ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

FAA Grandstanding Or A Safety Issue MD80 Airplanes Grounded For Inspection

Updated on December 14, 2010
American Airlines, MD-80
American Airlines, MD-80

500 flights cancelled due to the grounding of 300 planes.

After American Airlines cancelled 500 more flights Tuesday, April 8, for the second time in two weeks, the public is wondering what is going on in the aircraft industry.

The reason for the cancellation of the flights is due to the grounding of 300 MD-80 airplanes, requiring additional inspection by the Federal Aviation Administration. These planes are being pulled for emergency inspections involving the spacing and direction of cords used to secure bundles of wires in the auxiliary hydraulic systems.

In a random check done on several of their planes by an FAA inspector on Monday, it was found that some of the work performed on the planes last month didn't meet with the agency's standards.

American Airlines said they were not "safety-of-flight issues" but are related to detailed, technical compliance issues; nevertheless the planes have been grounded until further service can be done.

New inspections required at an expense of $10 million.

American is now conducting new inspections on all the grounded planes with a three person team that includes a maintenance technician, a quality assurance inspector and an engineer. The airlines feel the cost of this move could be close to $10 million in lost revenue and expenses when it is all completed.

The FAA and the aircraft industry are too closely related.

The airlines themselves feel that the grounding of the planes is being done to make a political statement, which is being made in the wake of a congressional investigation that challenged the relationship of the FAA and the airline industry. Many critics of the FAA have made suggestions that these two industries are too closely related and this has resulted in lax enforcement of safety standards.

At a hearing before the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee last week, several FAA inspectors testified that some of the supervisors in the agency's Dallas office had a "cozy relationship" with Southwest Airlines. Southwest was required last month to ground 38 of its Boeing 737s to inspect for potentially dangerous fuselage cracks that had been missed in the March 2007 inspections. The FAA fined Southwest a record $10.2 million dollar fine for this negligence, which Southwest has challenged.

Imagine that, an industry that applies the terms, "you scratch my back, and I'll scratch yours" in their work ethics, is it possible? There are several problems with this type of mentality especially when it gets in the way of actual safety issues.

Pilots stress, safety first!

Even though American stressed the fact that the planes were grounded for simple technical issues, officials from the Allied Pilots Association, the union that represents American's pilots considered the lapse "worrisome." They feel that is must be a safety issue to have grounded aircraft twice in two weeks.

The safety directive that was issued for the condition of the wiring stated that a short circuit or spark in the wires could cause the plane to lose some auxiliary power or start a fire in the wheel well. It could also "result in a fuel tank explosion and consequent loss of the airplane." This sounds like pretty serious stuff to me.

More airlines have been grounded, showing a great financial loss in the future for the companies themselves.

The grounding of flights has not been limited to Southwest and American, in recent weeks Delta Air Lines, United Air Lines, American Eagle and U.S. Airways have also felt the crunch as they have been required to be grounded for inspections. Because this focus comes however at a time when we have had a lengthy period of safe air travel, some argue that the FAA's crackdown is simply due to "grandstanding." There has not been a fatal accident amongst the major carriers since November 2001 when an American jet crashed in New York.

Whatever the reason for the additional attention, it simply couldn't have come at a worse time for the airline industry. With rising fuel prices and an unstable economy, many of the companies are reporting additional losses and perhaps foreseeing a future of bankruptcy.

What does the future hold for the comsumer?

"I don't expect to see better airline performance in the near future. There's no incentive," Headley said. "The airlines are losing money. Fuel prices are high. They're cutting back on services. They're cutting back on people. Everything it takes to run an airline is more expensive, and the airlines want less of that expense."

Who ranked high in the Airline Quality Report for 2008.

The top ranking spot in the 18th annual national Airline Quality Report was given to Air Tran, who gained this ranking because of their superior baggage handling. Overall the rankings for entire industry as a whole has shown a decline in the 2007 yearly ratings, ranking the worst AQR ever, comparing only to the ratings of the year 2000.

The AQR scores for the largest airlines for 2007 resulted in the following ranking:

1. Air Tran

2. Jet Blue

3. Southwest

4. Northwest

5. Frontier

6. Continental

7. Alaska

8. United

9. American

10. Delta

11. US Airways

12. Mesa

13. SkyWest

14. Comair

15. American Eagle

16. Atlantic Southeast

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • william.fischer29 profile image

      william.fischer29 

      7 years ago

      Wonderful hub. Glad to see this information here. Thanks.

    • In The Doghouse profile imageAUTHOR

      In The Doghouse 

      10 years ago from California

      Tater,

      I couldn't agree with you more, safety is the issue when it comes to the air travel. Right now the industry is suffering from the cost of fuel also. The airlines are in the news everyday with financial issues... Thanks for your comments.

    • Tater2tot profile image

      Tater2tot 

      10 years ago from ~~~

      I am sure a lot of people are upset that they cancelled these flights, but I am happy. I would rather be safe than sorry and I would rather all those people be safe than enjoy there vacation! Haha. It is better than all those people dying. Good hub, I wasn't even aware of them cancelling flights.

      Tayler!

    • In The Doghouse profile imageAUTHOR

      In The Doghouse 

      10 years ago from California

      Bocadike,

      I simply couldn't agree more with that statement! Thanks for your comment!

    • profile image

      Bocadike 

      10 years ago

      Let's hope the friendly skys can be the safe skys!

    • In The Doghouse profile imageAUTHOR

      In The Doghouse 

      10 years ago from California

      robie,

      I know what you mean, flying is not that pleasant unless you get to go first class! lol Since I am not in that expense bracket, I can only dream! lol Thanks again for commenting.

    • robie2 profile image

      Roberta Kyle 

      10 years ago from Central New Jersey

      True, Doghouse, flying is the best way to go, especially when long distances are involved--it just isn't very pleasant these days. I'm not one of those people who won't get on an airplane, but I'm always happy to get off one:-) Thanks again for a great hub

    • In The Doghouse profile imageAUTHOR

      In The Doghouse 

      10 years ago from California

      robie,

      I am glad that you found this Hub informational. I really think that flying is a relatively safe and convenient way to travel, dispite all the bad press it is getting lately. It still seems to get you to your destination faster in the long run. I am amazed however at the lack of integrity, on all levels, that are generally felt in the airline industry, but I guess I should not limit that to this field alone. In the case of pulling the MD-80's it is simply a part of the "trickle down" syndrome... the last in line gets the most heat. In my opinion, the MD-80 is one of the best planes you can fly, even though it is older it is proven safe and reliable. Thanks for your comments.

    • robie2 profile image

      Roberta Kyle 

      10 years ago from Central New Jersey

      Really meaty hub, doghouse. Thanks for all this. Nice to have it all laid out so well in one place. I'm not crazy about flying at the best of times and sure feel sorry for anyone who has to spend a lot of time on airplanes( or more likely in airports) these days. So much for the friendly skies:-)

    • In The Doghouse profile imageAUTHOR

      In The Doghouse 

      10 years ago from California

      I glad you think so! lol

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)