 profile image

      Leah J. Hileman 3 years ago from East Berlin, PA, USA

      Taking a great shot is such a rewarding experience. I traveled with a Nikon D5000 to the Outer Banks this summer, on loan from a friend, and was thrilled with the results. Great recommendation. They really know how to make exceptional cameras.

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @takkhisa: you are so right it is outstanding

    • takkhisa profile image

      Takkhis 3 years ago

      Last year summer my elder brother bought a Nikon camera. My experience with that camera is just amazing :)

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @shadowfast7: Yes it is

    • favored profile image

      Fay Favored 3 years ago from USA

      Lovely photographs Sally. I appreciate the tips as well, especially about the golden hours for taking snaps.

    • shadowfast7 profile image

      Sure Temp 3 years ago

      looks like a good camera to have !

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @SteveHarvey: You can find all kinds of tutorials on youtube

    • profile image

      SteveHarvey 3 years ago

      I am looking for a tutorial that extracts the essence of photography done alone...I am newbie.

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @ronokchoudry: This lens is fun to shoot with and not so expensive

      Opteka .35x HD Super Wide Angle Panoramic Macro Fisheye Lens for Nikon DF, D4, D3X, D3, D800, D700, D6100, D300S, D90, D7100, D7000, D5300, D5200, D5100, D5000, D3200 and D3100 Digital SLR Cameras

      ">Super Wide Angle Panoramic Macro Fisheye

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @markclaysone: Yes it is sad that it is so expensive

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @ronokchoudry: thankyou!

    • profile image

      ronokchoudry 3 years ago

      I have a D7100 Nikon and its a great work OddSally

    • profile image

      ronokchoudry 3 years ago

      I am planning on buying the Nikon d7100. The only trouble now is picking out the right lens. Can you help me picking out right lens. Which one best??

    • profile image

      markclaysone 3 years ago

      Right now I have the Sony Cyberr Shot which does pretty good. Wanna buy this one. but too expensive.

    • profile image

      jayBoltz 3 years ago

      I think your lens is great.

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @MaryBauer: Glad you liked it:)

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @SteveBrite: If you want a cheaper and yet good camera, this is an option Nikon D3100 Digital SLR Camera & 18-55mm G VR DX AF-S Zoom Lens (Red)

      ">Nikon D3100 Digital SLR Camera & 18-55m

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @AlyshaErhan: If you never had a camera, it might be better to start with a point and shut camera like this

      Kodak C1530 Digital Camera (Red)

      ">Kodak C153

    • profile image

      MethelaKarkus 3 years ago

      Fantastic, The D7100, would be an excellent camera since it uses the newest technology and has one of the highest performing APS-C sensors available at this time.

    • profile image

      SteveBrite 3 years ago

      Too Much expensive, D7100 is a high performance professional camera, mainly used by professional photographers since it has extraordinary features which are not known to a new user. Anyway, Good deal

    • profile image

      AlyshaErhan 3 years ago

      I don't know much about cameras, Is a Nikon DSLR D7100 camera a good one for a beginner, Please suggest me.

    • profile image

      MaryBauer 3 years ago

      I'm interested in purchasing a newer, more advanced Nikon DSLR body. I've been looking at the D7100, and since it's so new there's not many reviews, Thanks for your nice review.

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @mel-kav: Thankyou for visiting!

    • mel-kav profile image

      mel-kav 3 years ago

      Great photos. I recently bought a Nikon D5100 and I love it. I really wanted to get the D7200 - but way too expensive. It took quite a while for me to decide between the D7100 and the D5100. But I couldn't pass up the deal on the D5100 (because the D7100 was still a little to steep in price). But - I'm happy.

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @RinchenChodron: Yes it is expensive, it is a pity

    • profile image

      RinchenChodron 3 years ago

      Can't afford it now, but maybe someday.

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @Nico1: Yes it is! Nico

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @olliedee: Thankyou! Olliedee

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @flinnie lm: Hi Flinnie thankyou!

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @Doc_Holliday: I will remember that:)

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @Aladdins Cave: Nikon is best no protest

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @Doc_Holliday: I will remeber that:)

    • profile image

      Doc_Holliday 3 years ago

      I have my eye on this for an upgrade.

    • Aladdins Cave profile image

      Aladdins Cave 3 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

      I've been a Nikon nut all my life. Started with a Nikomat 35mm. Belongs in museum with the other Nikon camera's I've got. If I win Tatt's, I'll buy one of these and hopefully mu old lens's will fit on it. That's important.

      Cheers from DOWNUNDER

    • flinnie lm profile image

      Gloria Freeman 3 years ago from Alabama USA

      Hi there is so much good info about this great camera.

    • olliedee profile image

      olliedee 3 years ago

      Might be interested in a Nikon camera in the future and enjoyed your lens

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @webmavern: Glad to hear that he likes his camera

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @WriterJanis2: Yes Nikon is best:)

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @Carashops: Good for you!

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @smine27: Yes it is!!!

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @Nico1: Yes, I love my camera, I think it's great

    • Nico1 profile image

      Nico1 3 years ago

      The Nikon D7100 is certainly a very popular camera as we are seeing everywhere and as I also reviewed https://hubpages.com/technology/nikon-d7100-digita...

    • smine27 profile image

      Shinichi Mine 3 years ago from Tokyo, Japan

      this looks like a really good camera.

    • marktplaatsshop profile image

      marktplaatsshop 3 years ago

      My cannon works for me I do not make a lot of pictures so it is good enough for me

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      Thankyou for visiting my lens

    • Carashops profile image

      Cara 3 years ago

      Nikon for me. I have a D90 and its a great work horse.

    • WriterJanis2 profile image

      WriterJanis2 3 years ago

      I have a Nikon. Not this one, but a different one, and I'm very happy with it.

    • SusanneB profile image
      Author

      SusanneB 3 years ago

      @Mellithorpe: Yes I love my camera but the powershot is a good one too:)

    • Mellithorpe profile image

      Mellithorpe 3 years ago

      Very informative lens. I would love to have one of the more expensive Nikon cameras (maybe one day). Right now I have the Canon PowerShot which does pretty good.

    • profile image

      webmavern 3 years ago

      My husband has a Nikon camera, not sure which model, and he is very happy with the photos he takes.