ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Loudoun Castle theme park review

Updated on October 3, 2008

Loudoun Castle

Loudoun Castle is the Best family theme Park in Scotland, awarded 4 stars, as a visitor attraction, by the Scottish Tourist Board.

With the magnificent parkland and imposing ruins of Loudoun Castle as a stunning backdrop, the Theme Park is unique with a safe and clean environment where there are rides and attractions, to suite all ages.

Loudoun Castle

From Rollercoasters to Jammy Dodgems, Pirate Swing Boats to Log Flumes, some unusual and friendly animals up on ‘McDougals' Rare Breeds Farm, exciting ‘Birds of Prey' demonstrations and New for 2006 are our new 'Tubs' Water rafts,opening in May and Big Top daily Theatre performances, featuring; acrobats and jugglers! Add to that ; ‘The Plough' the biggest chairoplane on the planet, a classic ‘Old Timers' car ride, ‘Twist and Shout' rollercoaster that will have you screaming in your seat; the amazing ‘Dougal McDougal's' Tractor Rides and Pony Trek, a ‘Pirates Cove' that's full to the brim with swashbuckling fun and entertainment including; the wacky ‘Crows Nest' and the awe inspiring ‘Black Pearl' and lots, lots more - and this gives you some idea of what's going on in 2007!

Easy to get to. Easy to Park. Easy to get around - Loudoun is a must if you want a special day out, the whole family will remember.

READER REVIEWS

Please feel free to add your own opinions of Loudon castle theme park using the comments box below

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      dairyland farmworld 

      8 years ago

      hi loudoun castle ride black pearl

      dariyland farmworld

    • profile image

      lesley 

      8 years ago

      loudon castle is brileant.i was 13 YEARS OLD AND I GUST WENT INTO GRYFFE HIGH SCHOOL.THEY SAID THE ACTIVITY SHEET WAS COMING OUT SO U CAN PICK WHAT U ARE DOING SO I PICK THRILLS,SPILLS AND FLUMMES u do swimming scating and loudon castle theme park i was realy exited to go.now i am 14 years old and i am going to thrill,spills and flums i cant wait :) i love loudon ccastle theme park :)

    • profile image

      Naomi 

      8 years ago

      omg i love it i mite be goin on wednesday the 7th of aprl but only if it is dry please go please god be dry

    • profile image

      machugh family 

      9 years ago

      i am thinkin of goin next week on the 20th oct , but i cant even access the website..is it closed for the winter..

    • profile image

      D Smith 

      9 years ago

      Considering visiting Loudon Castle later in the month, I have two children, 17 and 15 yrs old, does this park have enough to entertain this age group?

    • profile image

      wee rach 

      9 years ago

      i love loudon castle it's no.1 all the rides are amazing ive been on every one if you've not been to loudon castle yet ''GET YOUR BUT OF THE SOFA AND GO!!'' it's cheap to :]

    • profile image

      kendal boland 

      9 years ago

      i was at the louden castle park today i went on everything it was so scary i even went on the black peral thats the scarest lol everything was amazing i thought all were good i especally liked the water log i went at the back and i was socking lol

    • profile image

      Sophie 

      9 years ago

      Thiss park is amazing. Our school took us there and we all really enjoyed it! The Rat was so scary at first but i went on it 2 times and it was great. Even the rides for smaller people are good. The gift shop prices are amazing too!

    • profile image

      Shh!.X 

      9 years ago

      I went to louden with my skl today and had a grt time! Thre was loads of rides and plenty for all the family and am goin with ma mum and lito sis in the suma!!! Whooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! x

    • profile image

      JM 

      9 years ago

      It's brilliant

    • profile image

      Andrew 

      10 years ago

      colin elliot - I've been to Loudoun Castle many times. I just don't recognise the park you're describing. If you paid £42 entry, this was some likely the "Family of 3" ticket - so three people entered for basically £14 each for up to six/seven hours of rides. The only 'pay extra' ride is the go-karts - and you'll be hard pressed to find free go karts anywhere. The tower ride, swing boat, three rollercoasters, loop the loop boat, dodgems, carousel, log flume, milk churn and all the other rides and performances are covered with your admission.

      If you choose to play arcade games, that's your choice. I stay away from them. Did you expect to eat for free in the restaurants too? Expect to pick the goods off the gift shop shelves for free too?

      As for it being "too far spread out" - I think you fail to recognise the difference between a funfair and theme park. It's a park - the clue is in the name "Loudoun Castle Theme PARK".

      Some people!

    • profile image

      colin elliot 

      10 years ago

      i visited the park today to pay £42 to get through the gates to find that i think the park is to overated for starters it is too far spread out . i had my eleven your old son with us and anything he wanted to go on still cost money as all the free rides are for the younger.Its bad enough getting ripped of at the gate but to still get ripped of inside the park is a discrac

      next i visited the amusements where i put a couple of £1 coins in a grabber machine at £1 a go and the machine was faulty which i reported to cashier who came out to it and opened it up and fiddled a little with it then says to me its fine which it wasnt and he just walked away not caring that there was money going into it and knowing that no one could win a prize as the gripper wasnt closing. immediately after that i had had enough and headed for the exit to pay that kind of money just to enter the park and be treated the way i was.

      but i can honestly say me or any member of my family will never step foot back in that park again.

      the best thing they could do with the park is flatten it then give it to a farmer to grow tatties init..

    • profile image

      angela 

      10 years ago

      i live in Ayr and dont drive....whats the easiest way to get to Loundon Castle for me?

    • profile image

      Lh. 

      10 years ago

      Not The Best Place For Teenagers As Its Mainly Advertised For Children. Good Park But M&D's Is More Thrilling For Older People.

    • profile image

      chrissy 

      10 years ago

      the best theme park in scotland its better than mnds

    • profile image

      Jane Wheeler (17) 

      10 years ago

      Went to loudoun castle with my pals for the first time last year and had a fantastic time!

      The best ride was definitely the Barn Stormer which flings you up in the air really fast and makes you feel all funny. In a good way lol! The Twist And Shout Roller coaster is also fantastic but my fave was definitely Barn Stormer.

      They also have loads of smaller rides and thrilling rides which are great fun. I liked the little slow boat ride through the palm trees! very relaxing and the other rides in Pirates Cove are great too, like the Black Pearl which goes right upside down.

      I definitely would not agree with Shannon munro. we went to m&ds the summer before and it looked really run down. loads of rides we wanted to go on werent working and the Tornado rollercoaster feels totally unsafe.

      Loudoun castle is definitely the best theme park in scotand by a long way and we might go back this year too! alton towers is on the cards already though lol! one things for sure, you wont get me back at m&ds.

    • profile image

      Shannon munro 

      11 years ago

      i hate it ! it is for babys :@ the worst theme park i have been to MndDs is better !

    • Paraglider profile image

      Dave McClure 

      11 years ago from Kyle, Scotland

      I'd never heard of this one, but it's the same spelling of Loudoun as the oldest house in Ayr, Loudoun Hall. Probably a family connection.

    • profile image

      michelle wilkinson 

      11 years ago

      i read in the advert for louden castle in todays news of the world and it said that you can catch a bus from buchanan bus station. this is either true or the advert is they put in is way out of date.

    • profile image

      margaret luke 

      11 years ago

      i am part of a playgroup for children up to 8 years old. Ever summer we all visit louden castle by the free coach from buchanan st glasgow. On making enquires this year we were very sadden to hear the coach is no longer available. Is there any reason for this?

    • jimmythejock profile imageAUTHOR

      James Paterson 

      11 years ago from Scotland

      thankyou Margaret

    • profile image

      MARGARET ROSE WALLACE 

      11 years ago

      I VISITED LOUDEN CASTLE TODAY WITH MY 4 YEAR OLD GRANDAUGHTER. ON ENTERING THE PARK WE WERE TOLD THAT AS SHE IS 1m WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY £11.99 ENTRANCE FEE FOR HER. WHEN WE GOT INSIDE ALL THE RIDES WERE MEASURED AI 1.1m. THUS SHE WAS UNABLE TO USE THE ATTRACTIONS. THIS SPOILT THE DAY FOR HER AND MANY OTHER PARENTS HAD THE SAME COMPLAINT. IF YOU HAVE TO BE 1.1m TO RIDE THEN THAT SHOULD BE THE STARTING HEIGHT TO PAY.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)