ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Roccat Savu Gaming Mouse Review

Updated on February 20, 2013

A Closer Look At The Roccat Savu Gaming Mouse

Roccat is fairly new to the gaming mouse market, but they've still managed to make a strong impression. Thanks to their high quality gaming mice and the fact that they're constantly releasing new mice. You've probably already heard of the Kone and Kova, in this review we'll focus on a slightly smaller mouse in the roccat gaming mouse line-up, namely the Roccat Savu.

Design, Comfortability & Grip

The first thing you'll notice is that the mouse is quite small and it reminds one of the SteelSeries Kinzu. Unfortunately this mouse isn't neutral, in other words you'll only be able to use it comfortably if your're right-handed. The mouse will work very good whether you use claw or palm grip, especially if your hands are slightly smaller than average like mine. However, if you give the mouse a fair chance to get used to, it'll do just as well for bigger hands.

The second thing you'll notice is that the Roccat Savu features something called "anti-glide" on the sides. Usually this means the sides are rubber coated, but Roccat has taken another route to this solution, they've chosen to rough up the plastic surface that covers the mouse is made of. It kinda feels like a mild yet hard sandpaper (man that was a tough feeling to describe) It may feel a bit strange at first, but once you get used to it it's actually not that bad.

Buttons & Glide

The number of buttons is relatively low, a total of two main buttons, two side buttons and one scroll button. This was a little disappointing to me personally, but then again, not everyone needs a lot of buttons. The scroll is thick and covered in rubber, which makes it highly comfortable to use.

Underneath the mouse we'll find two wide glides, one in the front and one in the back, which both cover the mouse from left to right. I personally like this new trend of huge glides, they've just always seemed to perform better for me. The 'Omron' buttons are quite comfortable even if they're slightly harder than your average mouse and kind of remind one of the SteelSeries Sensei buttons.

Roccat usually likes to pimp their mice with many lamps, but this time you'll only find one lamp which is placed on the very back of the mouse.

Roccat Savu Video Review

Software & Features

Ok now on to the technical stuff, this is where I feel the Roccat Savu truly becomes interesting and far exceeded my expectations. They have decided to go for an optical sensor and therefore opened up the eyes for many enthusiastic gamers. We can find this sensor in various gaming mice such as the CM Spawn, Zowie AM & the Zowie EC Evo. If you've tried any of the mentioned gaming mice you should know that it's an excellent sensor that overall performs very well.

One thing Roccat Savu has done a little bit differently from their competitors is that they've developed drivers that manage to crank the DPI up to 4000. Even though it's not very usual to play at those high DPI levels some of you might appreciate the option.

As i mentioned earlier the optical sensor is excellent, you can configure Hz (125, 250, 500 and 1000Hz), four levels of DPI settings (400, 800, 1600 and 400 DPI). This mouse also comes with the very handy Roccat feature called Easy-Shift[+] which enables you to shift between mouse button profiles in one easy click, enabling you to use more button combinations than physically available. This feature is very easy to enable and manage, but I'm personally not a fan of it, even though a neat feature for those who like to keep their main functions on the mouse while gaming.

One thing that I find disappointing is the fact that there's no button to easy change DPI on the mouse, you'll have to do this using the software. No big deal I guess, but it's an option I feel is mandatory on today's gaming mice.

Things I Like and Things I Don't Like

So far I really like the mouse, one thing that surprised me is the few numbers of lamps on the mouse. This is usually something that attracts younger players, and it makes you wonder, perhaps Roccat is taking a new approach and targeting more mature gamers. Whatever the reason, I'm more for the clean design type of gaming mice, so for me it's a big plus.

The Roccat Savu features something called "Roccat Achievement Display", basically what it does is that it keeps track of all your clicks, how many inches you've moved the mouse and how many times you've scrolled. If you keep doing these things fast you'll get rewarded with an achievement, this kind of made me laugh out loud, why on earth would Roccat pour money and time in developing a feature like this? Oh well, some of you might find this feature amusing, but I personally think it's a waste of developing power.

Voting Poll

What do you think of the Roccat Savu?

See results

Conclusion

This mouse is quite expensive, but personally I believe you get what you pay for. It beats many of the other gaming mice in the same category, it’s very comfortable to use and the buttons feel nice as well. One thing to consider though, if you have big hands there are definitely better gaming mice to be found in the same price category.

Pros & Cons

Pros

+ Excellent quality build

+ Very good anti-glide

+ Good performance

+ Good software

+ Comfortable to hold and comfortable buttons

+ Excellent optical Sensor

+ Scaled down on lamps

Cons

-Won’t fit people with huge hands very well

-Roccat Achievement Display totally unnecessary

-Deceiving looks (looks a bit cheap at first glance)

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Nightcat profile image

      Nightcat 

      5 years ago

      This sounds awesome! I have a wireless that came with my bundle and love it, but something about the play is off. Well it is three years old. Could really use a mouse like this and a new keyboard, among other things. I miss my old one; she had five buttons and you could custom program her, sigh. Blessed! :)

    • Jogalog profile image

      Jogalog 

      5 years ago

      It sounds like a great gaming mouse.

    • profile image

      RetireAt57 

      5 years ago

      I like the review.

    • Mrcoolguy LM profile imageAUTHOR

      Mrcoolguy LM 

      5 years ago

      @SecondHandJoe LM: Thanks man! I mostly do gaming equipment reviews, but perhaps I'll do some wireless ones as well :)

    • SecondHandJoe LM profile image

      SecondHandJoe LM 

      5 years ago

      I have a 55 inch monitor I use for my browsing and sit over 8 feet away, so I MUST have a wireless keyboard and mouse. I use an older Logitec usb type and am ready for one of the new ones. I'd love to see you review a wireless type. Love your reviews--keep em up!

    • WriterJanis2 profile image

      WriterJanis2 

      5 years ago

      Nice review. You kept it real.

    • profile image

      Mission1 

      5 years ago

      Have a logitech mx revolution myself which was labelled 'the worlds most advanced mouse' or something similar.

      Get on with it fairly well but it has a habit of double clicking if your finger isn't right over the top of the buttons.

    • TheLittleCardShop profile image

      Malu Couttolenc 

      5 years ago

      I don't have big hands so I guess this would be the gaming mouse for me and everyone who has little hands like children. The design is also cool :)

    • WriterJanis2 profile image

      WriterJanis2 

      5 years ago

      My kids would love one of these.

    • mrknowitall54321 profile image

      mrknowitall54321 

      5 years ago

      I need a roccat savu!

    • Mrcoolguy LM profile imageAUTHOR

      Mrcoolguy LM 

      5 years ago

      @TACTCI LM: Thank you, seems like we get some common interests!

    • TACTCI LM profile image

      TACTCI LM 

      5 years ago

      Lots of people don't know just how great and smooth a high quality gaming mouse can be, great resource and display!

    • Jo-Jackson profile image

      Jo-Jackson 

      5 years ago

      It sounds like a good mouse, especially as I have slender hands.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)