Quantum Physics really Alchemy?

Jump to Last Post 1-1 of 1 discussions (7 posts)
  1. profile image0
    Baileybearposted 13 years ago

When I studied chemistry years ago, I found topics about quantum physics really abstract & the maths made no sense to me (never been much good at calculus etc).  I get the general concepts presented eg particle-wave duality of light.  I don't see how electron spins etc have any practical application (apparently the theory was useful for reading spectra etc, but it didn't seem to make a lot of sense)

I've been reading about the alchemists, & it is claimed that quantum physics is really modern alchemy

1. superwags profile image67
      superwagsposted 13 years agoin reply to this

A lot of physics and chemistry stems from alchemy, as I'm sure you know. In what sense do you mean quantum physics is alchemy? You mean that knowing about every individual particle allows us to reorder and create gold? Gold can be created in labs by "borrowing" protons from elements lower down the table. Though I can't imagine this is anywhere near economically viable yet.

On your point about eectron spins; we don't see an application for it YET. We didn't have a use for the laser when it was developed and now they're ubiquitous. Sorry to harp on, but I'm a big advocate of blue sky science. We do use quantum for some practical applications already, and will use it for much more. Quantum computing will utterly revolutionise everything as and when it takes over.

1. profile image0
        Baileybearposted 13 years agoin reply to this

I've been reading about alchemy because 1.  curious about the roots of chemistry & 2.  curious about influences on religions etc.

The alchemists were more about the mystical/spiritual aspects than the practical sides (although they did invent stills etc because they carried out procedures of purification etc).   same themes as religion - purification, renewal, reborn, blah blah blah