ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Technology»
  • Internet & the Web

SiteBuilder.com Review

Updated on January 15, 2016

Screen shot of Sitebuilder.com

Source

SiteBuilder.com

Sitebuilder is a website where you can purchase a domain name and make a website using templates or by using your own coding and to be honest it is simple, user friendly and you can have a good quality website up and running within 30 minutes of signing up with them.

Ayrshire Cleaners a new startup company decided to create a website for the company to attract new customers and after a lot of research and checking reviews online eventually decided to go with siteBuilder.com

This is a review of Ayrshire Cleaners experience with sitebuilder.com

Ayrshire Cleaners Website

Ayrshire Cleaners Website
Ayrshire Cleaners Website | Source

SiteBuilder.com Review

The date here is very important so on 19th of October 2015, Ayrshire Cleaners decided to go with SiteBuilder.com to add their presence onto the Internet. Ayrshirecleaners.co.uk was born.

The way that sitebuilder works is that you create your website first before you actually sign up with them, Ayrshire Cleaners built a basic site to edit after signing up and carried on to the billing there were a number of choices and price options and after consideration A.C decided to start of with a pay monthly option which was on offer at £7.50 per month.it was the cheapest and basic option that offered a basic website, domain name and a POP Email address for the business, AC decided that if required they could upgrade the package at a later date.

The website as advertised was simple to create chose a template add your own pictures and wording and you are up and running as a website in no time.



SiteBuilder.com Buyer Warning

Be warned when you decide to go ahead and register with SiteBuilder.com that once you have clicked on the check box for the package that you want to sign up for to check all of the options available on the pages after.

Ayrshire Cleaners (ok Me) did not really look at those pages that I now realise were upgrades and options to purchase other services including would you believe an Ebook on how to maximise your website.

The problem is that those pages also had checkboxes on them which had to be unchecked if you did not want the extras and (ok me) just brushed past them without really looking.

Bank details were passed and everything seemed fine until it was realised that £86.00 was taken from AC's Bank account and a further £11.00 was taken for that Ebook that wasn't wanted. Almost £100.00 for a website that was supposed to cost £7.50 every month.


Bank Statement

SiteBuilder took out more than they were supposed to.
SiteBuilder took out more than they were supposed to. | Source

SiteBuilder.com Customer Service

If you have any problems with sitebuilder you can have a live chat with an advisor on their website and realising the mistake AC got onto them straight away after 20-30 minutes of chatting to an advisor were assured that a refund would be in their bank account within 7-10 days.and all was apparently fine.

The problem is that AC never received the money back and after 14 days decided to call them using the website number provided, to be told that the payment had been refunded and that AC should check with their financial institution (Bank) because the problem is with them. They also said that I should check my online invoice from them where it showed the refund.

That has become their Mantra, look at your invoice it shows your refund and the reply from AC is it may say that on the invoice but not in my bank account.

I have been corresponding by email ever since and it was always the same check your invoice!

Over the past 3 or 4 weeks their mantra has changed they now tell me that because I contacted them straight away they cancelled the bank transfer and the money never came out the account, my bank account says different as you can see in the image above.

Please look at the bank statement (Above) and then look at the email that I was sent today (picture below), I said that the dates were important.


Email From Sitebuilder 15/01/2016

Click thumbnail to view full-size
please note the date mentioned here and the date on my bank account. Click picture to enlarge
please note the date mentioned here and the date on my bank account. Click picture to enlarge
please note the date mentioned here and the date on my bank account. Click picture to enlarge | Source

Website Suspended

in December Ayrshire Cleaners website was suspended by SiteBuilder and taken off the Internet, after even more emails to them the site was eventually restored and republished.

Then in January I received daily emails informing me that my website would be suspended if I did not pay them, they actually took more money out of the bank account without my permission as the original monthly payments.



What would You Do?

What would you do in this situation?

See results

SiteBuilder.com reviewed

I am still in contact with sitebuilder hoping to resolve the issue, I have emailed them asking not to refund the money but to take my original payment and use it until it matches my monthly payments and then the can bill me from then.

I am awaiting their reply.

Watch this space to see if the issue is resolved satisfactorily but I won't hold my breath

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • aviannovice profile image

      Deb Hirt 2 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Sounds like a scam for sure. Contact your local police regarding fraud.

    • sallybea profile image

      Sally Gulbrandsen 2 years ago from Norfolk

      Lets hope you get the situation resolved. After reading this review, I won't be going anywhere near SiteBuilder.

    • B. Leekley profile image

      Brian Leekley 2 years ago from Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

      Consider closing your bank account and shifting your savings to another bank or credit union down the street and letting SiteBuilder know you have deleted the website you built with their tools because of their dishonesty. "Selling" (or "giving" trial versions) of unwanted software by the underhanded trick of having a box checked by default should be illegal and I think is in most places. Of course get legal advice first to be sure you have the law on your side or contact Citizens Advice Scotland Consumer Advice and maybe also Consumer Action Group.

      There are lots of free and cheap website building services that are more reputable, more honest, and have way better customer service. Members of the small church I attend are arguing whether to build a new website using WordPress or ocPortal. Each is a free content management system. For a discussion of CMS programs, see "WordPress, Joomla and Drupal are NOT the Best CMS" By Mike Johnston. I use the free version of Weebly for my personal website and have been happy with it--but I don't do much with it. The basic version of Weebly is only $8 per month.

    • Stacie L profile image

      Stacie L 2 years ago

      I had tried to use this company website builder about 5 years ago and felt it was misleading and confusing. I eventually gave up and deleted my account. It looks like they have changed their game since than. You should go to a BBB in your country or the location that this company is located and complain. Also write reviews on any other review site you can. (RipeOff reports)

    • Lady Lorelei profile image

      Lorelei Cohen 2 years ago from Canada

      Sorry that you had such issues with this company but thank you for sharing. It may help others from falling into the same issues you experienced.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)